We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a 3 star”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #153 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The hotel was in a good location, just 2 mins away from the main station, 15 mins walk to the city centre and main sights like the Margarite Island, Parliament, Opera..etc. Near to eateries and shops.
They gave us a firm double bed and a single bed as well for the 2 of us, and very clean sheets and toilet was excellent with working showers and hairdryer. Remember to bring your own toothbrush and paste. Only downside was we arrived with the weather at 37degrees and there was no air-conditioning! Thoroughly recommend this hotel for a budget.
Breakfast was good and no food poisoning, clean spread daily. Coffee was excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lydiaong7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

The room we stayed in was very clean, spacious and comfortable enough. Bathroom was also very clean, with a good shower and hairdrier. There's no air conditioning, but windows can easily be opened to get some fresh air. Loved coffee/tea making facilities in the room. I've seen people complain about breakfast in this hotel, but I don't agree with them. It was simple, nothing fancy, but for a small three star hotel, breakfast spread was very good. The staff was polite and very friendly. Location is not central, but there's a train/metro station 2 min away and you can easily get wherever you want. The city center is 15-20 min on foot. The only negative side was that one night we had to wait for 15 min to enter the hotel, but it happened only once and there was only one receptionist there at the time so it wasn't such a problem. All in all, it was good value for money, we enjoyed our stay in Budapest and would probably choose the same hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivek090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The staff at the Metro were really friendly and very helpful, when advising on nearby attractions and directions. They were really warm and friendly and always keen to help. The room was very big, with a lovely bathroom with large spa style tub and separate shower.
My biggest complaint of the hotel ws a faulty hairdryer which had sparks shooting out of the base, whenever we tried to use it. We did report it to reception and were unable to get it fixed for the duration of our stay (4 days), which was a bit of a nuisance.

We did get a very good deal on the hotel so I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaziaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel in a standard room, which was very clean, spacicous and with comfy bed. I appreciate very helpful and nice staff as well as convenient location close to train station

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vendy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The hotel location near Nyugati train station made us consider this hotel in the first place. The staff was very friendly, professional and helpful. The hotel had a nice ambiance. The room was spacious and clean with comfortable bed and a lot of storage space. Bathroom was clean and spacious.

The breakfast spread was the only weak point of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kshanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed there for two nights via a local Groupon clone offer. Got a welcome drink, a picnic bag each day and free parking. The furniture might have been a bit worn and the rooms pretty basic, but with a low price tag, it was a better than what we expected. They also set up a bed for our tiny one, which was thoughtful of them as we didn't request it specifically.
The location couldn't be better, really, and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

We're definitely going to stay there again if we ever come back to Budapest.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svajger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

good price. the most important thing i like in the hotel is very helpful n friendly staff.
good location to reach transportation.
i say thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fajar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#98 of 336 in Budapest
208 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#114 of 336 in Budapest
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#131 of 336 in Budapest
706 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#43 of 336 in Budapest
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: Kresz Geza utca 1, Budapest 1132, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £30 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metro***The family atmosphere Hotel Metro*** located in the downtown of Budapest, has re-opened its doors in 2009 for the Guests.The refurbished hotel is located next to the WestEnd City Center and the Nyugati Railway Station in a quite side-street. The hotel offers 17 non-smoking rooms, a Superior room equipped with corner tub and infra sauna, and 2 apartments, providing pleasant environment both for tourists and for those on a business trip.All of the hotel rooms provide comfort and recreation for our Guests, as all are equipped with television, mini-bar, water kattle and tea, free WIFI service and a large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing