We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terriblr breakfast...”
Review of Hotel Ventura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ventura
Ranked #262 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 26 August 2007

Hotel Ventura is cheap, that's ok, but the rooms are not very clean (mind the carpets!!!) and the staff was unfriendly, in general they spoke english but they answered you just with a few words, "yes" or "no" without more explaining, especially the two ladies at reception. We asked for laundry service and one of them repetead "no, no, no" even if it is included...
We have to insist!!
But the thing I didn't suffer was breakfast!
The quality of breakfast is terrible, glasses wasn't clean, the fruit wasn't good, watermelon put together with onions and other vegetables, you can't eat those plums, acid inside.
They should present eggs in another way, it's not very hygienic!!
Bread was old and on the tables there was always a lot of disorder. Croissants and sweets totally miss, just marmelades.
I drank some apple juice, but the container was full of detersive!!!
From ventura the center is easy to reach, just 10 minutes by tram.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eve27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ventura
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2006

I had the great misfortune of booking into this hotel recently. Although a cheap hotel, the serivce was amongst the very worst I have encountered. The desk and restaurant staff were rude and the rooms poorly serviced.

There is a great difference between 'cheap and cheerful' and 'cheap and dingy'. Without doubt this 'establishment' falls into the latter category.

Beware!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellersfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2006

Hotel Ventura is clean and the price was very reasonable. Myself and 11 others stayed here over the Easter weekend of 2006. The staff were very helpful, with the exception of the night doorman (2 girl thieves got into the hotel when we entered in the early hours of the morning, he just was not bothered one bit - I had to chase them) and also the female receptionist (I had to really badger her to get the chambermaid to iron a shirt for me). The rooms are basic but, as I said, clean and functional. The breakfast wasn't so crash hot, in fact it was a bit strange.

Just a quick note anout the city - we went to a lapdancing club (sorry to have to admit it) but didn't take any dances or anything. The manageress then promply presented me and my 3 friends with a bill for over £500 (apparently it said on the outside of the club that the first drinks would be this price. Yeah, right) and they effectively held 2 of us hostage while the other 2 had to go with the manageress to the ATM. The hired gorillas made it clear that there were no other options. Be careful - DON'T go lapdancing in Budapest at all, there is a very serious mafia undertone running through this city, as nice at it might appear.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tom_teaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2006

Hotel Ventura is in a good location on the Fehervari, one of the wide arterial roads leading to the centre of Budapest. The trams and buses stop almost in front of the hotel; and that is a very useful facility for people with walking difficulties. There's no walking around side streets to get to the trams.

The hotel itself is good value for money for the budget-conscious traveller. If I had realised what good value it was, I'd have booked a longer stay. The bedrooms are modest, plain, without any pretentious frills, but clean, well-looked-after, comfortable, and very generous for size. My room (actually a 3-bedder) had a little vestibule/ante-room arrangement which provided storage space for cases etc. and access to the shower-toilet. Another doorway led to the spacious bedroom, which had a satellite TV, a fridge and a telephone.

The breakfasts were very good, varied and generous, with a good, wide selection of both hot and cold buffets. The dining-room is large, bright and pleasant, which also serves very good evening meals.

There is a small garden behind the hotel, with chairs and tables for summery weather; but we were never actually in it, and no-one else was using when we were there. The reception area has a small bar in it, and some comfortable chairs-and table seating, along with a little room for "left luggage" on the day you vacate your room.

The reception staff speak good English and are very helpful in telling you about places to visit, exhibitions to see, and which numbers of trams or buses to take to get there. They can also help correct your pronunciation of basic Hungarian words.
You will find that the lower-level staff don't speak English, but some speak a little bit of German.

If you like evening coffee and snacks in your bedroom, you will have to take your own electric kettle and cups etc. as these are not provided. But if you buy ready-to-eat sausage outside, you can easily store it the fridge.

There is a nice, little, Hungarian-food restautant just a little way up the road from the hotel, and it's not expensive. Very useful, if there's an evening when you can't get into the hotel restaurant because of a private function taking place in it.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank zenobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank Éva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tomosalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Vladana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
6.1 mi away
Hotel Lucky
Hotel Lucky
#255 of 333 in Budapest
57 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Walzer
Hotel Walzer
#191 of 333 in Budapest
43 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Bobbio
Hotel Bobbio
#178 of 333 in Budapest
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Budai Hotel
Budai Hotel
#179 of 333 in Budapest
40 reviews
8.0 mi away
Vitta Hotel Superior Budapest
Vitta Hotel Superior Budapest
#185 of 333 in Budapest
105 reviews
4.7 mi away
Expo Congress Hotel
Expo Congress Hotel
#100 of 333 in Budapest
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ventura

Address: Fehervari ut 179, Budapest 1119, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £35 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ventura 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventura Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing