We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad”
Review of Hotel Griff Junior

Hotel Griff Junior
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Griff Junior
Ranked #276 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not so bad”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

- 5 stops by tram to city centre
- low prices
- empty room with clean bed
- shared but clean showers
- acceptable breakfasts (except disgusting coffe)
- wifi connection in a lobby
You will get what you pay for. For few nights acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Proxima_Centauri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    11
    3
    12
See reviews for
3
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

we had already stayed in the part of Budapest with all the attractions so it didn't bother us that the hotel was out of the way. It is a hour and a half walk and 12 minute tram ride. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable clean and spacious. Very quiet at night - no street noise. They served a basic breakfast in the morning. the shared bathrooms were a bit rough. Three out of five showers did not have shower heads and some of the locks on the toilet doors did not work properly. A nice place to stay overall but a little rough around the edges.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen37_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This place is so cheap that you can't really complain about the quality. You can't expect much for $20 a night. The location is great, 45 minute walk to the centre of town or quick tram ride. I parked my motorcycle for free just outside the front door which was great. The negatives are that the wifi didn't work in the rooms, the whole place is kind of dirty. the beds aren't very comfortable and the washrooms are terrible.

Room Tip: Different hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is 10 minutes away from the center of Budapest, by public transport. The staff is polite and the private bathrooms were okay. In the room, there was a fridge and a TV (with only CNN though, the rest was in Hungarian). The beddings were okay, although there were some light traces of uncleanness. Notice that there were some flies around the room lights but they didn't bother us so that wasn't a disturbance. Breakfast is simple with coffee, some bread and jam. No lounge room or bar in the hotel (just some sofas with wifi access). It's not 100% clean, but it was definitely worth its price cos that is really cheap. If you're not too demanding and like cheap things, thats a good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Honestly, I am not one to use tripadvisor a lot but THIS is worth writing about...
Simply don't step foot in here! I was with two of my friends, it was cheap so we thought we deserve a real bed and comfort after a 7 day festival! We walked in to reception to be greeted by a little man! We started the check in process, and after he looked at us as if to say...any thing else? but didn't!! we had to ask where the rooms were and can we have a key!! to which he said, 'yes the weather is nice today!' so we repeated ourselves, 'where are the rooms and could we have our key please?' to which he replied 'ahhh yes, they are clean!' WHAT!! haha. We eventually got there, walked in and jaws dropped! A list shall be made!
Pubic and head hair on the walls and in the bed
Lumps (we thought dead animals as I don't think rats would survive a night here) in the bed
Stains on the bed
Walls glued together with chewing gum
A ridiculous attempt of a bathroom
Double glazing consisting of literally two window (large enough to simply jump out of as I think life would be better all mangled up on the floor 4 floors down!)
Dirty floors, ceilings and walls
Some sort of bloodish orange colour stain on the wall
As you can probably tell, we soon left. The location is awful, theres nothing around without getting a tram or taxi. Literally checked in, and checked out 2 hours later. All he said was 'oh, ok, sorry.' Not even offering a refund, which in all fairness ain't worth getting back the £6 per night price! So we got a taxi and went to BO18 Hotel in the centre.....ohhh my gollies....now THATS where you want to go, it was a 3 star but compared to this, it was a 6*!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Simply don't book here!!! There's soo many better places nearer and in the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stebobshewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

bordeaux
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Breaking a rule here but paid 12 euro a night for this place so all comments must be accepted in this light.fine check in-wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised by my big room with large window.just a sink but the toilet and shower was fine down the corridor.kinda nice to be about out of town but tram stops just outside the door.tescos across the road.bar to the left does good beer for 1.20 a pint.feel like you are in local Budapest.basic hotel but fine airy , plenty of space.
Breakfast was okay.
Clothes washing/drying facilities available too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BordeauxHerzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as the neighbouring hotel (griff) was fully booked.
The hotel looks like it used to be a hospital and the rooms look typical back packer style. Ok if you want basic accomodaton ,2 desks , 3 single beds and a sink, and a shared shower/toilet.
It's just such a shame there is no tv in the room,as it would make it more homely.having said that its great value for money if you just want a bed for the night,wifi internet in the hotel lobby.
I must say all the staff were excellent.spoke great English and very helpful and knowledgeable, the only let down is the decor of the hotel.it needs to be painted cheerful colours and not just a dull white.
The breakfast is very basic.bread,jam and ham,tea and coffee.
The bar lady /resturant manager "briggy" was fantastic.I was the only one in the bar and felt a bit sad/down. But briggy lifted my spirits with her wonderful personality,it was amazing how she listened to my problems and was so understanding.briggy was wonderful at her job and very professional.I met some interesting people here and would probably book again one day.many thanks to all the staff for making my stay enjoyable

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnsmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 334 in Budapest
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
1,009 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
#26 of 657 in Budapest
213 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#65 of 334 in Budapest
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griff Junior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griff Junior

Property: Hotel Griff Junior
Address: Bartok Bela ut 152, Budapest 1115, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Griff Junior 1*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Griff Junior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griff Junior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing