We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Budapest City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Budapest City
Ranked #49 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great service and Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

As a Diamond member we were upgraded to a suite. The room was contemporary with a great marble bathroom. There was a bottle of champagne provided in the room on arrival. The executive was light and airy with an outside terrace. The staff were friendly and made us feel special. We were apprehensive about the area having read that some undesirables had been seen nearby but we sat having drinks in the hotel bar outside the front of the hotel and we didn't see anything like this. It is a busy area, close to a rail station and by a very modern shopping centre with cafes, a cinema and shops. It is about a 20 minute walk to the centre but it is only a 5 minute walk to the trams. The hotel have a list of recommended restaurants. They made a reservation for us and we used the hotel taxis. We had a great night with superb food accompanied by gypsy music. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your stay at Hilton Budapest WestEnd. I am delighted to hear, that you enjoyed the Suite, the welcome champagne, and all the services you received, in particular the special care and attention of my staff. I am also happy to see, that you will be returning to us next time you are in Budapest. This is the best feedback we can get. We are looking forward to the pleasure to welcome you again!
Kind regards,
Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    710
    176
    37
    22
See reviews for
208
678
107
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canadian living in Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel and was greeted by friendly staff. Quickly went off the rails after that as there was a problem with the reservation. Still not sure who to penalize - Expedia or Hilton so I won't unfairly malign the Hilton staff. However, they could have managed it better other than putting us to the side for 15 minutes instead of checking us in and figuring it out as we went along. They were nice about it, just poor process. Even during writing this review I'm debating the extent I should penalize them for the error. The staff were genuinely nice to us though so it's tough to get too Rambo on them.

The hotel was in a decent, not great, location. Plus side, beside a mall with lots of amenities, beside metro, and train station. Down side, metro ride or 10 to 15 minute walk to the areas you would likely want to visit/eat. Although their are lots of cafes and restaurants in the area.

The room we had was a good size for Europe. Comfortable beds (firmish) and soft pillows (my preference, not my wife's - doh). The shower pressure was on the low side of average. According to the MacDonald Chesthair Movement Scale (copyright pending) the shower pressure could move my chest hairs, but not by much. 4/10. If you purchase the Internet access, which is not cheap (€20 per day), you will be impressed by the speed. FYI, I'm hard to impress in this regard. Other than that, pretty standard room.

We didn't have the room service while we were there but we did have the breakfast buffet. It is on the expensive side for what you get (€18 per person). However, it is a reasonable selection of cereals, bread, fruits, eggs, and sausage. The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.

We paid what we thought was a reasonable price per night (US$180) so based on that number we walked away thinking the hotel was good. I would be hard pressed to pay too much more and say the same based on other alternatives in the city.

If you decide to go, Budapest is lovely.

Safe travels.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words regarding our good location close to the mall and metro station, as well as our comfortable rooms and beds. We are sorry to keep you waiting at check in, but as the booking has not made directly with the hotel, it took for us a bit time for us to get in touch with Expedia and solve the problem. We are glad that you liked our buffet breakfast selection and friendly staff, moreover, we offer breakfast a’ la carte at medium price range in the restaurant, or coffee with Panini or croissants in our Lobby Café as well. Also thank you for your comments regarding the internet, please feel free to use free WIFI in our Zita Café & Lobby next time.
We are glad that you enjoyed you stay and would be happy to welcome you again once you decide to travel to the lovely Budapest!

Sincerely yours,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in May 2012. It is a lovely hotel and we were luckily upgraded which was a lovely surprise. The hotel is part of a shopping centre so you have access from the road and the shopping centre into the hotel. It is also right next to a train station which takes you direct to the airport so its in a great location. The hotel is as you would expect from a hilton, very clean and tidy and the rooms are well looked after. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in walking distance and the main sights and attractions are also within walking distance. Overall a great base for a long weekend sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest,
I appreciate taking the time to share your experience from your stay at our hotel. I am delighted to hear, that you enjoyed the services you received, and in particular the upgraded room. We would love to welcome you again, when returning to a second long weekend to Budapest!
Kind regards,

Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

It may not have views over the Danube but it does have excellent friendly staff and nice rooms. The breakfast selection is very good and the bar has an outside seating area covered and heated when needed. Not too far to walk to the city centre and loads of interesting bars and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgersFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Traveller,
Thank you for your time to write a feedback on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay and liked the Terrace of our Zita Café and our breakfast sortiment. We are looking forward welcoming back soon again!
Kind regards,
Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel in April. The location is perfect - next to the train station, very convenient connection to the airport. The room was clean and spacious with flat TV, the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom had a bathtub and separate shower, but no bidet, I really liked the bath cosmetic! Our room was with a view over Vaci ut - little noisy, but it wasn't a big problem. The breakfast was fabulous - everything for english breakfast; cereals; different cheeses; ham; salmon; a good choice from fruits, juices, champagne... The staff was very helpfull, quick check - in and check - out. I would definitely staying again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zany_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for recommending our hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a faboulos stay, and enjoyed our large rooms, and the wide selection of our breakfast. Thank you for your praising words regarding our good connection to the airport, and the superb service of my team! This is the best comment we can get!
We are looking forward to welcome you next time!

Kind regards,
Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed here for three nights during our recent trip to central Europe. The hotel was clean and the rooms were large and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast service. A positive was that it is located right next to a mall with many stores, shops & restaurants. The down side is that is a located a little far away from the major tourist attractions, resulting either in a lot of walking or taking the metro which is located right next to the hotel....Take a good city map with you either way. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrwamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest,
I am glad to here that you had a great minibreak in May in our lovely capital! Thank you for expressing your satisfaction about our buffet breakfast, good location next to the shopping mall and metro station, which enables you to get to the city centre in 5 minutes. We hope to see you again while returning to Budapest!
Kind regards,
Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

The hotel was excellent!!! nice staff,lovely and clean rooms,
very good location, a great shopping center with many stores and restaurants and even a supermarket all right next door.
The breakfast buffet was very good and the food was fresh and there was always a variety of options to choose from.
Overall it was a very nice stay in this hotel and you won't regret staying here the service was good and the beds are just the best I slept like a baby.
No swimming pool is a con in a 5 star hotel

Room Tip: if u can pay- GO FOR IT !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janthomsen_hilton, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Traveller,
I am glad to hear you had a great stay, enjoyed our comfortable & large beds, and the wide selection of our fresh breakfast buffet! Thank you for your nice comments and recommendations!
Kind regards,
Jan Ebsen Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,923 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#22 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,176 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest City

Property: Hilton Budapest City
Address: Vaci ut 1-3, Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Budapest
#37 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#41 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#44 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest City 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel located within the West End city center complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest Westend Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing