We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Romantic Citybreak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Wien
Ranked #226 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Nürnberg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Romantic Citybreak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

We spent a very pleasent weekend in this Hotel and it was unforgettable. We arrived around 7pm at this hotel. The staff was very kind and helpful. We were wellcomed with a bottle of special hungarian sparkling wine and fresh fruits. Our room was nice and clean, but the best was the big jakuzzi. We planned to have a lunch around 1pm but the restaurant had a corporate function at that time.
The breakfast buffet has decent but slightly limited selection.
I would recommend this Hotel first of all for young couples as it is close to the city center so it is convenient to visit the popular citysights wether is day or night.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panna59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2009

I stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks ago and I have to say that despite of the distance from the city center it was quite ok for me. The room was small but clean, the breakfast was simple but delicious for a two nights stay traveller. I also had dinner in the restaurant which was very good quality. The free parking place was also a big advantage for me. I would recommend this hotel for budget travellers.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank berkovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

Stayed here for two nights as part of a Travelsphere tour of Eastern Europe on half board basis.
Quite frankly, it was the pits!
The room although small was clean, and we had little complaints in that department.
Its also quite a distance to the centre of Budapest.
The trouble came at meal times.
When we arrived for the buffet breakfast, it was like a bun fight.
There were hardly any free tables so we sat at one that had just been vacated. After waiting a few minutes, no one had came to lift the dirty dishes from the table, so my wife decided to clear the table herself, putting the plates etc. onto a trolley which was piled high with previous diners dirty dishes.
A gentleman, who I took to be in charge of the waiters, started shouting at her at the top of his voice in the middle of the restaurant to leave the dishes alone as someone would come to clear the table.
After a few choice words to this character we decided to get something to eat.
We wrestled our way through the crowds to discover that most of the food was gone and we were informed by other holidaymakers that they had not been replenished for a while.
Incidentally, a couple of dirty dishes that my wife had not cleared from the table were still there when we left.
The bun fight was repeated the following morning.
The dinners were not much better!
This was served to your table, but on arrival, it was cold and very poor quality.
We complained to our tour guide who informed us that the mayhem was because the hotel was full. Obviously the hotel is not managed properly if they cannot cope with a full hotel.
We also informed her about the incident concerning the waiter and pointed him out to her. She informed us that she also had trouble with him in the past and was surprised that he was still employed in the hotel.
If you can avoid it, don’t stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — The food and the staff.
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllanWicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2008

My partner and I recently spent 2 nights at the Hotel Wien. Our room was very small and dirty and the food was terrible. I would not recommend it.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank william25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2008

We booked this hotel through EasyJet.com.

After reading some of the other reviews, we were a bit concerned about the location, as many people had suggested it was far away from the city center.

The hotel itself is not bad for someone who is planning to be there for breakfast and sleeping only. Breakfast is included and the days we were there it included french toast, sausages, granola / cereal with yogurt, fruit, cheese, ham, and assorted bread. For a vegetarian it was great. For lunch / dinner I cannot tell since we did not use it for those purposes, but we did see the restaurant was open at night. The room as small but great for its purpose, and the bathroom was really good (good water pressure and constant temperature, which is key). Rooms had AC, TV, phone, and a safe...

As far as location, there is a bus station in front of the hotel (on the main road) number 139, that takes you to Deli Pu. station (the stop at the hotel is Sasadi Ut., and returning from Deli, the stop is on the other side of the street and there is a pedestrian overpass). This way makes you use an extra ticket, as Deli Pu. is a bit away from the Pest center side, and then you would have to take the metro (in Budapest you have to use a different train ticket every time you change trains on the same journey, including trams and buses).

The other way to go is on the back of the hotel -- exit the hotel front door and turn left onto a little street, then turn left on that street and follow it as it takes you to a train station -- you'll walk along the tracks as if to nowhere and then you'll get to a place to cross under the tracks to the front of the station, where there are several buses. You can take bus 7 or 173 and this bus will take you to Ferenciek Ter, right on the Pest side of the Erszebet Bridge, and there is a Metro there. Coming back to the hotel from that station, make sure you take the "GY" version of the numbers, as those are the express buses that will take you back to the station.

  • Liked — Convenience to public transportation, decent shower
  • Disliked — Queen size bed not available for a non-smoking room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2008

Stayed 3 nights. Very basic, clean and quiet facilities. The main issue is the location - it is in the middle of nowhere! However once you have sussed public transport you're ok. One bus (15 mins) and then the metro (4 stops) and you are in the middle of the city (Pest side). Highly recommend the Budapest card. No facilities nearby so have dinner in town before heading home. Breakfast was extremely basic and nothing to write home about, and the one thing I still can't figure out was that the bed sheets on both single beds wouldn't cover the mattress at the top end. Front desk staff were helpful. However if you can find a room in the city you may enjoy Budapest more.

  • Liked — Was only hotel available at short notice, quiet.
  • Disliked — Location and no dinner facilities there or nearby (not even a corner shop)
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_content
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2008

I stayed for 5 nights during Nov 07 at £16.75 per night (discounted through work). It's an average hotel where the staff don't smile a lot but do a lot of observing at breakfast times. My room (a twin) was clean, with no complaints about the bedding. Wien is right on one of the main motorways and you can hear the traffic roar at night, could be disturbing for some. Had the usual TV and fridge. Fridge is checked daily, no messing! Affable receptionist and helpful although he refused to telephone for a taxi for me as the company I wanted to use (I had vouchers) wasn't one the hotel normally used. You'd be lucky to get into the city centre in 10 minutes, as quoted, as the motorway gets horrendously jammed with traffic at peak hours and very busy off peak.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank toothboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Villa Korall
#140 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pension Helios
#96 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#84 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wien

Property: Hotel Wien
Address: Budaoersi ut 88-90, Budapest 1118, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The air-conditioned and renewed hotel is situated next to the access section of M1-M7 highways, 10 minutes away from the city centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wien Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing