We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest
Ranked #238 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Far better than expected”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We paid less than £20 each for a double room in this hotel, and as such my expectations were pretty low. However, I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly and helpful, the whole hotel is very clean, and the location is absolutely excellent, with a metro stop literally outside the front door which takes you into the centre within five minutes. Our room was very small but perfectly serviceable, with a small balcony and decent sized bathroom. Breakfast was excellent - a huge selection of hot and cold food, including pastries and sweets. The decor is pretty dated and the whole place could do with a lick of paint, but for the price we paid I was very happy.

Room Tip: The bottom three floors are non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clicheguevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Clicheguevara,

Thank you for brightening up our day today with such a lovely description about the Golden Park Hotel. It feels really nice to know the hotel standard, location and the staff lived up to your expectations.
I have shared your review with all effected departments who are absolutely delighted to know your positive feedback.
We very much look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Budapest.

Best regards :
Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    418
    436
    209
    162
See reviews for
184
580
82
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We came to Budapest to stay at the Royal park Boutique hotel. Due to a technical problem with the water on one of the floors we couldn't get a room there. We were relocated to the royal park hotel across the keleti square. Great location for a hotel, you walk out the main entrance right into one of the main metro lines. Keleti square combines metro, train, bus and tramlines.

The receptionists are neither friendly nor rude, but do respond in one or two lines so you have to ask multiple questions to get the information you need.

We stayed at the 7the floor, had no problems with any sound of the busy keleti square. The rooms are decent but have there flaws: old hairdryer and tv. One of the blinds on the windows was broken, I fixed it so it would stay shut.

The breakfast was ok, not excellent. If you like healthy things its not a breakfast for you. Almost no chose between fruits. Yoghurt is non existing, small variety in cheese, ... But they have many hot dishes: eggs, sausages, french toast, ... The breakfast room is big and spacious but is outdated (marks on the walls, old spotted chairs)

All in all, I've seen friendlier service and better rooms in 4-star hotels, but the hotel is quite decent for a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Jorisvdamme,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. We're very pleased that you found the Golden Park Hotel to be at a great location near public transportation.
First of all we apologize for that you were being relocated from Royal Park Hotel, it was inconvenience to you soured your mini holiday for a short time.
We were very disappointed to read that you did half enjoy your stay with us. We will be sure to share your comments with the appropriate departments.
We prefer gathering feedback from our guest so we can clearly observe the areas of opportunity that must be acted upon service level improvement or during hotel renovation as we continue our future plan.
We do hope that you will reconsider and return, so we have pleasure of welcoming you again, hopefully after that your booking is really addressed the Golden Park Hotel.

Best regards :
Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed here with my partner for 2 nights In January. The hotel itself is located perfectly, just across the road from the Metro station which we used to travel into the city centre (10mins away).
The staff were friendly enough, their english not bad so we got by. Our holiday deal included a bottle of wine and a fruit basket (not guaranteed) the hotel did not provide this. They could have easily fullfilled this extra but chose not to based on the small print.
Our room was spacious enough and clean, you are located on a busy main road with a tram stop outside the hotel along with the metro across the road so it was noisy at times.
Breakfast was what you'd expect, they do have a hot buffet but we chose to stick with toast.
We travelled into the city centre both days and did some shopping but as it was so cold it wasnt very busy so our experience was limited some what.
We also did the hop on hop off bus tour which was ok as we got to see parts of the city we wouldnt have seen travelling around by ourselves. We didnt really get our moneys worth but did use the river cruise. This again was ok but due to it being so cold wasnt the most enjoyable experience.
We attempted to visit one of the famour spa baths but i beleive it was closed during lunch hours and wasnt very clear so we just walked about instead.
We visited the chinese market, this was full of low end clothing and electrics, probably better on a weekend but not worth the trip during the week.
Overall we had a nice time visiting a different part of Europe, if you are to visit Budapest, do so in the warmer months to make the most of it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Andy B.

Firstly thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us. We value each opportunity we receive to hear directly from our customers.
It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your recent stay despite the weather was chilly cold as usual in winter and found our staff to be enough helpful.

We encourage all our guests to contact Reception or indeed a manager on duty with any concern that we can attempt to resolve their trouble immediately. It is a pity that you did not speak to a manager on the arrival day as this would have allowed us the opportunity to make up your disappointment according to welcome presentation.
We do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your check- in.
I would really appreciate if you could contact me directly with more details concerning your booking conditions including the special fruit basket and a bottle of wine offer so that we can investigate this matter.
E-mail to be contacted: frontofficemanager@goldenparkhotel.hu

We hope that you will be choosing us again for your future travel needs.


We look forward to hearing you.
Best regards:
Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sveti Ivan Zelina, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were staying in this hotel few days after New Years eve. Hotel is just across Keleti railway station /metro station. Metro line M2 connects Deli railway station and Keleti. Drive costs about 1,50$, and takes about 8mins. Hotel is nice. We were staying on 3rd floor. First 3 floors are non-smoking. Our friends were staying on 5th floor, in smoking room, and room was stinky, and not clean as ours. 7th floor is totaly renovated, and has beautiful gray/white rooms without higher price! After check-in you get free juice at bar! Bar has high prices of alcohol, so don't drink there. For exaple, caffe bar in town centre gives you votka for 4 people at same price as one at hotel bar. Breakfast is great - eat as much as you can! Traditional european breakfast - eggs, ham, sausages, hotdogs, pancakes, coffe, tea, juice. Last day we were leaving room at 10am, but our train was leaving Keleti at 2pm. The hotel was keeping our baggage in their storage for free! Employees speak english/german/italian fluently, eaven littlebit croatian! You just need to try to understand hungarian accent.
p.s. 5mins walk form hotel, there is Arena plaza shopping centre, where you can shop, and eat cheap fastfood - mcdonalds, KFC, food of asia, hugary traditional food, burger king...etc.

Room Tip: First 3 floor are non-smoking, cleaner, and smell nice! And you have balcony if you are smoker. 7th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Sveti Ivan Zelina,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding your impression experienced.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Golden Park Hotel. We will share your feedback with catering company team concerning how is the pricing experience at the lobby bar, We take all constructive criticism seriously. It helps us do a better job.

Most important, I'm sorry to see your travel partner received a room on 5.-th level that was less than satisfactory. We take all issue seriously offered in time the best option for a room change and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Budapest.

Best regards :
Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Myself and my wife booked 2 nights at Royal Park Boutique Hotel which is located in 300 meters from Keleti Railway Station 'cause we had early in the morning train at 5.20 am. When we came to Royal Park Boutique which is really nice 4 star hotel we were told that they were overbooked and had no available rooms. They moved us to Golden Park Hotel which belongs to the same owners and is located on the other side of the square, .

Pros:
- Location is good, 150 meters from Keleti Station main entrance and steps from Keleti pu metro station. Also on many buses (for example, # 7) you can get to Astoria metro station, Gellert Baths and Spa, etc.

Cons:
- This is not a 4 star hotel, maybe 2,5 stars.
- The hotel is big and the rooms are not equal to each others. For example, we were given the room # 232. It was a tiny dirty room with no space at all, too small for two persons. 1 star, no more!! The room was facing to a big square and a road with intensive traffic. The room had no soundproof at all, it was TOO NOISY due to the traffic. Also there are serious construction works on the square - madness!!!!! The carpet in the room was burnt in many places and was dirty. Also we found somebody's hairs on the pillow. We immediately returned back to the reception and were given another room # 202. It was a big room with big bed and additional sofa and armchair. Soundproof was good. We heard nothing, even a tram line on the corner of the hotel.
- No wi-fi in the room, only in the lobby.
- The staff was indifferent.
- The breakfast was average.
- Usually the price of Golden Park is lower than Royal Park Boutique. I just thought maybe the owners sell more rooms in Royal Park Boutique than they have in order to deliver clients to Golden Park. Maybe, I don't state.
- We received no excuses for inconvenience and moving to the cheaper hotel.

Opinion:
It is possible to stay there for 1 night if you take the train from Keleti early in the morning. But most probably you will have to look at two or three rooms and then choose. They are very different.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergeika30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Sergeika 30 from Moscow,
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write an impression about your stay
with us at the Golden Park Hotel despite your booking was addressed to Royal
Park Boutique Hotel.
I am very sorry to learn of the problems are experienced. Relocation has been never planned and not belong to pleasurable part of holiday. Please to accept our sincerest apology.
I am so pleased you found the hotel location with its transportation access spot on!
yet you were clearly disappointing by the quality of the room with all facilities and fittings.
.It is obvious in all departments interest to resolve your problems whilst you are here.
If you're annoyed and the amenity of the room doesn't meet your expectations, we would always offer the best room we can but due to very high occupancy we were limited to what we could offer you in this occasion.
The last room received is belong premium room category instead of standard as your booking says.
It is our sincere wish and goal for all guests to enjoy every aspect of their stay and we take all negative comments to heart.
We will certainly look at all trouble what is mentioned above by you to see what we can do to
improve it.
I hope that after this short explanation you will see that we do take your comments seriously and we offer our apologies again for the inconvenience you experienced.
I do hope that you choose to come and stay with us again soon and give us another chance to serve you.
Best Regards : Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We arrived in Budapest during the floods of June 2013. The hotel is directly across the street from the train station, and in a nicer area than in Prague.The room was nice, and the hotel had an elevator. There were two restaurants attached. Breakfast was good. The staff was the most helpful I have ever encountered. They have a free web center and they helped me sign in and get through to Vienna Hotels in order to cancel our room in Salzburg due to the flooding. Before I was able to use the computer, the Service desk gentleman made a call to the hotel for me. He spoke fluent German and English and told me I would have to go on line to cancel the room, as that was how I booked it. He helped me a number of times. The hop on hop off bus is a few blocks down from the hotel, very convenient. I would stay at the Golden Park again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroltinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Caroltinley,

Sharing your excellent review of Golden Park Hotel hotel is very much appreciated.
We are happy that our services, quality of accomodation and front office staff attitude made your stay a memorable one, we will be informing all of your satisfaction. We truly appriciated that you found the staff met up to your expectations, as we strive to provide the best possible service to all our guests.

I do hope to welcome you back here again very soon.
Best regards .

Judy Nagy

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisak, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Hotel location is great - metro station is in front of the hotel, railway station is across the street, you can easilly walk to the town centre and Arena Plaza shopping mall is really near (and there you can park for free!). The rooms were spotless although pretty small. The staff was kind and attentive. Food for breakfast was very good - there was variety of different foods to choose from. Only objection goes to breakfast serving - when we came to breakfast there were no clean tables-on all tables were used dishes and leftovers, and there were only two maids who were cleaning and setting the tables and they were very slow and ineffective.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelalalaPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Dear Melalala Pi,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Golden Park Hotel.
I 'm so pleased to read that you have enjoyed the overall experience and at the same time I am sorry to read that there were a few issues that did not meet your expectations.
Thank you for the update remark regarding the breakfast. I have passed on this information to the department involved to see if they can find ways to rectify this for all guests in short time.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back during 2014.

Best regards:

Judy Nagy

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Benczur Hotel
#163 of 334 in Budapest
479 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#135 of 334 in Budapest
528 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#133 of 334 in Budapest
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#209 of 334 in Budapest
657 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#128 of 334 in Budapest
344 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
#244 of 334 in Budapest
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest

Property: Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest
Address: Baross ter 10, Budapest 1087, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Golden Park is centrally located in the heart of the business district of Budapest, close to many sights and directly opposite of the train station Keleti pályaudvar. The Syma Hall, the Puskas Ferenc Stadium and the Aréna Plaza, one of the largest shopping centers in Central Europe, are only a few minutes' walking distance away. The impressive building of the Golden Park Hotel is over 100 years old and has a wonderful facade. It offers elegant rooms with soundproofed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Park Budapest
Hotel Golden Park
Golden Park Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing