We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest
Ranked #242 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Rooms at the hotel are very small. The hotel is in a relatively good location. The price is more than good.

The staff is friendly. Breakfast was decent. What is the biggest problem is the noise. All night next to the hotel passing ambulance with sirens. The hotel is on a busy boulevard, probably the all other hotels in a similar location have same noise problem.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Aleksandar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

First impression of this hotel was not favourable. The halls are very dark and dreary and the rooms are drab and unimpressive. But the bedding was clean and it was conveniently located. We used the nearby hop on hop off to travel close to the sites we wanted to visit and found this to be easy and enjoyable. The breakfasts I really didn't find appetizing, but I do recommend the little Italian restaurant attached to the hotel. Being close to the train station is a plus for some, but the noise (mostly construction) and overall ambiance wasn't pleasing. However, the room rates were fair, so I really wasn't expecting five star.

Room Tip: upper floors, further away from constant traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was in this hotel at New Year 2014. From the hotel you can easily get to main city square with a lot of xmas fairs. Near the hotel there was free and pay parking, and I hadn't any trouble to park my car. This is a classic hotel with long passages and plenty of rooms. Room was quite small and not very clean, slightly worn carpet on the floor and so on. But the price was attractive and I haven't feel any regrets about staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PavelDubrovskiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and me visited Budapest by train so hotel location was perfect because is across the street from Keleti Train station and also on the Metro station. Tram and bus stations were few meters from hotel entrance.
Before booking we read some reviews and decided to book room on the top floor which was good choice. Room was big enough on two levels between entrance and bathroom. We had nice panorama view, but it was also little bit noisy , because tram start station was under our window. When we close the soundproof window it was ok.
Hotel is rather big and there were some school groups arriving and leaving every morning and evening but reception staff was very fast and there was no crowds more than 10-15 minutes. At the restaurant and at the lobby free wireless was available.
Breakfast was buffet and with correct offer, but I would expect some more delicacies at the 4 stars hotel.
Staff was extremely nice, starting from the booking and ending with helping me to solve big problem when I was robbed in public transport. My wallet with documents was stolen and they help me to contact embassy and allowed late checkout for free. Their kindness made our stay in Budapest despite bad experience with pickpocket easier and nice and hopefully we'll be back soon but this time will be more careful in public transport.
We were sorry that at the time we were there sauna was not available due to some reconstruction or similar problem.
I would recommend this hotel to the people who want to use public transport during their stay in Budapest because of perfect location and because of brilliant staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Djurdjica_Remenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

after many years of staying at the golden park ,i read reviews about rude and miserable staff.
Believe me the staff are brilliant .if you heard the way some of the customers talk to them as if they are there slaves they have every right to now and and be off hand with them .
After many,many,long stays here i can honestly say never ever have i had a problem with any staff member.

Room Tip: you get what you pay for ,as with any hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

± Cleanliness: 2/10 !!! yes. not a 4* at all !!!
± Location: 8/10 very good, 1 minutes from Keleti Train Station and metro Station.
± Service: 2/10 very bad.
± Value of money: 1/10 very expensive to its value. not valuable.
± ordered 3 beds, got one double & non-opened, dirty sofa.
± very basic, only for sleep nothing more.
± guesthouses can be better

!!!!! for construction reasons they transferred me free of charge to another better hotel BUT!!! then charged my through Booking for not showing up.! I had to e-mail them times and times...

Room Tip: Wifi was available only in the Lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Saher19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Saher19,

Let me begin by thanking you as our costumer for taking the time to pen your review regarding last stay with us was in august 2013. After reading your comment we’re slightly unsure, how long have you been here for. On other hand it is better late then never to receive your reflection.
I am surprised by your comments about being so annoyed, how was your stay. If we had informed in time we would have had more chance to rectify all of your trouble on spot. We need you to ensure if our guest has unsatisfactory we are commited to do all „what we can do”. This attitude assures you never get any frustation or bitter feeling after you had checked out.
My apologies, you had had WIFI just in the lobby in that time when you were here. We hope,
you’ll be over the moon to hear it, since last year september WIFI accsess available entire the hotel building.
In regards to the price we do run promotions and offer package purchases during the seasons. The management first intention, we strive to offer good value for money and we’re so pleased after several feedback of our previous clients, we had exceeded all expectations as we provide reasonable value for money in a good location with acceptable comfort feeling.
We’re so sorry you were not able to take advantage on this stay.
We do hope you change your mind about staying with us again we can welcome you back to Golden Park Hotel.
Thank you for helping us.

Best regards:
Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend in February 2014. It was a very basic hotel in a great location. From our small room, we had a brilliant view of Keleti Train and Metro station, 10 mins from the park, and about 15 minutes walk from the New York Café. We had a really nice time walking around.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#125 of 334 in Budapest
558 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#134 of 334 in Budapest
2,083 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
#244 of 334 in Budapest
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Green Hotel
#236 of 334 in Budapest
187 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#162 of 334 in Budapest
504 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#216 of 334 in Budapest
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest

Address: Baross ter 10, Budapest 1087, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £39 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Golden Park is centrally located in the heart of the business district of Budapest, close to many sights and directly opposite of the train station Keleti pályaudvar. The Syma Hall, the Puskas Ferenc Stadium and the Aréna Plaza, one of the largest shopping centers in Central Europe, are only a few minutes' walking distance away. The impressive building of the Golden Park Hotel is over 100 years old and has a wonderful facade. It offers elegant rooms with soundproofed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Park Budapest
Hotel Golden Park
Golden Park Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing