We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of Golden Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Park Hotel
Ranked #234 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Sveti Ivan Zelina, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were staying in this hotel few days after New Years eve. Hotel is just across Keleti railway station /metro station. Metro line M2 connects Deli railway station and Keleti. Drive costs about 1,50$, and takes about 8mins. Hotel is nice. We were staying on 3rd floor. First 3 floors are non-smoking. Our friends were staying on 5th floor, in smoking room, and room was stinky, and not clean as ours. 7th floor is totaly renovated, and has beautiful gray/white rooms without higher price! After check-in you get free juice at bar! Bar has high prices of alcohol, so don't drink there. For exaple, caffe bar in town centre gives you votka for 4 people at same price as one at hotel bar. Breakfast is great - eat as much as you can! Traditional european breakfast - eggs, ham, sausages, hotdogs, pancakes, coffe, tea, juice. Last day we were leaving room at 10am, but our train was leaving Keleti at 2pm. The hotel was keeping our baggage in their storage for free! Employees speak english/german/italian fluently, eaven littlebit croatian! You just need to try to understand hungarian accent.
p.s. 5mins walk form hotel, there is Arena plaza shopping centre, where you can shop, and eat cheap fastfood - mcdonalds, KFC, food of asia, hugary traditional food, burger king...etc.

Room Tip: First 3 floor are non-smoking, cleaner, and smell nice! And you have balcony if you are smoker. 7th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Sveti Ivan Zelina,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding your impression experienced.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Golden Park Hotel. We will share your feedback with catering company team concerning how is the pricing experience at the lobby bar, We take all constructive criticism seriously. It helps us do a better job.

Most important, I'm sorry to see your travel partner received a room on 5.-th level that was less than satisfactory. We take all issue seriously offered in time the best option for a room change and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Budapest.

Best regards :
Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    407
    421
    197
    153
See reviews for
171
565
79
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Myself and my wife booked 2 nights at Royal Park Boutique Hotel which is located in 300 meters from Keleti Railway Station 'cause we had early in the morning train at 5.20 am. When we came to Royal Park Boutique which is really nice 4 star hotel we were told that they were overbooked and had no available rooms. They moved us to Golden Park Hotel which belongs to the same owners and is located on the other side of the square, .

Pros:
- Location is good, 150 meters from Keleti Station main entrance and steps from Keleti pu metro station. Also on many buses (for example, # 7) you can get to Astoria metro station, Gellert Baths and Spa, etc.

Cons:
- This is not a 4 star hotel, maybe 2,5 stars.
- The hotel is big and the rooms are not equal to each others. For example, we were given the room # 232. It was a tiny dirty room with no space at all, too small for two persons. 1 star, no more!! The room was facing to a big square and a road with intensive traffic. The room had no soundproof at all, it was TOO NOISY due to the traffic. Also there are serious construction works on the square - madness!!!!! The carpet in the room was burnt in many places and was dirty. Also we found somebody's hairs on the pillow. We immediately returned back to the reception and were given another room # 202. It was a big room with big bed and additional sofa and armchair. Soundproof was good. We heard nothing, even a tram line on the corner of the hotel.
- No wi-fi in the room, only in the lobby.
- The staff was indifferent.
- The breakfast was average.
- Usually the price of Golden Park is lower than Royal Park Boutique. I just thought maybe the owners sell more rooms in Royal Park Boutique than they have in order to deliver clients to Golden Park. Maybe, I don't state.
- We received no excuses for inconvenience and moving to the cheaper hotel.

Opinion:
It is possible to stay there for 1 night if you take the train from Keleti early in the morning. But most probably you will have to look at two or three rooms and then choose. They are very different.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergeika30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Sergeika 30 from Moscow,
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write an impression about your stay
with us at the Golden Park Hotel despite your booking was addressed to Royal
Park Boutique Hotel.
I am very sorry to learn of the problems are experienced. Relocation has been never planned and not belong to pleasurable part of holiday. Please to accept our sincerest apology.
I am so pleased you found the hotel location with its transportation access spot on!
yet you were clearly disappointing by the quality of the room with all facilities and fittings.
.It is obvious in all departments interest to resolve your problems whilst you are here.
If you're annoyed and the amenity of the room doesn't meet your expectations, we would always offer the best room we can but due to very high occupancy we were limited to what we could offer you in this occasion.
The last room received is belong premium room category instead of standard as your booking says.
It is our sincere wish and goal for all guests to enjoy every aspect of their stay and we take all negative comments to heart.
We will certainly look at all trouble what is mentioned above by you to see what we can do to
improve it.
I hope that after this short explanation you will see that we do take your comments seriously and we offer our apologies again for the inconvenience you experienced.
I do hope that you choose to come and stay with us again soon and give us another chance to serve you.
Best Regards : Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We arrived in Budapest during the floods of June 2013. The hotel is directly across the street from the train station, and in a nicer area than in Prague.The room was nice, and the hotel had an elevator. There were two restaurants attached. Breakfast was good. The staff was the most helpful I have ever encountered. They have a free web center and they helped me sign in and get through to Vienna Hotels in order to cancel our room in Salzburg due to the flooding. Before I was able to use the computer, the Service desk gentleman made a call to the hotel for me. He spoke fluent German and English and told me I would have to go on line to cancel the room, as that was how I booked it. He helped me a number of times. The hop on hop off bus is a few blocks down from the hotel, very convenient. I would stay at the Golden Park again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroltinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Caroltinley,

Sharing your excellent review of Golden Park Hotel hotel is very much appreciated.
We are happy that our services, quality of accomodation and front office staff attitude made your stay a memorable one, we will be informing all of your satisfaction. We truly appriciated that you found the staff met up to your expectations, as we strive to provide the best possible service to all our guests.

I do hope to welcome you back here again very soon.
Best regards .

Judy Nagy

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisak, Croatia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Hotel location is great - metro station is in front of the hotel, railway station is across the street, you can easilly walk to the town centre and Arena Plaza shopping mall is really near (and there you can park for free!). The rooms were spotless although pretty small. The staff was kind and attentive. Food for breakfast was very good - there was variety of different foods to choose from. Only objection goes to breakfast serving - when we came to breakfast there were no clean tables-on all tables were used dishes and leftovers, and there were only two maids who were cleaning and setting the tables and they were very slow and ineffective.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelalalaPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Dear Melalala Pi,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Golden Park Hotel.
I 'm so pleased to read that you have enjoyed the overall experience and at the same time I am sorry to read that there were a few issues that did not meet your expectations.
Thank you for the update remark regarding the breakfast. I have passed on this information to the department involved to see if they can find ways to rectify this for all guests in short time.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back during 2014.

Best regards:

Judy Nagy

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here for 3 nights in January. It is not an extravagant hotel, definitely not 4 star as they claim, but it is one clean and cozy residence for one pleasant trip. It is near city center, at 3 metro stations from Deak ter whit line 2, near east railway station, near the hop on hop off red line 7 station. The hotel has two types of rooms, one of them is smaller, but all the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and customer oriented. The breakfast stays in the hotel line, nothing extraordinary but safe and typical for European breakfast. In the lobby it is one buffet where you can have one excellent cup of coffee, especially if you don't like the standard breakfast coffee. It is one good value for money hotel, for our stay we payed 102 euro. If you aren't very exigent whit the rooms space, you may consider this hotel as your residence in your trip in Budapest.

Helpful?
Thank Dragos_vl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Dear Mr. Dragos,

It is my pleasure to read your kind feedback on Golden Park Hotel. We high appreciated that you were pleased with the hotel standards as well as the hotel location. The Golden Park Hotel has the advantage of the underground and public transportation accsess being close enough to make your journey easy and confortable.
We endeavour to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment .

I very much look forward to welcoming you personally on your next visit to Budapest.

Best wishes:

Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Hotel location is excellent as it is directly next to the main train station and a stone throw away from Arena Plaza, a huge shopping mall. Lots of shopping choices is available in Arena Plaza, and there is also Tesco in there.

Room is located on the first floor with faulty aircon as it was on "radiator" mode and could not be switched to the "cool" mode. Informed the hotel counter staff to get someone to check on it, however we were told to open our windows instead. It is rather disappointing as we were concerned about the common ledge outside the window as anyone could just enter the room by walking along the ledge. Apart from that issue, everything else is alright with the clean and basic room. The breakfast provided is rather sumptuous and good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Great location (the metro station is right in front of the hotel, as well as the Keleti train station). Metro is fairly cheap (~1.2 eur for single ticket) and it will take you to the other part of the city in 15 minutes.

The receptionists are neither friendly nor rude, but do respond in one or two lines so you have to ask multiple questions to get the information you need.

Rooms are clean and mid-sized, but I did notice spots on the carpet and marks in the wall. TV and hair dryer are a bit dated for a 4-star hotel. The bathroom was clean and spacious.

Breakfast is excellent though: there are many dishes to choose from (even ones that would be more appropriate for lunch). I also loved their coffee with milk.

All in all, I've seen friendlier service and better rooms in 4-star hotels, but the hotel is quite decent for a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtodtlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#135 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#88 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#161 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#164 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#133 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Green Hotel
#220 of 333 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Park Hotel

Property: Golden Park Hotel
Address: Baross ter 10, Budapest 1087, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Golden Park Hotel Budapest can be a perfect starting point of your itinerary in the city of Budapest and its features guarantee an ideal stay for those who visit Budapest for business purposes. The 100 year old impressive building of the hotel can be found on Baross square opposite Eastern Railway Station (Keleti pu.), the most important transportation center of the city. The cultural center of Budapest, with the Danube, the Parliament and the Vaci street can be reached by public transport in a couple of minutes.Golden Park Hotel Budapest provides a location close to all significant sights and tourist attractions, the City Park and the Arena Plaza, one of Europe’s largest shopping centers can be reached in a 10 minutes walk.In the 179 comfortable rooms of the fully restored Golden Park Hotel the relaxing nights are guaranteed.Our guests can choose from the rooms of seven floors (a floor exclusively for non smokers among them). Our interior designers created rooms that reflect the values of simple elegance, comfort and handiness; the rooms’ services are ensured by the high quality work of our excellent staff.On the top floor of the hotel there are rooms designed in the spirit of minimal art. Fashionable colors, forms, furniture, and the topmost floor’s charms, with a stunning city panorama gleaming through the windows - the more nights you spend here, the more you become attached to it.The rooms are equipped with noise-safe windows, individually-controlled air conditioning, satellite TV channels, phones, in room safe deposit box, refrigerator and hairdryer. To guarantee our guests’ safety, all rooms have electronic swipe cards and smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Park Budapest
Hotel Golden Park
Golden Park Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing