We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel which is great value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Park Hotel
Ranked #239 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel which is great value for money!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Booked this hotel without checking on Trip Advisor. To be honest when we read the reviews we were very worried but thought its only for two nights but for the price we paid we thought it would be OK. What a surprise when we arrived at the Hotel. The hotel is clean, furnished lovely and the staff were extremely helpful. Our room was located on the seventh floor. Yes the lift only does go up to the sixth floor but it was only six stairs to climb before we were on our floor. The room was amazing and furnished to a very modern style. With leather sofas etc, it was quiet, and had a fantastic view of the square and the Metro Station. The room was cleaned both days of our stay and towels were changed as well. The hotel bar was lovely and prices and was open till 12 midnight every day and prices were cheaper than other Bars in Budapest. We had to check out at 11am but our transfer wasnt until 6pm that day but the manager let us use the free luggage room to store our cases whilst we went out for the day. When almost time for our transfer we were able to wash and change in the toilets and also relax in the Reception area on the very comfy sofas. We couldn't fault it and this hotel more than surpassed any other hotel we have ever stayed in. Thank you very much Golden Park Hotel we will be returning!! xxxxx

Room Tip: Room 701 is awesome xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 8fmorghta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear 8fmorghta,

We have to say a”thank you” for your favourable feedback and we are so glad you had enjoyed your stay with us. I am over the moon, you felt that you could not have chosen a better place for your holiday. It was our pleasure taking care of you Thank you for recommending us!
We hope it will not be too long before we welcome you again.

Best regards:
Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    402
    411
    188
    150
See reviews for
167
549
78
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Generous sized room, helpful staff, clean, nice breakfasts, but not a very good choice for us vegans, but there was enough to satisfy us. They provided us with map of the city. The price was reasonable, being so convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Chris P.,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback on TripAdvisor. We take all of our guests’ comment seriously and use it to constantly improve our hotel service. We were so happy you had enjoyed your stay with us and we can’t agree more, the hotel location is brilliant, so close to all the major attractions located in Budapest.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards:
Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

12 of us came to Budapest for our mate's Stag weekend and had a great time.

The rooms are amazing, beds could be better too but everything else is superb.

Great food, nice location and not too touristy even though it's next to the train station.

What I would say is DO NOT PAY MORE THAN 3000ft for a cab to the city centre. It's just a 10 min walk which we only found out on the day we were leaving. ALL the taxi drivers will go the long way round, up the meter etc and try and get 8k+ out of you.

The pool table in the lobby area is very very cheap. £1.50 for an hour it works out to and although there is a lean to it it's still great value.

The staff here are great, most speak English and happy to help.

It was a great trip and even though I probably won't be coming back to Budapest again (not much to it in my opinion) I'd definitely recommend this hotel as will my 11 mates who stayed here with me.
All around the 33 mark.

Final tip. Don't believe the nonsense on TripAdvisor about exchanging your cash. We all changed over our Hungarian money back to English from the little bureau down the road from here and got a better buy back rate than if we did it in the UK. Was around 385 instead of 420.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Raj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Raj M.,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your private impression with other travellers.
We’re so delighted that you found the Golden Park Hotel to be convenient, clean, comfortable and good value for money as these aspects are our main areas where we focus on. As we read that our operating concept was suited your travel needs.
The limited-„low cost hotel” strategy is a new concept in the hotel industry but it offers a great deal as good value for money with such a perfect central location as ours. We are pleased to receive your positive feedback about our amenity-facilities, cleanliness and comfortable accomodation, as our priority is to provide all in a excellent location at unbeatable prices.
It is great to see that we achieved all criteria for your stay.

We will be more than happy to welcome you on your next trip to Budapest.

Best regards:
Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I got back from Budapest and a four night stay at Golden Park Hotel the other day and the negative feedback the hotel seems to be receiving here makes me feel really bad. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel! It's clean, well-kept, centrally located with public transportation literally right outside the door and it's very budget friendly. No, it's not a flawless establishment, but people, please remember that you only get what you pay for. Golden Park Hotel is not a luxury hotel. It's not meant for those with financial means like that.

Here is my experience -

My friend and I arrived around lunch time on Monday June 2, hours before the actual check-in time at 3 o'clock, and we were let into our room without hassle straight away. The boys behind the lobby counter were very friendly and service minded and remained that way all through our stay at the hotel.

Now our room was probably one of the worst located rooms in the entire hotel; on the first floor with the window facing the square and with the heavily trafficked road right below and to top it off there was a street lamp located right outside that lit up the room all through the night, but I still slept like a baby. And I don't normally do that when away from home. The bed was comfortable, there was air conditioning (albeit a bit noisy but very much functional), and the room was cleaned every day. As far as the room goes, there really is nothing to complain about.

The one thing I might oppose slightly to was the breakfast buffet which lacked a bit in cold cuts and the juices really weren't very tasty, and neither was the coffee. But this is a cultural difference. I'm from Sweden so I'm used to a different kind of breakfast meal than what is offered in continental Europe. I've never been to a hotel that has left me "breakfast satisfied" so this isn't a problem attached to Golden Park Hotel as much as it is a problem attached to me.

The staff were all lovely people; very helpful, polite and kind. When we were confused as to where we should get off the tram the staff looked it up for us on the computer; they really made our first trip to Budapest so much easier.

To sum it up - Golden Park Hotel is an excellent choice for the budget aware and I strongly recommend it! When I go to Budapest again (and I will because WOW! What a city!) I will definitely keep this hotel in mind.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and at the back of the hotel are probably quieter than those on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josephine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Josephine L,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad you found our hotel well located, clean, comfortable and good value for money.
We’re very pleased to see your positive review regarding our customer service and hotel rational concept, it allows us to offer unbeatable price to our much-valued guests. These are the Golden Park Hotel main areas, where we focus on and it is excellent to see that we well managed to deliver a greatest service for our costumers.
We are so happy that you were pleasantly surprised by the hotel amenity and value you have received staying with us, it is resulted the Golden Park Hotel became your preferred hotel.

We are delighted with your feedback and we hope to welcome you again.

Best regards:
Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have just come back from Budapest, though the city itself cannot compare with beautiful Vienna, which we also visited.

Budapest still has a heavily sovietized, rusting, and dirty feel about it, and even now 25 years after the fall of the eastern bloc, no one smiles or seems in the slightest bit interested in visitors. In fact, the many Hungarians I met couldn't be less helpful. We were shortchanged by a food seller at Keleti station, and with the sort of sour flourish reserved for mug tourists. Be careful outside the hotel, as large gangs of swarthy tramps assault you for 'cigars'. It cannot be just a post soviet attitude, because other parts of the old eastern bloc are really clean and bright looking, for example Dresden and Leipzig!

The hotel was very comfortable, the beds excellent, and the rooms clean. The breakfast was the best I have tasted, although the staff looked constantly miserable and irritated at having to help customers and need lessons in smiling. I have been a waiter myself, and even I know that one cannot always blame the visitor.

This is a great hotel in an emergency, but I would recommend that Budapest be merely a stopover on the way to the incomparably better Vienna!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Daniel W,

Thank you for your feedback and for pointing out those areas where necessary improvement can be found in a short time. We were sad, your global experience was not absolute positive but do hope that you return to Budapest and stay with us again given us the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel and us.

We do hope you change your mind about staying with us again we can welcome you back to Golden Park Hotel in a short time.

Best regards:
Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We arrived at this hotel on the 27th April (2014). It was very late at night, and we had to wait a while at the reception, as other people were checking in.

Despite the travel agent requesting rooms on as high a floor as possible, they had booked us onto the third floor, but after quite a discussion with the receptionist, we were moved to the sixth floor, which suited us much better.

We had booked two rooms, one of the rooms was near the rear of the hotel, and was in quite a quiet location. My friend said that he managed to sleep well there. The room was clean, and fairly good quality.

My room was at the front of the hotel, room 629 if I remember correctly. The room was clean, and I was quite happy with it overall, the room had a balcony overlooking the Keleti square, which was a fantastic place to take photos from! The views across the square were amazing, and looked really spectacular at night.

A word of warning however, obviously with the room being at the front of the hotel, you could hear the traffic noise outside, however, this did not stop me going to sleep, despite the window being open.

It is also worth noting that the lift on that side of the building only goes up to floor five, so you have the choice of either taking the lift on the other side of the building up to floor six, then walking round the building to your room, or taking the other lift, and then going up one flight of stairs. What this also means is that the lift machinery is right next to that room, and it can be heard going all night! I managed to sleep through that, but some people may be bothered by the noise.

Personally I felt that the lift noise, and the street noise were a small price to pay, to get the excellent balcony, and the sweeping view, being an amateur photographer.

There did not appear to be any air-conditioning, but the room did have some kind of ventilation fan, it was quite noisy, but did bring fresh air into the room.

The free Wi-Fi was certainly useful, you just need to ask for the password at reception.

Each room had a small safe, which is very useful for storing things such as passports and money.

The breakfast was a continental buffet. I did not think it was anything special, but my friend really seemed to enjoy it, so I guess it is purely a matter of taste. I will say however that I did really like the pancakes! I strongly suggest that you try them.

We did not really explore the local area around the hotel much, apart from a visit to the local Mcdonalds.

The hotel is in a very good location for transport, Keleti Railway station is just outside the hotel, as well as two Metro lines (Lines 2 and 4 if memory serves) and all you really need to do is take Metro line 2 to Széll Kálmán tér, and from there you can get to pretty much anywhere in the city by tram.

If you are a tourist, I recommend buying a “Budapest Card” as it gives you unlimited travel on the city transport, this includes Trams, Buses, Trolley Buses and the Metro lines. The reception has a stock of them, making it easy to buy one before your first trip out into the city.

I do not know what the car parking is like, as we did not have a car.

There is an Italian restaurant next to the hotel which we tried for one of our evening meals, and I thought it was really good. The food was tasty, and the staff were nice.

I would recommend this hotel as it is in a good location for public transport, and was quite good value over all.

Room Tip: Try to get as high a floor as possible, The views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Alloria,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review of our hotel.
We were so happy to read that we met your high expectations following your recent stay with us at Golden Park Hotel. I was glad to hear that you had enjoyed the hotel food and beverage facilities in italian restaurant as well as the quality and amenity of the accommodation how we well provided you. Concerning your comments about the all team, we have at the hotel, I have passed on your kind appreciative words to them.

Please do come and visit us again soon.
We look forward to serving you with our utmost dedication.

Best regards:
Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My family and I have just returned from our 4 night stay at this hotel. Having read the last month's reviews we were frankly dreading it but we relly shouldnt have worried. We were on the sixth floor (rooms 625 and 626) and, although the rooms were small, they were well equipped, clean and had extremely comfortable beds. Our problems with the safe and window were sorted within minutes of asking for assistance and, although the hotel seemed fairly full, our floor was lovely and quiet. There was plentiful food for breakfast. Yes, peculiar sausages and egg etc but only to be expected in a foreign country. Food was always replenished quickly - the pancakes which appeared on 2 of our days were demolished fast! Lots of continental options too. my sweet ooth loved having chocolate cake for breakfast! The staff spoke good english and very kindly let us leave our luggage there until we left for the airport at 3.30pm. There's a nice italian restaurant attached to the hotel (next door) with very reasonable prices. The metro line 2 is literally outside the hotel and it's easy to buy tickets from the machine (which has an English option!). Really, we couldnt fault the hotel (apart from the very grubby seats in the breakfast room). Perhaps we were lucky but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Golden Park Hotel.

Room Tip: We were on sixth floor. We had been lead to believe that the upper floors were smoking floors but ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 156sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear 156sam

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It is music to my ears to know that how we served the best feel and looked after you. Your positive comment gives me a great pleasure to read that you had such a memorable stay with us. The Housekeeping department will be happy to know that you have found our hotel room to be immaculate and comfortable for sleeping.
It will give me real pleasure sharing with them both statements. We love when our „much valued” guests notice that we treat them with consideration and respect and we’re sure to pass on your review with all of team here at Golden Park Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future and to serving you with our utmost dedication. We’ll greatly appreciate your next visit.

Best regards:
Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#137 of 342 in Budapest
484 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#83 of 342 in Budapest
515 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#164 of 342 in Budapest
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#131 of 342 in Budapest
1,531 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#159 of 342 in Budapest
439 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#117 of 342 in Budapest
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Park Hotel

Property: Golden Park Hotel
Address: Baross ter 10, Budapest 1087, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Golden Park Hotel Budapest can be a perfect starting point of your itinerary in the city of Budapest and its features guarantee an ideal stay for those who visit Budapest for business purposes. The 100 year old impressive building of the hotel can be found on Baross square opposite Eastern Railway Station (Keleti pu.), the most important transportation center of the city. The cultural center of Budapest, with the Danube, the Parliament and the Vaci street can be reached by public transport in a couple of minutes.Golden Park Hotel Budapest provides a location close to all significant sights and tourist attractions, the City Park and the Arena Plaza, one of Europe’s largest shopping centers can be reached in a 10 minutes walk.In the 179 comfortable rooms of the fully restored Golden Park Hotel the relaxing nights are guaranteed.Our guests can choose from the rooms of seven floors (a floor exclusively for non smokers among them). Our interior designers created rooms that reflect the values of simple elegance, comfort and handiness; the rooms’ services are ensured by the high quality work of our excellent staff.On the top floor of the hotel there are rooms designed in the spirit of minimal art. Fashionable colors, forms, furniture, and the topmost floor’s charms, with a stunning city panorama gleaming through the windows - the more nights you spend here, the more you become attached to it.The rooms are equipped with noise-safe windows, individually-controlled air conditioning, satellite TV channels, phones, in room safe deposit box, refrigerator and hairdryer. To guarantee our guests’ safety, all rooms have electronic swipe cards and smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Park Budapest
Hotel Golden Park
Golden Park Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing