We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World-class meeting venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Budapest City
Ranked #56 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a two-day business meeting at this property last week and the service and faciliaties were as good, if no better, than most I encounter in the US. The staff was excellent at trying to anticipate our requirements and every request was met with a "yes", a smile and speed. The guest rooms are comfortable and very quiet and they have the best Hilton Executive Club I've used.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigi206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very positive feedback regarding our service and meeting facilities you experienced during your stay. Great to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and Executive Lounge. We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next business or private trip to Budapest!
Best regards,
Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,216 - 1,222 of 2,007 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

The hotel was excellent!!! nice staff,lovely and clean rooms, very good location, a great shopping center with many stores and restaurants and even a supermarket all right next door. You can even enter the westend mall from the hotel itself -a great thing for last minute shopping:) The Hilton Budapest westend is a modern style hotel with all the luxurious gadgets you can expect. I didn't use WiFi because it was too expensive, but I think there's free wifi in the lobby -I like the Internet and all, but sometimes if you're on a leisure stay it's nice to cut back from it all and that's exactly what I did. The breakfast buffet was very good and the food was fresh and there was always a variety of options to choose from.The staff at the restaurant fulfilled all our requests that sometimes involved a nice special omelet or a hot chocolate milk and they were always smiling and welcoming any with all our special requests.
Alexandra at the reception checked us in before the official check-in which was wonderful given the fact we were on a plane all night and got to the hotel at pretty sleepy at the early hours of the morning.There was a very nice bell boy name Butond who was very friendly, nice and welcoming with some local delicious rolls of some sort and he even suprised us with some Hebrew while I only knew one word in Hungarian which was Thank you : "Kozznom" (hope that's how they spell it).

One staff member I would really like to acknowledge is szabone hope they spell it like that :) who works in reception and really went the extra mile with everything and even helped us organize the jewish blessing of "shabbat" in the executive lounge. In the executive lounge Victoria was very nice and helped all our needs and even offered to stay and enjoy the view. The fitness center has a very nice view so it's pretty nice to work out with a panormic view and even if you don't plan to swat it out during your stay it's worth the look. It's importat to mention that even in a case of a faulty towl in our room we got a very good service and a big apology and there was also a nice discount on our late check out. Overall it was a very nice stay in this hotel and you won't regret staying here the service was good and the beds are just the best I slept like a baby. No swimming pool is a con in a 5 star hotel, but you know you can't win it all:)

Room Tip: Tip: Don't miss out on a boat tour on the Danube it's really amazing to see both sides of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Li m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your excellent experience at our hotel, we are glad to hear that your stay turned into such an unforgettable one. Thank you for your praising words regarding the special care and attention of my team, I will forward it to them in person. Should you ever return to Budapest, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again!
Sincerely yours,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stay here quite regularly and I quite like this Hilton, the staff are lovely and because I'm a Hilton gold member they always do their best to upgrade me. I think the interior lets the hotel down and the food is fairly dreadful - particularly the room service menu. I really, really like the service they give though - I always get a complimentary little bottle of wine, water and a dessert delivered to my room on the first night - this is a really nice touch. The suites I've stayed in have been quite nice as well. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. (Hilton beds are the best ever!) I just think the decor and food let the hotel down and that you can get much better value for the same money in Budapest. I think it's more like a high 3 star hotel than a 5 star. Also, most 5* hotels have spas and pools - this has neither. The main reason I stay is to accumulate hilton points :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to write. We are glad to hear that you always enjoy the upgraded rooms and suites with our comfortable beds, as well as the special care and benefits as a regular guest of us. We are happy to inform you that we will change this summer our In Room Dining Menu, so soon you can enjoy a much more wider selection of meals soon. We are constantly improving our services, and are planning this year a soft refurbishment of our Fitness Centre and Sauna as well. Looking forward to welcome you soon again!

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

As expected the hotel is very good - very pleasant staff, very good room and breakfast. Not as central as I would have liked and next to a railway station with quite a few homeless people hanging around - not the kind of location where you would look for a restaurant in the evening. The cafeteria has only a limited choice of food and none in the evening I believe. The hotel restaurant is good but a pricey option.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederique_Luce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your praising words regarding our staff. We are actually offering soups, salads, sandwiches in our Zita Café & Terrace until 23:00pm, so your are more than welcomed next time to try. Being in the business district our hotel is located in a safe area, the metro station is next door, with easy access to city centre. Hope to see you again soon at our hotel!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here over the Easter weekend - the hotel is clean and modern and the staff are probably the friendliest that I have met in any hotel. A small problem with the in-room safe was resolved in minutes and the service in the bar and restaurant was first-class in every instance.

The hotel is in a great location for sightseeing with Parliament a 10 to 15 minute walk away. It backs onto a huge shopping center with a cinema (films in English are marked 'F') and it is possible to walk straight in to it from the lobby. The train station connecting to the airport is also less than 5 minutes walk away.

In contrast to the room prices the prices for food and drink are in line with a standard Hilton anywhere else in the world - i.e. expensive compared to local prices. However the food and drink offered are of a very high standard and there is a terrace where it is possible to sit outside with heat lamps.

Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out onto the front of the hotel - rooms at the rear will face the train stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We were happy to hear that you had such a great time at our hotel during Easter. Thank you for your recommendations regarding our good connection to shopping mall, our friendly staff and delicous meals. We hope you gonna return to us in the near future!

Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed in the hotel for three nights in April. We were very satisfied during the whole stay. The room we stayed in was large and modern, the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very nice with huge varieties and the staff was very professional and helpful. We cannot say anything negative about the hotel. We enjoyed the stay. The location is nice as well. We walked everywhere and connection to the mall is just a big plus. We will come back when next time in Budapest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kleopetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Traveller,
Thank you for your praising words. Should your travel bring you back to Budapest in the future, my team and I would be delighted if you choose our hotel again to be your "home away from home".

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed with my better half a long weekend in Budapest (Thu-Sun) in late March. Hotel Hilton Westend was a very pleasant experiense. Our room was excellent and special thanks to friendly staff who were kind enough to give us an upgrade from our originally selected room class. Our room was very spacious, clean and quiet offering very good night sleeps. Hotel gym was excellent, and it can actually be compared to any commercial gyms.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel, but we used the inside room coffee making possibility instead.
When you are in Budapest keep in mind that distances are rather long. It is not very easy to walk around from Buda to Pest unless you are an expert in that excercise. Luckily right next to the hotel there is a Metro entrance and 150m away also a Tram stop. Local metro is very good, well connected with buses and trams, so getting around is easy and fast. Just remember to buy e.g. a fixed ticket for your stay, because the metro ticket officers are VERY efficient and they do check the tickets literally at every station, so do not try to cheat... :)
We bought during arrival from the airport Budapest cards for 3 days costing 30€ each, including all public transportation with no limitations, and including some free museum visits also.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jouni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Traveller,
Thank you taking your time to write about the nice long weekend spent at our hotel. It was a pleasure for us to hear that you have been very satisfied with our good location, spacious room and our fitness centre. We look forward to welcome you anytime you plan to return to our lovely capital!
Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#14 of 334 in Budapest
4,291 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,440 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest City

Address: Vaci ut 1-3, Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Budapest
#41 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#42 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#44 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £88 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest City 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel located within the West End city center complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest Westend Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing