We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, but nice, and very cheap for such superb location”
Review of City Hotel Matyas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel Matyas
Ranked #136 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here for a week. The rooms are simple, but clean and nice. Our room faced a quiet backstreet. The location is really perfect if you, like us, want to explore the vibrant Inner City district (Belváros) and the Erzsébetváros and Ferencváros disctricts, which are within walking distance. The hotel is also just a stone's throw from the Danube. For what you get the price is really quite amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank einarkristus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in November.

The hotel is old, full of character, clean, warm, well managed. The reception staff were very helpful.

The rooms were the normal international rooms - nothing exceptional. There was a fridge but no coffee-making facilities - although there was a machine in Reception. I had a ground floor room, and was initially concerned that the road works mentioned in other reviews were going to disturb my sleep. They didn't, and should be finished before 2014. My room had a shower, which worked fine but was a tad small - nowhere I could stand to get out of the stream of water, so I had to switch it off while I soaped myself. Plenty of coat hangers.

The breakfast staff were excellent - we were a party of five and they remembered us after the first morning.The breakfast is buffet-style, in a remarkable cavern with frescos, stained glass, resin pillars - absolutely bats!! Amazing.

It's in walking distance from a lot of the attractions, 100 feet from the Danube, there are tram and metro stops very near.

Excellent value, and well recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Cretamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Three star hotel at very central place on the side of walking street. Reception was small and tidy. Service was good and rooms were also quite tidy. not luxury hotel but for three stars, yes I can recommend this.

2  Thank mmaraa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 December 2013

the entrance seems old but we liked that, adds character to the hotel! once to go up to the floors with rooms it is more modern and warm inside. we got a room facing danube and its spacious, wifi works great, shower is nice and strong, breakfast was plentiful and it is a few steps away from danube and the main vaci utca street. its a short walk to the christmas market, theres a bus close by which helps if you need to go to train station, we are returning to budapest in 3 days and will come here again. the beds are very comfortable !

Room Tip: we just got the room with danube room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissalatzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Nice location and clean. Furniture and breakfast can be improved. Furniture kind of old but clean. Personnel very nice, at the receptionis counter and breakfast dinning room. Breakfast can be improve with a toaster for bread.

Room Tip: room on first floor was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Nice place, good location, good price, good breakfast, confortable room. Nice place, good location, good price, good breakfast, confortable room. Nice place, good location, good price, good breakfast, confortable room

Room Tip: Nice place, good location, good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolando E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights the service from the staff was excellent very friendly helpfull people.
The room was immaculate the bedding was spotless. The location was better than we had hoped right next to the Elizabeth bridge and only a short walk to the liberty bridge, market hall, chain bridge, main shopping street including the Christmas market, also the shoes on the Danube monument was very close. Breakfast was very good with a wide choice of cold meat cheese etc.
I heard no noise from the street in fact the only noise I heard whilst in the room was from drunken American tourist who were told to be quiet by the hotel staff. I recommend this hotel 110% only thing that was a negative was no tea making facility's in the room but all the positives more than made up for this

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank receygod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zsuzsanna C, General Manager at City Hotel Matyas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear ‘receygod’,

Thank you very much for sharing your detailed and positive opinion about your recent stay at the City Hotel Mátyás!

We are glad to hear that the location of the hotel was better than expected and you were satisfied with all of our services and the staff! Hope you enjoyed the Christmas Market and all famous tourist spots nearby.

The reconstruction works outside are in the final stages, no serious noise and dust around the hotel.

Thank you for the recommendation as well.

Sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Zsuzsanna K. Csapone
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#137 of 336 in Budapest
544 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#72 of 336 in Budapest
2,377 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#108 of 336 in Budapest
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Hotel Ring
#117 of 336 in Budapest
424 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Museum Central
Budapest Museum Central
#112 of 336 in Budapest
407 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#125 of 336 in Budapest
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Matyas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Matyas

Address: Marcius 15. ter 7 - 8, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £28 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Matyas 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Matyas is located in the heart of the downtown just 50 meters from the famous Vaci Street, with its most exclusive shops and restaurants. The monument building hotel has 85 modern rooms; some of which have a fascinating panoramic Danube and Buda Castle view, guaranteeing an unforgettable stay in Budapest. The buffet breakfast for the hotel guests are served in the famous Matyas Pince (Matthias Cellar) Restaurant, where also traditional and international dishes are available for lunch or dinner. The well-equipped rooms ensure a pleasant vacation for individual guests and groups arriving to Budapest on business or leisure. Standard room: each of the comfortable, bright rooms has bathroom with shower. Rooms are fitted with either a double bed or separate twin beds. Average size of rooms: 20 m2. Room fittings: bathroom with shower, telephone, radio, TV with satellite channels, pay-TV, fridge, air-conditioning on request.Other services: hair dryer (upon request), free Internet corner, safe at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Matyas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing