We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alexandra”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Charles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Charles
Ranked #46 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Pancevo, Serbia
1 review
“Alexandra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family love this hotel and we used to stay every time when we are in Budapest. This was our third time. I booked a studio standard room and when we arrived at the hotel the receptionist told us that they have a gift for us, it was upgrade room free of charge to a deluxe suite on the first floor. The staff are excellent. We appreciate various breakfast and for delicios dinner. We will come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksicale a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budaire, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Charles, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
„Dear Alexandra,

we appreciate your kind words and we hope you fully enjoyed your stay in Budapest. The satisfaction of the guests has always been outstandingly important for the staff of Hotel Charles. We are looking forward for your family’s next visit.

Sincerely,
Réka Budai
manager”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    225
    64
    12
    3
See reviews for
88
257
51
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is not situated at the citycenter. So you have to take the bus (but the bus station of line 8 and 112 is in front of the hotel) if you don`t travel by car. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the room was spacious and the accommodation definitely worth thy money. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budaire, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Charles, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Jonas,

thank you in the name of our staff! Let us point out that you can take ANY bus which stops in front of the hotel (nr. 239 included) because all of them travel towards the city center and will take you there in less then 10 minutes.

We are pleased that you found the accomodation comfortable and you are welcome in our hotel further on too.

Sincerely,
Réka Budai
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I am just home from a 4 day break and have to say I felt so at home in the Charles hotel. the staff were without exception extremely warm, kind and always ready to be of help in any way they could. I travelled alone and returning to the hotel was the friendliest welcome, I had to change my bookings last minute but they dealt with all without any hassle. I would definitely
recommend this Hotel. It is also very well located and very clean, air conditioning a must in the summer!
orla

Room Tip: maybe book a room away from the street as traffic is heavy and loud at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budaire, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Charles, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Orla,

our guests’ comfort is always a priority so we are glad to hear that we managed to create an atmosphere in which you felt at home. Thank you for the positive feedback!

Sincerely,
Réka Budai
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel was arranged for us, so we didn't know what to expect.
At the arrival we direclty had a coming home feeling. Staff was really friendly and helpful. They definilty deserve a 10+ for this.
From the hotel you can take bus 8 or 112 to the city. At the reception they can help you with bus tickets for a reasonable price. If you have also any questions how to get somewhere, ask the guys of the reception.

The food in hotel restaurant Janoz is also very tasteful.

It was also very relaxed that they offer a parking place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahlegrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budaire, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Charles, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services. To be more accurate, all of the buses which stop in front of the hotel take you right to the city center, including nr. 239.

Thank you for the compliment and you are welcome to return to Hotel Charles and János Restaurant anytime in the future!

Sincerely,
Réka Budai
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have arrived and first impressions did not help. After settling down we went to the town Centre. Day by day thinks improved. Excellent value for money considering very good bus system (8 and 112) takes you to main points in the city in 5 minutes. The hotel is with god and average rooms. Select one on the top floor. Restaurant with good food and very good service. For sure this hotel is a very good value for money considering the bus service and just 1,5 km way (down the hill) from the town centre or the Castle.

Room Tip: Top floor and way from Main Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FVentura357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Great room with superb hospitality. Easy access to the city. Staff went out of its way to guide us. Good English. Felt really welcomed. Wi-fi throughout hotel. Dined in restaurant for breakfast and one evening meal. Very nice!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TAS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel and would highly recommend to any of my friends and family. Situated on the Buda side of the city which is the quieter side but only a 5 min bus ride away from the livelier Pest side.
Hotel is clean with large studio style bedrooms with cooking facilities and a fridge which is a must from spring until autumn.
The staff could not be any friendlier or more helpful, we changed rooms on request with no hesitation from the reception staff who went well beyond the call of duty to help make our stay in their city an exciting one.The staff also made my wifes birthday a special one with a champagne breakfast and wine delivered to our room, without any prompting from myself.
If you're thinking of a visit to Budapest book this hotel now!

Ps. Great breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Central Hotel 21
#61 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#86 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#44 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#121 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#53 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charles

Property: Hotel Charles
Address: Hegyalja ut 23, Budapest 1016, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#43 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#52 Family Hotel in Budapest
#66 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Charles is situated on Gellert hill, on the Buda side of the river, with excellent public transportation to the close city centre. The Citadel and the Royal Castle is within walking distance. All our Deluxe category studios are airconditioned, while some of our newly furnished Standard category studios are available with airconditioning as well for a surcharge. All of our studios are equipped with a kitchenette. Free WIFI access is available in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charles And Apartment
Hotel Charles Apartment
Charles Apartment Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing