We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good opinion about Charles Hotel”
Review of Hotel Charles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Charles
Ranked #45 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights. everything was fine. pretty good breakfast, nice receptionist, low prices.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragos14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at one of the studio apartment on the 2nd floor and the room was spacious with a small pantry given.
The hotel location was strategic as the bus stop (for going to the city) is just right in front of the hotel and the bus ride only takes about 5mins.
Service provided by the hotel staffs at the reception were really excellent and they are very attentive to your needs and answering your questions.
Food at the restaurant was good and restaurant staff also maintained a very excellent service.
The only drawback about this hotel is they charged us for using the PC at the lobby as it is not free like other hotels in Germany or Prague.However, the hotel provides free WIFI if you have a laptop or smartphone with you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ong_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Charles for three days in room 52 and another three days in room 8.

The good: Inexpensive. Excellent restaurant. Great breakfast buffet and coffee. Very helpful staff. Currency exchange at desk. Located at intersection of two main bus lines. In room kitchen with minibar, dishes, sink, stove top. Great neighborhood for walks, shops, restaurants, park, and transportation.

The bad: Very loud outside noise heard (and seemingly amplified) in rooms. Fee for computer use. Free WiFi signal was very weak adn slow. Beds are all twin size, pushed together to make larger bed, making for uncomfortable center (no cuddling!).

Most of all, the outside noise ruins the otherwise lovely place.

We booked through Agoda.com and, because of TripAdvisor comments, asked for "a quiet room on an upper floor away from the elevator." Upon arrival, we found we had a room (53) over the boulevard (3rd floor) and directly in front of the elevator! I wear earplugs, so the traffic noise, which was louder than any I have ever heard, was tolerable.

On our return (because we otherwise liked the hotel very much) we stayed in room 8. It was a larger room far from the elevator and off the boulevard, so we anticipated peace and quiet. Unfortunately, we were right over the garbage area which was louder than the blvd traffic! Then the shower flooded the bathroom and kitchen. Luckily our belongings were not on the floor.

I wish we could say that this was a wonderful place to stay - it has a lot to offer tourists and we enjoyed our stay. But the noise trumped all that we liked, so we have decided we would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Try the top floor off the street. Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amcanrer95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Only one word can explain our experinces in the Charles Hotel of Budapest: AMAZING. It was a great days, kind people, good food, great place, well located, and the attention of the staff was excellent. Thanks to everybody for make us rest and have around ten days over there with these. kind and understanding people.

Room Tip: Ask for a not noice room, with Air condition, kithchen, refrigarator, and all the comodities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Istvan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I cannot really better the review below dated 17th September. I have been going to this hotel for some years and each time it seems to improve. The food is excellent and the staff also. However, when booking I would advise anyone to ask for a quiet room, as there are some rooms which are over a noisey street and even with double glazing one is conscious of the traffic.

Room Tip: Above have commented on asking for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WidgeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights.
Pros: Room cleaning very good, attentive and courteous staff, wireless internet connection worked well, great tarrif, easy to reach from Pest near Margaret Bridge / Ferenc square (bus 8 or 112 "Urania" - stops outside Hotel), or Kilati station - ticket from Metro (bus 178 and walk 250 m to hotel)
Cons: On busy road - street noise if your room overlooks it, which forces you to keep windows closed. Airconditioning available, but at additional 8euros/night. We aked for and were provided with a fan which solved the problem.
Overall, if we chose to visit Budapest again, we would stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and took care of issues. (our shower head broke and was fixed immediately). The hotel is located 3 bus stops to the stop for downtown, the tourist bus and the river cruise and the bus stop was outside the hotel door. This made it very easy for us to do the things we wanted. Also, the hotel sold the tour and public transport tickets which was very convenient. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room spacious and clean. We had hoped to cook but the kitchenette only had one pot, no kettle for tea or coffee, no toaster, no pans. This was our only concern, however the restaurant attached to the hotel was excellent, so we ate our breakfast and dinner there. The food was amazingly good at a very reasonable price! (the quality of this restaurant was a highlight for us and we have been travelling the world for three months!)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balazs O, General Manager at Hotel Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences concerning our Hotel! It is very important to get feedback about our job! We are delighted to hear that you've found Charles to be a good choice! We are working really hard to suit all the demands of our dear guests to make their stay a one worth to remember (of course in the good way of sense :) )!

It is a pity that you didn't mention the lack of kitchen accessories at the reception because we could have immediately provided you with everything you needed. Although all our studios are equipped with a kitchenette, because of the more comfortable dining facilities in our restaurant, as you have mentioned as well, it is considerably rare that our guests would like to use the kitchenette to cook, thus they are only basically equipped. Of course we provide everything upon request.

But your remark was worth to send, because we have decided to equip all our Deluxe category kitchenettes with an electric hot water kettle! Of course this, and everything else will be available in all the rooms upon request in the future as well.

Thank you for your very useful review again!
Hope to greet you as our guest again in the future!

Sincerelly

Balazs Ovari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Central Hotel 21
#67 of 334 in Budapest
608 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#51 of 334 in Budapest
1,006 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#99 of 334 in Budapest
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#58 of 334 in Budapest
1,572 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#135 of 334 in Budapest
692 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
#47 of 334 in Budapest
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charles

Address: Hegyalja ut 23, Budapest 1016, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#43 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#52 Family Hotel in Budapest
#66 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £15 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charles is situated on Gellert hill, on the Buda side of the river, with excellent public transportation to the close city centre. The Citadel and the Royal Castle is within walking distance. All our Deluxe category studios are airconditioned, while some of our newly furnished Standard category studios are available with airconditioning as well for a surcharge. All of our studios are equipped with a kitchenette. Free WIFI access is available in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charles And Apartment
Hotel Charles Apartment
Charles Apartment Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing