We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Hotel Charles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Charles
Ranked #46 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in Charles for 5 days. The rooms are not fancy however are big and clean. Price- excellent deal. Ten minutes walk from the river. Great public transportation near by.
Staff was eager to help.
Highly recommended!
Micky

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threekids4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    239
    69
    13
    3
See reviews for
99
275
55
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed for two days in this hotel. The room was very comfortable and clean. Bathroom was a decent size with a good shower and bath. The hotel is quiet and is situated in a lovely area of Budapest with good public transport.
The staff at reception was very helpful and could answer any questions I had.
If I have another holiday in Budapest I will stay here.

Kind regards,

Ildiko Cnejevici

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tittelandrea68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Nice hotel, near city center - 20 min by feet. They have very nice personal that speak a lot of languages. Hotel is not new, but it is clean and nice. A hotel restaurant can offer beside tasty breakfast also very nice dinner from traditional to rose steaks and very nice spicy fish files ( i like it). I was in many cities in Europe and I can say that for money you spend here you get more!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrej T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Positives: The location on the Buda side of the Danube is a 15-20 minute walk from the Citadel, Buda Castle, and the walking area just over the bridge in Pest. But if you don't feel like walking the bus stops right in front of the hotel.
The en suite rooms are spotless, spacious, warm even in January, and include a teeny kitchenette. The staff are incredibly kind and helpful.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

Negatives: Trying to think of something... the bed was a bit too soft for us.

Personal Note: We were in Budapest for my birthday. For my birthday the hotel gifted me with a bottle of wine. They were also in cahoots with my husband for my birthday surprise- having my father join us on the trip! (I'd been trying to get him to travel with us for ages. The last time he was in Europe it was the '70s...)
For New Year a bottle of champagne was provided to each room.
Finally, we had difficulties with our bags and the staff were invaluable in helping us sort things out.

Room Tip: The restaurant is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Charles for two weeks in Sept in 2012 and decided to return in Sept 2013. Our room was simple,clean, quiet, and sufficiently spacious, with breakfast table,fridge stove and sink.Hotel staff was extraordinarily helpful and knowledgeable,with courtesy that felt like friendship. Food in the hotel restaurant, Janos, was wonderful. We had all breakfasts and most dinners there, which was both convenient and relaxing. Wait staff was first rate, with courtesy and attention that, again, felt like friendship. Transportation was very convenient, and could get you from hotel to anywhere in Budapest and back, with efficiency. We would give the Charles and Janos our highest rating: a 3 star hotel with 5 star staff. We will most happily return.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is not new or it doesn't have very nice modern furniture but it has everything you need in a very good combination. The room I stayed was one of the more functional rooms I ever stayed and if you compare it with the price it is a very good choose.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quaternity_MCSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is a good choice if you don't want to spend much money on accomodation. Rooms/apartments are clean and have all basic things you could need. The staff will provide everything you ask for. If you want to come during July/August make sure you ask for rooms with aircondition. Staff is speaking exellent english, they are very polite and helpful so it is easy to get help and info about everything regarding hotel and Budapest itself. They can arrange excursions and sightseeing. You can reach city center by bus (10-15 minutes) which stops 30 meters from the hotel. The restaurant János Étterem is located on the ground floor and it is very good.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with A/C if you come here in July/August.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tau_gu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Central Hotel 21
#66 of 334 in Budapest
589 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 334 in Budapest
546 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#49 of 334 in Budapest
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#132 of 334 in Budapest
672 reviews
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#23 of 334 in Budapest
1,311 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#104 of 334 in Budapest
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charles

Property: Hotel Charles
Address: Hegyalja ut 23, Budapest 1016, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#43 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#52 Family Hotel in Budapest
#66 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charles is situated on Gellert hill, on the Buda side of the river, with excellent public transportation to the close city centre. The Citadel and the Royal Castle is within walking distance. All our Deluxe category studios are airconditioned, while some of our newly furnished Standard category studios are available with airconditioning as well for a surcharge. All of our studios are equipped with a kitchenette. Free WIFI access is available in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charles And Apartment
Hotel Charles Apartment
Charles Apartment Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing