We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Budapest”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Budapest City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Budapest City
Ranked #52 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay in Budapest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great hotel located in the Pest side of the city. Easy to get to from the hotel (a bus and then the metro) taking about an hr overall. The hotel was great value for money and was easy to find and great location to the metro and bus routes. This hotel isn't located right in the centre of the city near main sights but was only a walk, bus or metro ride away. The public transport was so cheap!
The hotel was modern, clean and filled with very polite and welcoming staff. The room we stayed in was on the 5th floor and was very quiet, clean and spacious. Our room had a hair dryer plus hand wash dispenser and body wash dispenser in bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and the air on worked very well. We only had a bath sheet each and then one bath mat - would have been great to have had an additional hand towel. However we never asked for this but the staff were so friendly that if we had asked I am sure it wouldn't have been a problem.
The hotel has free wifi and also great leaflets and maps of the city which is exactly what we needed!
Overall a great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurkeyTwizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    490
    107
    14
    3
See reviews for
129
426
104
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

It is a good hotel for a budget traveler. Reasonable price, good location as easy access to trains and trams, helpful and polite staff, no problem with free wi-fi, some cafes, fast food restaurants and pubs near the hotel. Wish there is a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Keisei323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here with friends in June, service is good.Tamas the management trainee at the reception is very helpful. The bed is very comfortable to sleep with.Nice pillows as well. Toilets and shower room was clean and spotless.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecohotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden-Baden, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a modern, renovated ibis so it was better than the usual ibis standard. Rooms are very spacious. Location is good- close to main attractions & 1 stop away from keleti train station. Staff were helpful. Drinks at the bar very reasonably priced. Cafes nearby so didn't take hotel's breakfast.

Only complaint is the slow check-out. We were charged for breakfast on certain days which we never had. So we had to sign a declaration that we didn't have breakfast. It took a long time to settle our bill & we nearly missed our train. Apart from that, I would still recommend this hotel, but just remember to check out early.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ji N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at IBIS Budapest CITY hotel during my beautiful trip to the Hungarian capital from 28th till 31st of May, 2014.
While choosing the hotel I aimed at a comfortable and affordable 3* hotel as closer to the city centre as possible. I was suggested 3 hotels 2 of which were IBIS ( City and Centrum, I suppose ). I preferred IBIS City because it seemed cosier and it of more taste.
I liked the hotel very much. First of all, it's the team that the image of the hotel is created by. The receptionists and all the staff were friendly, amiable, nice and real professionals.The people who love their job and do it successfully.
The hotel was neat and the room had been cleaned every day. I enjoyed the variety at the breakfast. Ti cut a long story short, when I come to Budapest one more time, I'll stay at IBIS City again!!

Room Tip: If you have a sole trip, make sure You'll have a one huge bed. I was missing it a bit... I moved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anastasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#65 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#61 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#41 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Terézváros
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#80 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budapest City

Property: Ibis Budapest City
Address: Akacfa utca 3, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#49 Business Hotel in Budapest
#54 Family Hotel in Budapest
#56 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Budapest City 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Budapest City hotel is located in the centre of the business district of Budapest, within easy access to public transport. The airport is 19 km away, and the Budapest Congress Convention Centre 5 km away. It has 84 air-conditioned and smoke-free rooms, including 2 for disabled guests. A bar open 24/24 provides snacks. The hotel has covered pay parking, and free Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. There are restaurants close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Emke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing