We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only best recommendations”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Ranked #35 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only best recommendations”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

So, only best recommendations about this hotel. Modern, superb maintained, clean and convenient. Rooms well designed, microwave, two(!!) tv, safe and etc. One of the best staff that I have ever seen. Smile and helpful.
Placed in five minutes of lazy walk from Dunai riverside and in 2 minutes from Basilica. All things are great.
If I'll have a plan to visit Budapest again, then this is the place where I'll stay.
Thanks to hotel staff :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
thank you so much for the positive feedback; we are really impressed reading your kind comment - this is the best way to inspire the whole hotel staff! I will forward all of them your review :) hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    395
    56
    15
    7
See reviews for
172
545
55
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Very spacious, well maintained, comfortable modern hotel right behind the Four Seasons.
Staff is professional, friendly and SO helpful. Excellent price compared to any of the surrounding hotels in this safe and prime location. Price also includes a delicious continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
we are really delighted, that our hotel and services could meet your expectations and your holiday was great in the Hungarian capital! Looking forward to welcoming you in our Starlight Suites soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The suites are big and very well maintained. The Hotel as a whole is modern and very clean.
Chapeau to the hotel-staff - they are all extraordinarily friendly and always eager to help you.
The Hotel-Manager Kinga is polite and friendly to an extent, that I have so far never found anywhere else on my travels around the world. Usually on this level managers tend to be rather held back - not in this case: Mrs. Kinga talks to you in a friendly way and tries to help; even when it´s only with coins for the parking -machine.
This is really essential in the heart of Budapest, where there is metered parking from 8 am to 8 pm.

The Hotel is very close to the Chain-Bridge (1 min to walk) and in the middle of the government-district. We saw the Prime-Minister and his entourage twice.

The only negativ is the expensive parking-lot, that has to be paid per calender-day. So if you arrive this afternoon and leave next day, you have to pay for 2 full days.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Reinhard,
thank you so much for your nice words, especially the personal commendation - you really made my day! Such positive comments give me power to be even better and better day by day :) hope to see you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

First, the situation was nigh on perfect. If you were to choose a no expense spared, premier quality and location hotel in Budapest, then the Four Seasons Gresham Palace would be in the top three. Looking across an open piazza with grass and trees towards the Castle in Buda, and directly aligned from the entrance with the Chain Bridge, it is the perfect spot, but you only get to appreciate the situation if you have a front of house room, or when you are leaving. Just a few steps down the street to the right of the Four Seasons is this gem of a hotel.
Not quite perfect, but so close as to mean that a five star rating for a hotel of this type and price is justified. My only niggles were concerned with maintenance issues, a curtain ring was unhooked from one of the curtains in our bedroom, and the hinge pin on the freezer door of the refrigerator was broken. Nether affected the utility of the room, and, quite honestly, that was it. The rooms were huge, each roughly 7 metres by 4 metres, with an en suite bathroom off the bedroom. Both had large windows onto the street with very effective double glazing. The lounge had a kitchen area, with sink built into a granite worktop, fridge and microwave, a comfortable 2 seater settee, a low coffee table, and multi channel TV set into a polished wood floor to ceiling built in unit. The reverse of this was in the bedroom, with a second, identical TV. The lounge also had a desk area, with comfortable computer chair, the desk was provided with a lamp, power socket, and international standard internet sockets. The bedroom had a superking sized double bed, with dedside tables, on had a raised area with tall mirror and make up light, and there was more than adequate wardrobe space. Modern, clean, comfortable, and welcoming.
Reception was quickly expedited, the staff all spoke excellent English, were friendly and helpful, and seemed pleased to see us. Chambermaid service was unobtrusive and first class, fresh towels as we requested, fresh bed linen every day, and what we used from the mini bar replaced promptly. We used the mini bar on a couple of accasions, as, unlike most mini bars, the prices were competetive with the local convenience shop. Breakfast was served between 6.30 am and 11.00 am, a far longer time than I have encountered elsewhere, and the quality and variety of breads, pasties, croissant and jams, plus savouries and spreads, was such that we never felt the need for a traditional 'Full English'.
All in all, for the price we paid after a trawl of the internet I doubt better value for money could have been found, although I understand other hotels in Budapest at various levels of luxury offer similar value deals, the Kempinski for one.

Room Tip: No need, all seem very good and all get first rate reports.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
first of all thank you so much for getting back to us with a so positive and detailed review full of emotions; we are really happy that you have enjoyed your holiday here and were satisfied with the Starlight Suiten Hotel - it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you in our property soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were on a girly weekend trip at the beginning of October. We booked a triple room and we were pleasantly surprised with the space of the bedroom and the lounge area... enough mirrors for all us to get ready at the same time. The beds were very comfortable, with proper feathered pillows and duvet. The staff were always pleasant and very helpful. The location of this hotel is around the corner from the Four Season hotel, so therefore in a very good part of Budapest. I would definitely go back, but I think after all the good reviews this hotel is getting (deservedly so) its room prices wont be a good as what we orginially paid!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
we are delighted to read that your holiday in our hotel was perfect and you were totally satisfied with the Starlight product and our services - it is the best motivation for all members of the staff! Hopefully you will visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here with a friend in September - the location was perfect just minutes from the Chain bridge and Vaci Ucta - for few days stay in Budapest this was great as we didn't have to waste time on unnecessary travel time and could pop back in in the middle of exploring the city sights. Rooms were spacious with plenty of closet space and bathroom had ample place to lay down all the things one needs. The continental breakfast was just that and after two morning of rolls and marmalade we ventured elsewhere for a nice breakfast. Would stay here again if ever back in Budapest

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
First of all let me thank you for the positive feedback about your recent stay with us - the location is one of the most important advantages of our property. Regarding breakfast: our goal is to meet all kind of guest-expectations, that is why there are several options available from which you can choose! Hope to see you again in the Starlight Suiten Hotel!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel was simply fantastic and we so enjoyed our five night stay! The staff was very friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable. The hotel was in a perfect location, right downtown close to the Danube, and surrounded by many restaurants and tourist sites. The hotel was very quiet, and our suite was super clean, and very spacious while offering amenities such as a microwave and small fridge. We choose the continental option for breakfast and enjoyed it thoroughly. The croissants melted in your mouth and the pot of coffee was delightful.

The only drawback is that one has to pay for Internet service. However, considering that this hotel is right next to some of the most expensive hotels in the city, the price was crazy affordable, even with paying a little extra for Internet.

We were so impressed with the service we received from the friendly staff, the nice quiet atmosphere and great location that we cannot say enough about this hotel and highly recommend it to others. We will definitely go back to this hotel when we visit Budapest again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinga N, Manager at Starlight Suiten Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
let me thank you for sharing your opinion about the Starlight Suiten Hotel - we are really happy to read that you were satisfied with your Suite and the services. Our staff is trying to do its Best in order to make your stay enjoyable - hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#51 of 334 in Budapest
1,455 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 334 in Budapest
1,115 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 334 in Budapest
1,273 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Starlight Suiten Hotel

Property: Starlight Suiten Hotel
Address: Merleg utca 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#40 Business Hotel in Budapest
#43 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starlight Suiten Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starlight Suites Hotel Merleg Budapest! Experience four star luxury in the centre of Budapest. Our hotel is located in the city centre in close vicinity to the Chain Bridge and Szechenyi Square. Famous sights, such as the St. Stephens Basilica, the Hungarian State Opera, and the House of Parliament are within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. The easy to reach public transport system will get you to your destination effortlessly, no matter if you are attending a business meeting or are exploring the famous sights the city has to offer. Our spacious 54 suites and apartments offer 4-star comfort and a complete set of business facilities. Take advantage of the hotel's amenities, relax at the hotel bar after a long day or exercise in the gym, which comes complete with a sauna and steam room. If you are travelling by car, take advantage of our parking and valet services. The front desk is staffed around the clock and our friendly team is always ready to assist you. To make your stay as pleasant as possible we offer full concierge services, such as tickets for the public transport system, restaurant reservations, etc. We will be happy to help our guests anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Starlight Suiten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Suiten Budapest
Hotel Starlight Suiten
Starlight Suiten Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing