We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable”
Review of Rudas Baths

Rudas Baths
Book In Advance
More Info
US$248.65*
and up
The Hungarian Soul Tour from Budapest
More Info
US$28.69*
and up
Budapest Bike Tour
More Info
US$22.71*
and up
Budapest Card
Ranked #5 of 118 Spas & Wellness in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This thermal bath, built by the Turks in 1566, retains a strong Islamic style.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I had a great time here - I'm not a fan of spas as I tend to get bored, but these baths were excellent.

The check-in was a little unclear and the lady who sold us the tickets was rude. We went for the baths-only option. Towels cost a bit extra. Price is reasonable.

The cabin system is complex; you are given a watch-like magnetic key, which you then swipe on a wall panel which then allocates you a cabin. There are no changing rooms that I saw, so we had to wait 20 minutes for a cabin to be available (with a beer, at the bar I might add).

All of this was forgotten once we got into the baths. There is a large central bath and four smaller baths inside a magnificent old domed room. Sauna and steam room off the sides. It's a truly atmospheric place, especially with all the steam. We were happy to people-watch and enjoy the different baths and rooms.

Things to watch out for: refunds for towels require you to keep your ticket, keep your towel and return the towel before 8pm, else you won't get a refund!

All in all, despite the roughness around the edges when it comes to service, the baths themselves are fantastic.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dreykw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,037
    685
    196
    67
    72
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade,Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A must while in Budapest”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Having never visited a bath from Ottoman era of such a large scale before, I was determined to go this time even walking Erszebet bridge was a mission of its own as some path renovations were taking place during my visit.

Anyway, after a few hours trip to Budapest last Friday afternoon I visited Rudas, and was so pleasantly surprised. From very friendly staff, a reasonable price of 3.000 Ft for thermal ticket to all the modern facilities in a fantastic ambience from centuries back.

The place is a pure heaven... After 3 hours of steam room and bath relaxation there I felt so brand new.
Do not miss the opportunity to visit while in Budapest. You surely won't regret it!

Helpful?
3 Thank JU050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A memorable experience”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I chose Rudas bath over the more popular &bigger Szechenyi bath as Rudas was a traditional turkish bath .I went on a tuesday (males only day).The reception staff was helpful.I was given a plastic watch like device which is an electronic band.One has to check it against a reader to know your booth number & to open the booth.I left my clothing at the booth{ it was pretty safe} and was provided a loin cloth though clearly clothing is optional in the same sex days.There was plenty of nudity at the bath but there was no un comfortable stares or awkwardness .I felt comfortable in my loin cloth after a few minutes.The bath was filled with european tourist majority of which were elderly or middle aged.The central dome was beautiful with coloured sunlight lighting up the bath.The various warm pools with natural sulphur water were excellent.The facility was well maintained & the experience enjoyable.Though they do provide a sheet; carrying your own towel is recommended.There is a nice rest area after the bath where one can catch a nap & rejuvenate.The steam room was too warm for comfort.Please remember it is not a gay hook up joint.It is a a tradional turkish bath house with modern amenities.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank drkaditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Great on a good day, less so on a busy day”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Architecturally very pleasing. Weekends, though, when attendance is mixed, can be too busy for comfort. Keep in mind that if you want to visit the swimming pool, you will need a bathing cap. They sell these, but at unreasonable prices.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MastaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hammam offers an exceptional experience because of the historic building creating a special atmosphere of travelling back in time, while facilities have been modernized recently. Access is with an electronic arm band which opens the initial gate, shows the number of your booth and opens it. The booth looks absolutely secure (but still don´t keep the crown jewels there). Clothing on one-gender days is optional and a loin cloth is provided, as well as a sheet (not very good to dry off so bring your own towel as well). The central thermal bath and four different temperature side baths are a wonderful experience. There is also a steam room with varying temperatures and optional massage or scrub for an additional price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank HansCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rudas Baths also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Rudas Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing