We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baross City Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
New York Palace(Budapest)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Prima Fashion Hotel(Budapest)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveller rating
119
255
165
61
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
255
165
61
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskeleti train stationfifth floorbudapest keletimain stationthin wallscentral courtyardnice hotelbreakfast roomsalamiclean roomsthe room was niceconvenient locationpublic transportmetro lineexcellent locationbreakfast was includedvisiting budapest
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 637 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Although not really a 3* hotel, it is more than decent and the prices are very good. It is very close to the East (Keleti) Railway Station, in an old building in Baross Ter (Square). The hotel entrance is rather small, and the reception is on the fifth floor, which is not really common for a hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was nice and clean and the only thing that interrupted a good sleep was some noise at 6:30 am, probably from cleaning another room. The buffet breakfast was good. Check-in time is 14, check-out time is 11 - not flexible unless you pay an extra charge. Overall, I'd definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Alex B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback.
We are happy to read that you had a great stay, and you experienced the hotel nice, and prices fair. On the other part we are sorry to read your comments on check out, but we should say that this late check out policy is common among hotels. Nevertheless all guests are still welcome to use all of the facilities (lobby, internet corner) and luggage room until ready to depart.
We are glad that all of the hotel services and mainly the staff contributed to your overall positive experience and convinced you to return again soon.

With best regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Tee Title of this review says it all. You could walk by it many times and not notice it as the entrance is a small doorway set into a row of shops and Bars. Go through the dooray and you find a dark corridor with a small wooden box in which sits a man who looked to me just like a Priest in a Confessional Box!! You are directed along the Corridor to a Lift and go to the Fifth Floor where you will find the Reception.

Allthough somewhat dated this somehow seems to add to the quirkinaess of the Hotel, which for a short break is adequate and reasonably comfortable. It certainly is very good value for money. Not in the best of locations as the area seemed to be fairly run down with a few rough sleepers in the streets surrounding it which may put off some of the more nervous travellers.

Not much in the way of good restaurants close by but plenty of fast food i.e McD's Burger King and KFC all very close. Takes about thirty mins to walk to the downtown area.

I booked a minibus pick up from the Airport through the Hotel for 5000 Huf but it failed to show up and I ended having to get a regular Taxi from the Airport Rank at a cost of 9000 Huf. Not good and there was no apology made by the Hotel for the no show.

My advice would e if your budget can take it to spend a bit more and get somewhere a bit more modern and closer to the downtown area.

Room Tip: Lots of major building works going on outside the railway Station which is right opposite the Hotel Noise is therefore an issue for Rooms at the front
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Alan P,

Thank you for all of your comments and constructive feedback.
We would like to assure you we take a lot of care and attention for the safety and security of our guests, that is why the hotel has 24 hour available security service, and security guard at the front entrance to keep intruders away.
We would like to subsequently apologize for the minibus no-show at prearranged time owing to unexperienced mechanical problem.
We are sorry to hear that you found the hotel area fairly run down, but as you mention lots of major building works are going on under urban rehabilitation and development project, so we do hope, hotel surroundings will be renewed soon.
It is worth seeing the fascinating hotel location next spring, thus we hope you get a chance to come back to Budapest.

With best regards,
Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I arrived without a reservation having just got off the third world sleeper from Romania, it was the first hotel I saw on leaving Keleti station, though I had seen on the internet previously. I was therefore very happy to get in.
I had a 3 bedded room at the front of the hotel. Beds were comfortable, room was clean, ensuite, TV. Nice furnishings, table, reasonably priced mini bar. Free wifi that worked well.
The hotel is set above some ground floor shops/bars, so you go upstairs to the hotel reception and down again some stairs. I should say being at the front of the hotel was a bit noisey, so you may want to ask about room location if you stay here. The other problem was that my room was directly under the breakfast room so was woken at 6.30am with foot steps, chairs pulled out etc. I agree the walls must be quite thin here as I could here my neighbours watching TV and talking, annoyingly very late.
The breakfast is varied and quite nice. The reception staff, though not breathtakingly friendly, were professional - they organised an airport transfer for me with a company for a very resonable price. I got some laundry done through a company the hotel do business with - laundry back the next day - it was itemised and quite expensive however.
The price I was charged for the accommodation (including breakfast) was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzetchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Tzetchy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this review. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the room amenities and furnishings and found our hotel very good value for money. We strive to ensure that each and every guest has the best possible stay, and we are sorry that hotel neighbours’ noise and preparation of breakfast kept you awake such early in the morning.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With best regards,
Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for a holiday when travelling to Budapest. I picked this hotel mainly for a price and location - good value and literally right outside the international train station and metro. In terms of location it was perfect for us- it got bus stops and metro right outside so very easy to get to the main town- I'd estimate you could walk it as well it you wanted to. There is a Spar and little 24/7 shop on the same street for picking up little bits as well as a Macdonalds, Burger King and other restaurants. The hotel itself occupies floors five and six of an old apartment block and the building has character. (One word of caution- there is a lift to the reception on the fifth floor but then I think there is only stairs to get to the rooms). The room size was good with safe and tv and a very nice powerful shower in the bathroom- clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good- general continental and a couple of hot options (eggs and hot dog sausages). The staff were very friendly and helpful- they gave us advice, tickets for attractions and organised a airport transfer for us. To be honest the main thing that let this hotel down for us was the noise- a fourth metro line is being built currently and this means a lot of noise outside. Also we found we could hear a lot of noise from the guests next to us- we arrived very late on a Friday eve and were hoping for a bit of a lie in the next morning but got woken quite early by the noise in the hotel and had similar problems going to sleep in the evening- unfortunately it seems the walls are a bit thin. Having said that it didn't bother us too much as after a long day sightseeing we were tired enough to fall asleep without too much difficulty but wanted to mention it for the benefit of other travellers as it maybe more of an issue when it is busier. I would stay here again though due to the helpfulness of the staff and the good location and price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Jennifer I,
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are glad to hear you were happy with our location and facilities. We are indeed very lucky to be in close proximity to the internatinonal train station and we receive a lot of compliments from guests who are travelling by train.
We always try, when availability allows us to book the rooms away from street noise and metro construction and we do apologise that we failed to provide a quiet stay on this occasion.
We are pleased to hear that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards,

Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

This was a nice hotel right across the road from the train. Very professional staff. Nice but decent walk into town, about 30 minutes. Good way to see town. Would stay again. Some reviews say area felt unsafe but there was always lots of people around.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nascogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baross_Manager, General Manager at Baross City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear nascogirl,
Thank you very much for posting your kind feedback about your recent stay in our Baross City Hotel.
We are pleased to read, that you were satisfied with the lodation, service and behaviour of our staff. Friendly and attentive service is one of the most important values among our guests.
We hope, that next time we will have the chance of welcoming you in our hotel again.
With best regards,
Zsuzsanna Ilyés
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews