We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and value- shame about the noise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baross City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baross City Hotel
Ranked #143 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good location and value- shame about the noise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for a holiday when travelling to Budapest. I picked this hotel mainly for a price and location - good value and literally right outside the international train station and metro. In terms of location it was perfect for us- it got bus stops and metro right outside so very easy to get to the main town- I'd estimate you could walk it as well it you wanted to. There is a Spar and little 24/7 shop on the same street for picking up little bits as well as a Macdonalds, Burger King and other restaurants. The hotel itself occupies floors five and six of an old apartment block and the building has character. (One word of caution- there is a lift to the reception on the fifth floor but then I think there is only stairs to get to the rooms). The room size was good with safe and tv and a very nice powerful shower in the bathroom- clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good- general continental and a couple of hot options (eggs and hot dog sausages). The staff were very friendly and helpful- they gave us advice, tickets for attractions and organised a airport transfer for us. To be honest the main thing that let this hotel down for us was the noise- a fourth metro line is being built currently and this means a lot of noise outside. Also we found we could hear a lot of noise from the guests next to us- we arrived very late on a Friday eve and were hoping for a bit of a lie in the next morning but got woken quite early by the noise in the hotel and had similar problems going to sleep in the evening- unfortunately it seems the walls are a bit thin. Having said that it didn't bother us too much as after a long day sightseeing we were tired enough to fall asleep without too much difficulty but wanted to mention it for the benefit of other travellers as it maybe more of an issue when it is busier. I would stay here again though due to the helpfulness of the staff and the good location and price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Jennifer I,
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are glad to hear you were happy with our location and facilities. We are indeed very lucky to be in close proximity to the internatinonal train station and we receive a lot of compliments from guests who are travelling by train.
We always try, when availability allows us to book the rooms away from street noise and metro construction and we do apologise that we failed to provide a quiet stay on this occasion.
We are pleased to hear that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    194
    132
    50
    30
See reviews for
74
168
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

This was a nice hotel right across the road from the train. Very professional staff. Nice but decent walk into town, about 30 minutes. Good way to see town. Would stay again. Some reviews say area felt unsafe but there was always lots of people around.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nascogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear nascogirl,
Thank you very much for posting your kind feedback about your recent stay in our Baross City Hotel.
We are pleased to read, that you were satisfied with the lodation, service and behaviour of our staff. Friendly and attentive service is one of the most important values among our guests.
We hope, that next time we will have the chance of welcoming you in our hotel again.
With best regards,
Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel occupies the upper four floors of a building built in 1875. Maintenance is not of a high standard but, in an odd way, that seems to add to the old-world charm of the place. We had a large bedroom , large enough for a third bed to be positioned in it. Very unusual for a hotel, there was a dressing room between the bedroom and the bathroom. The latter was also large but had only one soap dispenser ( which ran dry after a day ). The bedroom had a TV and minibar and the bathroom a hair dryer. Two 1.5 later bottle of water - 650 HUF each - were positioned in the bedroom. The furnishings, particularly the carpet , the chair seat covers and the pillows had seen better days and need attention.Our room (504) faced the road but the noise from passing traffic was not much; what did create a problem for us was the noise of conversation at the Reception and from the breakfast buffet room, the noise star tinge from 6 in the morning. Ask for a room facing the courtyard if you are thinking of staying at this hotel; be specific and reject rooms 501 to 504. The breakfast was modest but adequate.
The location of the hotel is right next to Budapest Keleti railway station. The Red, Blue and Green Hop on, Hop off buses stop at the Best Wester Grand Hungarian Hotel, a 5 minute walk away. There is a Metro station near the Baross and there are also public bus stops right outside the hotel.
The staff of the Baross is friendly and helpful with suggestions.
All in all, good value for money if old world charm is your thing.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandp_124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear sandp_124,
Thank you for your nice words about our rooms facilities, breakfast and our staff.
There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like yours to continue providing services beyond our guests’ expectations.
We will do our best protecting the consistency our furniture and room accessories and we are going to change them where it is necessary.
It is also our pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the location as well.

We do hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in our Baross City Hotel. For our best available price offer please do not hesite to contact us at anytime. Kind regards,
Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

What a delightful surprise to find this gem just across the road from the main train station and metro; so convenient and so so comfortable. do not get put off by the entrance off a busy road.
My single room looked over the inner courtyard and was clean, warm,comfortable and quiet. The bonus was the bath in the spacious ensuite, perfect for soaking away the grime and aches of train travel. The staff were welcoming, the wifi worked and breakfast was adequate. I would stay again. Highly reccomended for the budget traveller.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyRoseBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Rose,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your recent experiences with us.
We really appreciate your kind feedback regarding our hotel and services.
I am pleased to forward your kind comments to our colleagues too.
We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We do hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in our Baross City Hotel.
Kind regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We just came back from Budapest, we were 3 and were given an apartment instead of a triple room, spacious, comfortable, clean, good wi-fi .. breakfast was good which is located with the reception on the 5th floor .. keleti metro station is just beside the hotel, 5 minutes walk .. there are construction works in front of the hotel but nothing major (not noisy and did not disturb the flow of motion in the street) we took the subway to downtown only 6 minutes (Keleti, Blaha, Astoria, Deak) and to vienna (3 hours; the return ticket cost 25 euro). Staff were friendly and helpful in reserving the tours and if anything was missing from the room like adaptor or another hairdryer, they were efficient. there is burger king on the corner, supermarket, fruit place.. and the arena mall was 10 minutes walk from keleti station .. all in all, I loved it. all in the pics attached. last, you will have to pay tourist local tax as per the hungarian govt new law, we paid around 2000 forint. Enjoy yr stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samah-Abu-Ghazaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Ms Samah-Abu-Ghazaleh,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor regarding to your stay at our Baross City Hotel.

We are pleased to read, that you have enjoyed your stay in one of our 6 Apartments.
Please let me inform you, that we have five two-bedroom-apartments which are perfect choice up to 6 people travelling together.
During your next visit in Budapest we would be more than pleased to welcome you with your family or friends as well.

With best regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

It is a very unimposing door that leads into a courtyard with a glass lift up to the hotel. Rooms are very nice and clean. The only thing is that the breakfast room is quite small so you may have to wait to get a table. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Grace,

Thank you very much for sharing us your kind feedback and also for choosing Baross City Hotel for your stay in Budapest.

We highly value our guests thus we really appreciate to read that we managed to reach your positive impression.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you in our hotel again.

With best regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We’ve visited Budapest for the fourth time this summer and we have chosen the Baross Hotel for two main reasons: price and location. This hotel is very close to Keleti railway station and as we’ve traveled by train it was just perfect. There is also the Keleti metro station nearby where we took the metro for getting to different other places in Budapest. The hotel is placed in an older building and its reception ‘as on the 5th floor. We’ve stayed on the 6th floor and there was no elevator to take from floor 5 up to 6 so we had to walk but that wasn’t a big problem. Our room was ok, pretty little but clean, with minibar, safe in the room and hair dryer in the bathroom. It was cleaned up every day and the towels were changed also every day. The double bad was pretty small but ok for us and confortable enough. The air conditioning was a little bit too noisy but we’ve stopped it during the night as it wasn’t so warm. On TV we had only Eurosport and CNN and a lot of Hungarian channels. You get the TV remote control when you check-in. Ours wasn’t working but we’ve changed it and it was ok. Staff at the reception was helpful but not very smiling. But… we were y really impressed because a young woman and a young man from the reception spook Romanian! It’s true what I’ve read that walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors but our neighbors were pretty quiet…The breakfast buffet was basic, my husband who is a vegetarian did not have many choices but I found that I had enough choices so I was pleased with it. The coffee was also good.
This hotel is certainly not for very exigent people, you don’t get here luxury but it is a good choice for the money. For us it was a perfect stay and, as we love Budapest and we always travel in this direction by train we certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Bianca,
Thank you very much for posting your kind and comprehensive feedback about your recent stay in our Baross City Hotel.
It was our pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the room and our services instead of some small problems which we will do our best staving off.
We appreciate the feedback regarding the work of our colleagues, let me inform you that I forwarded your kind comments to them and encouraged them smiling more.
Any time coming to Budapest please do not hesitate to contact us directly for our best available price offer.
Kind regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#132 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#115 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Golden Park Hotel
#239 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlas City Hotel
#247 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#112 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#96 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baross City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baross City Hotel

Property: Baross City Hotel
Address: Baross ter 15, Budapest 1077, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baross City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baross City Hotel is located next to the Keleti International Railway Station and offers comfortable, cosy rooms for tourists visiting Budapest. The hotel's 52 stylish rooms with delicate natural colours designed for both individual and business travellers. Due to its central location, major tourist attractions are easily reachable by high frequency public transport. The 3-star family friendly Baross City Hotel ensures peaceful relaxation in its spacious, bright rooms facing to the beautiful inner courtyard or the historic building of the Keleti Railway Station. Long stay travellers also can take advantage of fully furnished 2 bedroom apartments while enjoying various hotel services. If you are looking for an ideal place for city break, book our amazing deals, and make the most out of your Budapest trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Baross City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baross Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing