We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with convenient public transport links”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Budapest City
Ranked #55 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Modern hotel with convenient public transport links”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Although not located within walking distance of the tourist sites, the Westend Hilton is nonetheless convenient provided you are willing to use public transport. The hotel opens into a modern shopping mall with direct access to a metro station and a light rail station is a few minutes walk away.

The room was modern and clean with a comfortable bed. The shower door though was poorly designed and water would seap underneath and wet the floor.

Breakfast as a Diamond member was only available in the lounge and not the restaurant but the lounge offering was good with scrambled/boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, fruits and cereals.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonTravelator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write feedback on this website.

We were delighted to read that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are pleased to read your feedback regarding the room and the Executive Lounge.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards,
Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    761
    198
    47
    27
See reviews for
228
744
115
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the hilton city and were perfectly satisfied. It is one of the new hiltons, very comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff generously gave us a large suite which was very nice. We liked the executive club - offers a nice breakfast and tasty appetizers in the evening. The location is convenient with easy access to the city's key attractions.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I cannot thank you enough for your kind comments on Tipradvisor.

I was delighted to read that you found our Executive Lounge facilities comfortable and nice. It was particularly pleasing to see that your impression of our staff and service was good.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Hilton Budapest City.

Kind regards,
Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a smaller hotel but clean with very friendly staff. It is very central and close to
the metro. We used the metro every day to get to and from the market place and main
shopping streets. The hotel is attached to a very large shopping mall.
Wifi was free for gold members.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a junior suite and it was very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindamaebda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit.

We at Hilton Budapest City take pleasure in creating moments of magic for our guests. I am pleased that we were able to do so for you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

As with most chains, you pretty much know what you will find and the West End generally meets expectation. We stayed there because it was next to the rail station and we were arriving and departing by train. Unfortunately it is next to Nyugati Station and our trains used Keleti, so we had to taxi across town. The airport express trains run to Nyugati so the hotel is well located for linking air travellers as it adjoins the station. Not that Hilton users need to know, you can get to the Metro, trams and trolleys, in many cases without going outdoors. The West End is a shopping mall with even a Marks and Sparks and there is an entry into the hotel foyer.
The room itself is up to Hilton standard, though with a couple of minor slip ups. Finding the tissue box had only one tissue was bad news for the hay fever sufferer, the shower door seals let water flood the bathroom floor. On this trip, it was the only one of over 10 hotels not to offer free wifi in the rooms, there is 24 hours of free access if you are happy to work in the foyer, after that, you pay. I think €9 for 24 hours to check emails is a bit steep, have coffee nearby, most cafés have free wifi. Don't disturb the minibar, it has sensors, what you touch, you get billed for.

Room Tip: Probably quieter round the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chase_Mollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Budapest City.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this for yourself.

Kind regards,
Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel lacks any charm, although perhaps we should not have excepted that from a Hilton. The staff was rather curt, especially one of the receptionists at check out (whose name we forgot). When asking her about the best way to reach the train station, she snapped "WE HAVE SEVERAL. WHICH TRAIN STATION. I NEED TO KNOW WHICH", although her colleague that morning knew right away which one we were talking about when we mentioned our international travel to Austria. The rooms were alright, although hot and stuffy. We personally did not find the location very good, as we couldn't walk to any interesting places. Although just one or two metro rides away, it was more of a hassle and less charming to have to go underground each time, and not being able to quickly change or rest during the day, as the hotel was too far off center.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orvieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear review Writer,

Thank you very much for shearing your experience at Hilton Budapest City on Tripadvisor. I regret to read that our hotel did not meet you expectations. Thank you very much for your comments regarding our staff manner. Please accept my apologies for the attitude of the Front Desk attendant and rest assured that we have taken the necessary steps to improve in this area, with immediate effect.

I truly hope we will have a second chance in the future to regain your confidence.

Best regards,
Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Over all the Hilton in Budapest was a good hotel. There were a few puzzling things.
Poor internet service in the lobby and no free internet service in rooms.
The breakfast was good but had much better breakfasts and better varieties in other hotels in Prague and Vienna. As I said expected a bit more from a Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shagha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your review posted here. I’m pleased that you were generally satisfied with the service and facilities you experienced during your stay. Thank you very much for your comments with regards to the internet and breakfast. It is only our visitors opinion, through which we can evaluate our work and develop service for the complete satisfaction of our guests. Please accept my apology if you felt that our service did not meet you expectations.

I do hope that we will have another chance in the future to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kindest regards,
Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was my 3rd stay at the Hilton City Center, also known as Hilton West End Hotel as it is near to the West End Mall. The location is convenient, the big mall is accessable direct from the hotel and you can easily walk into the Pest side of the city with restaurant and bars nearby.
the rooms are convenient, they are kept clean and tidy which is a plus. the beds are comfy. each room has standard airconditioning and the TV channel selection is just as terrible as in any other business hotel. why do hotels always think that they only think you want to watch is all the news channels. entertain me! put sports on and shows, and series.. dont put these behind a pay per view thing like you do with movies, which you can download for free anyway. but do that at home cause wifi comes at a cost. In this day and age, wifi should be free. you pay EUR100 per night easily for hotelrooms, why charge me with something that is a service? you want to lock it up with a passcode per 24 hours? great, I will happily go to the reception desk each day to get a code. Especially with this reception desk as these are really swift and friendly people who will help you out day and night.
why only the average review? this hotel is lacking a bit of color. its pretty dull and nice and easy. even the breakfast is. nothing really special, nothing to stand out for except clean rooms and staff. the bar downstairs is expensive for Budapest standards although the food is good. Everything is convenient but this hotel doesnt stand out. Will i go again? Certainly. Should you go? yes you should if you like calm, fast, clean, boring TV, easy breakfast, good location and you dont mind to pay for wifi.

Room Tip: go for rooms on the side of the elevators.. there are a bit bigger and isnt a long hallway, so you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainerG, General Manager at Hilton Budapest City, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit.

I was delighted to read that you have had another positive visit at Hilton Budapest City.

I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed not to have all information about our internet and television service. We do provide free internet in our Lobby, Zita Café and Arrabona Restaurant. In the rooms we provide almost fifty international channels including movie, news , sport and entertainment.

I do hope that despite your disappointment on this, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Warm regards,

Rainer Gieringer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,172 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
2,949 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 334 in Budapest
3,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest City

Property: Hilton Budapest City
Address: Vaci ut 1-3, Budapest 1062, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Budapest
#41 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#41 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#44 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest City 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Hotel located within the West End city center complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest Westend Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing