We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a Visit For Liszt Aficionados” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liszt Ferenc Memorial Museum (Liszt Ferenc Emlekmuzeum)

Liszt Ferenc Memorial Museum (Liszt Ferenc Emlekmuzeum)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.68*
and up
Budapest Card
Ranked #107 of 438 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit For Liszt Aficionados”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Liszt Ferenc Memorial Museum (Liszt Ferenc Emlekmuzeum) is definitely worth a visit for Liszt scholars, devotees and music lovers. It is comprised of three small rooms that were once Liszt's home in Budapest. We bought the Audio Guide and would have felt a bit lost had we not. You really need to take the Audio Guide if you want to know what you're looking at in this museum. You have to pay extra for everything here. If you want to take a picture, there is a special rate for that over and above the cost of admission and the cost of the Audio Guide. Truth to tell, we felt they were nickel-and-diming us a bit... and they don't even have nickels and dimes in Hungary. Be warned... there is no place to sit down in any of the tree rooms, and our dogs got pretty tired. Still, we were glad we came.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    47
    18
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“For music lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

This is a small, specialized museum in the apartment of Ferenc (Franz) Liszt. There is a very good audio guide, explaining the furnishings, musical instruments, and some history of his life and music.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank abdtNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Small but fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Any one interested in the life and times of Franz Liszt will be fascinated by this small museum. The 3 rooms comprised Liszt's accommodation in Budapest and efforts have been made to make at least one of the rooms like it was in his lifetime. If I had not paid the extra £2 for the audio guide I probably would have been out in 15 - 20 minutes. As it was I stayed almost an hour and a half. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
369 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Expected a bit more info”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

It is not a big museum, which wouldn't be a problem, since it is the house of a composer you are visiting, but it could use a bit of trimming... There is a lot to see, but you have to take the Audio guide to obtain information about the objects in the room and the history of mr. Liszt. The entrance fee was okay-ish...IF you get more infomation in the museum. The entrance fee is discounted with the Budapest card but the audio guide isn't so, you end up paying as much for entrance as for audioguide... too bad!

I would have loved to hear music by Liszt in the background, while visiting the museum and would have loved a leaflet about the life and background of the composer to make it more lively. Not all Hungarian texts are translated in English, so there is something to gain in information distribution.
Still, I loved the ambiance the fantastic objects. (the sign at the the first room telling us when people can make an appointment with mr. Liszt is great!)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank seolram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

When one come upstairs into the house that Liszt used for composing and teaching it feels quite warm and homely, due to the domestic furnishings. Nice to see his pianos, and the award document from Kaiser Wilhelm. However there are really only two rooms( plus an entrance lobby). Perhaps needs some discrete background music, but the hum of traffic from the busy street outside brings a realistic touch

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireSneezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liszt Ferenc Memorial Museum (Liszt Ferenc Emlekmuzeum) also viewed

 

Been to Liszt Ferenc Memorial Museum (Liszt Ferenc Emlekmuzeum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing