We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baross City Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fraser Residence Budapest(Budapest)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$711
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$671
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveller rating
115
252
161
57
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
252
161
57
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskeleti train stationfifth floorbudapest keletimain stationthin wallscentral courtyardnice hotelbreakfast roomsalamiclean roomsthe room was niceconvenient locationpublic transportmetro lineexcellent locationbreakfast was includedvisiting budapest
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 622 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

On the good side: Nice breakfast, clean room, next to train station
On the bad side: Unpleasant and unhelpful staff (especially the gentleman at the reception desk). The room was very dark, with a frosted window and poor lighting. It was impossible to see what’s outside, but there were some birds making a terrible noise day and night (the sound was like the birds were banging against a drainpipe). The air conditioner gave more noise than cold. We slept better the following night in the bus on the way to Prague than in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here on a Stag Do in July this year (Yes they accept large groups so this will either be a good or a bad thing for you) and we were not the only large group in the hotel. The Baross was booked for us as part of a package and after reading some reviews I feared the worst. So lets get the main things out of the way. The hotel is on an extremely busy junction opposite the train station and if your room is at the front of the hotel you wont escape the noise. There must have been a vehicle with a siren every 2-3 minutes and this is no exageration. This hotel (whilst close to the station) is a good 20 minute brisk walk to the town centre and river, you can get a bus or taxi or Metro if you wish but be sure to budget this in. The hotel is also based on the 4th floor and has 2 small lifts, so if you don't like lifts then it's a tough walk with luggage up the stairs. Reception is nice and clean and the ladies who work there are very helpful and friendly. Room wise we had a large group so got a real mixed bag of rooms and layouts. Now the rooms were ok and thats about it. There were quite a few of the rooms with large stains on the carpet and some choice repair work to walls and ceilings etc, but this may be a reflection on the clients they have in not taking as much care as they should. The rooms were turned around each of the days we stayed with fresh towels laid out. The showers were very powerful which was needed after a day walking round the dusty streets outside the hotel. Breakfast was ok considering it was included but some of the items did look a little suspect. All this said most of had decent nights sleep and were happy enough with the hotel as we had expected worse and got something that was ok. If you get a good deal, are happy to travel into the town, have ear plugs or are a heavy sleeper then this may be worth a shot. Oh and one last thing which some may think is important. On the last day I decided to do some early morning sit up's, and one of the lads from another room came in and said "Have you not got ants on your floor, i'd get up if I were you" And sure enough when I looked a little harder there were ants on the carpet and they had bitten me a fair few times. May have been the time of year or a one off but this was not ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_TravelChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Mr SM,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay in our Baross City Hotel.
Please let us inform you, that there will be built a new metro line in Budapest, wchich end station will be placed right at the hotel, this is the case of the construction which will be finished in a few months.

We are continously doing efforts keeping and improving the quality of the hotel, every suggestions from our guests are very warm welcome.

We do hope that in the future we will have the pleasure again to welcome you to the Baross City Hotel if you would be in Budapest.

With best regards,
Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed at The Baross whilst visiting Budapest for the F1. The hotel is fine and was what I expected after doing some research and looking at reviews on here. I had originally booked 3 rooms, 1 double and two singles. We ended up with one single on the fifth floor which I'm told was a nice room with aircon. We were then given a 2 bed apartment on the fourth floor. Luckily this room was allocated to me, my mum and step dad. The apartment was fine apart from there being two dining areas but no lounge area? Kitchen wasn't very well equipt eg. no kettle or toaster etc. The kitchen and my mums room had aircon but my room had none and when it's 40c by day and 25c by night this was not ideal and made for 6 very uncomfortable nights. The wifi signal is weak, much better in the little bar next door which sells very cheap drinks! The breakfast was a bit of a disaster on the first day as there are only about 7 tables in the breakfast room which obviously isn't enough for a hotel of this size so we ended up standing in the reception area eating some very dry croissants. After this though we managed to get a seat everyday. Breakfast itself is ok, if you're not a fan of choice. I myself like to eat fruit for breakfast but this is something I struggled to find in Budapest in general, not just in the hotel.
The location of this hotel wasn't really great for us. Yes it's close to the station but it's a good 30 minute walk from the river which is fine for the younger generation but my mum and step dad struggled and ended up eating at a restaurant call Ba Bar everynight (it's just round the corner) as they couldn't handle the walk to the river. I'm sure you can get the bus or Metro but it's not something we looked into. We also hired a car and with there being no parking at the hotel we had to park at the mall up the road which is free but slightly inconvenient.

All in all this is an ok hotel. Probably more suited to people as a stop gap when using the station rather than for people wanting to see the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smuzza19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Smuzza19,

Thank you for your comments, what makes us to be able to improve.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the resonable suggestions mentioned and do improvements to prevent their future occurrence.
Providing memeorable and enjoyable stay for our guests is our number one priority, therefore we hope, that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you next time in our hotel as our satisfied guests.

With best regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very convenient in terms of location is concerned. Situated 2 mins walking distance from Keleti station. We picked this hotel just because of this very reason and the price was very acceptable. Offers large rooms of average quality. Breakfast isn't bad. With a guest computer with internet and the weak wifi will just good enough for a little stay. We arrived at the middle of the night and it was rather hard to find the entrance. You will need to use a common entrance to the building and take the elevator to an upper-floor to find the hotel entrance. Staff is friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the reception area. You can hear noise from gang way at night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Diemka,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at our Baross City Hotel.
Please continue to provide us with your feedback and more importantly, let us know how we can improve your stay. We value your opinion and look forward to having you back soon.

With best regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Found this ok despite the roadworks outside the station. Room was fine for 2 nights, clean and comfy, overlooking a lovely courtyard. The area is not that nice though and we would not have wanted to walk around after dark. Rooms have thin walls so we could hear our neighbours just talking, thankfully not too late. Good, convenient location - we walked to the park and thermal baths one day and walked to city and river the next. Handy for supermarkets etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINALLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Linallen,
Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review about your stay in our Baross City Hotel. We hope, that you enjoyed your stay with us. The end station of the newest M4 metro line is placed right at the hotel, this is the case of the reconstruction. Soon there will be built a nice square with lot of walking areas and trees. And from March 2014 the new Metro line will start. With this our guests can choose from two metro lines for their transportation.
Hopefully during your next visit in Budapest you can enjoy the new nice area of our hotel.
Kind regards,
Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews