We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baross City Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$618
US$482
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$284
US$269
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$253
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$264
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$173
US$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$188
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$363
US$323
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$250
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Prima Fashion Hotel(Budapest)
US$278
US$263
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$157
Cancelon
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveller rating
115
252
161
57
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
252
161
57
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskeleti train stationfifth floorbudapest keletimain stationthin wallscentral courtyardnice hotelbreakfast roomsalamiclean roomsthe room was niceconvenient locationpublic transportmetro lineexcellent locationbreakfast was includedvisiting budapest
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 622 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We just came back from Budapest, we were 3 and were given an apartment instead of a triple room, spacious, comfortable, clean, good wi-fi .. breakfast was good which is located with the reception on the 5th floor .. keleti metro station is just beside the hotel, 5 minutes walk .. there are construction works in front of the hotel but nothing major (not noisy and did not disturb the flow of motion in the street) we took the subway to downtown only 6 minutes (Keleti, Blaha, Astoria, Deak) and to vienna (3 hours; the return ticket cost 25 euro). Staff were friendly and helpful in reserving the tours and if anything was missing from the room like adaptor or another hairdryer, they were efficient. there is burger king on the corner, supermarket, fruit place.. and the arena mall was 10 minutes walk from keleti station .. all in all, I loved it. all in the pics attached. last, you will have to pay tourist local tax as per the hungarian govt new law, we paid around 2000 forint. Enjoy yr stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samah-Abu-Ghazaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Ms Samah-Abu-Ghazaleh,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor regarding to your stay at our Baross City Hotel.

We are pleased to read, that you have enjoyed your stay in one of our 6 Apartments.
Please let me inform you, that we have five two-bedroom-apartments which are perfect choice up to 6 people travelling together.
During your next visit in Budapest we would be more than pleased to welcome you with your family or friends as well.

With best regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It is a very unimposing door that leads into a courtyard with a glass lift up to the hotel. Rooms are very nice and clean. The only thing is that the breakfast room is quite small so you may have to wait to get a table. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Grace,

Thank you very much for sharing us your kind feedback and also for choosing Baross City Hotel for your stay in Budapest.

We highly value our guests thus we really appreciate to read that we managed to reach your positive impression.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you in our hotel again.

With best regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We’ve visited Budapest for the fourth time this summer and we have chosen the Baross Hotel for two main reasons: price and location. This hotel is very close to Keleti railway station and as we’ve traveled by train it was just perfect. There is also the Keleti metro station nearby where we took the metro for getting to different other places in Budapest. The hotel is placed in an older building and its reception ‘as on the 5th floor. We’ve stayed on the 6th floor and there was no elevator to take from floor 5 up to 6 so we had to walk but that wasn’t a big problem. Our room was ok, pretty little but clean, with minibar, safe in the room and hair dryer in the bathroom. It was cleaned up every day and the towels were changed also every day. The double bad was pretty small but ok for us and confortable enough. The air conditioning was a little bit too noisy but we’ve stopped it during the night as it wasn’t so warm. On TV we had only Eurosport and CNN and a lot of Hungarian channels. You get the TV remote control when you check-in. Ours wasn’t working but we’ve changed it and it was ok. Staff at the reception was helpful but not very smiling. But… we were y really impressed because a young woman and a young man from the reception spook Romanian! It’s true what I’ve read that walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors but our neighbors were pretty quiet…The breakfast buffet was basic, my husband who is a vegetarian did not have many choices but I found that I had enough choices so I was pleased with it. The coffee was also good.
This hotel is certainly not for very exigent people, you don’t get here luxury but it is a good choice for the money. For us it was a perfect stay and, as we love Budapest and we always travel in this direction by train we certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Bianca,
Thank you very much for posting your kind and comprehensive feedback about your recent stay in our Baross City Hotel.
It was our pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the room and our services instead of some small problems which we will do our best staving off.
We appreciate the feedback regarding the work of our colleagues, let me inform you that I forwarded your kind comments to them and encouraged them smiling more.
Any time coming to Budapest please do not hesitate to contact us directly for our best available price offer.
Kind regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just near the main station within 5 mins walk, and breakfast is very nice and full. If you are the budget traveler, its better to stay there instead of youth hostel. And the staff can say English and friendly to answer all our questions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

On the good side: Nice breakfast, clean room, next to train station
On the bad side: Unpleasant and unhelpful staff (especially the gentleman at the reception desk). The room was very dark, with a frosted window and poor lighting. It was impossible to see what’s outside, but there were some birds making a terrible noise day and night (the sound was like the birds were banging against a drainpipe). The air conditioner gave more noise than cold. We slept better the following night in the bus on the way to Prague than in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews