We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
Ranked #117 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“city break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

recently stayed at the leonardo lovely staff very helpful and friendly. big room for three however disabled shower room. wifi is not great in the hotel unless in the reception area. good location and nice restaurants close by.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stephhill111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear stephhill111,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Budapest stay memorable and enjoyable.
Your opinion is a big motivation for our Hotel Team members to continue with the efforts, thank you for it!
We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    311
    204
    68
    40
See reviews for
95
315
38
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

not great for a romantic stay, but a good on a budget. rooms were quite small but clean and comfortable. nice quiet street but close to a few main streets with restaurant options and the hotel staff helped us out with some great local recommendations. not quite walking distance to the city centre or many of the sights we wanted to see. a decent option for the price though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Sarah H,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Budapest stay memorable and enjoyable.
Your opinion is a big motivation for our Hotel Team members to continue with the efforts, thank you for it!
We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Well-functioning and clean room, okay food on the menu, located in a rather quiet area/street for a city destination.

Wifi does not work in the room even though they claim so. It only works in the reception area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Rene C,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Budapest stay memorable and enjoyable.
We are just undergoing to search possibilities to upgrade or change on the WiFi system, as we see that the volume of the users and the data volume demands for it! Hopefully at your next visit this will be solved already.
We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jena, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The area around the hotel is ok. A workers to middle-class district with some restaurants and bars when you head west. After around 10 to 15 minutes walk you reach a few sights: The danube of course (with a nice park next to it). The city center and the old town of Buda is quite far away, but a tram and a metro station are about 5-10 minutes from the hotel. The location is perfect if you want something easy to reach from the airport (you just have to change once) and nothing to far away from the city itself.
The hotel itself is a middle class hotel with 4 stars, but feels more like a 3 stars hotel. Rooms (with a fridge but no minibar) were obviously renewed not that long ago, but still have a dark look. They have unfortunately a tubular shape which I don't like and are rather small. Luckily, we had a family room which consists of 2 quasi-seperated, mirrored rooms of which one had only a studio couch.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing, as it did not change one single component over three days and it was not really large: yes, it had 4 warm dishes (something like hash browns, baked beans, bad scrambled eggs and sausages), but a poor selection of the rest (bread, cold cuts, etc.). The breakfast room was too small, sometimes it was difficult finding a place.
The staff was not particular bad, but never really friendly and a bit untalkative.

All in all this might read a bit more worse than it actually was: In general the stay was ok and the hotel was cheap (family room for about 45 Eur/day), but next time I would book something different, maybe closer to the center.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to be more or less equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stativision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear our Guest, stativision,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Budapest stay memorable and enjoyable.

We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in Leonardo Hotel for 3 nights.

In summary room was very small but clean.

Very noisy due to thin walls

As the hotel was crazy packed, breakfast seated places were difficult to find and tables were dirty. We would advise any visitor to go for breakfast around 9:30 rather than 8am

Parking is available but at extra cost

Staff friendly and helpful

Located near the zwack museum which means a bit out centrered location

We would recommend it for short stay but do not expect a 4star standards hotel

MM.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Mr. Marco M,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Budapest stay memorable and enjoyable.
I forward your experiences towards the management in purpose to exam the possibilities to changing on them.
We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szeged, Hungary
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Pluses: Excellent location, close to Raday and Vaci street.Has garage but quite expensive (17€/night) Staff is polite, room is pretty big and. Bed was comfortable, but bathroom is bit worn (stayed in room 617).
Minuses: despite of advertised free high speed internet it is really slow...can't look at a video or download anything. Probably good for browsing only. Air conditioner is an old equipment, loud and does not really provides cool air. Turned on at 22.00 and cooled down somewhat by 04.00. Breakfast is usual continental, but with less options and room is heavyly crowded when hotel is close to full.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with looking at the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denes222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Denes222,


Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Budapest stay memorable and enjoyable.

We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We just stayed at this hotel for a few days away with our son who is 22month. We had room 605 and, this is on the top floor at the front of the hotel. The room was clean and tidy and made up every day. You could hear a little noise from outside at night but it’s not that bad. We requested a cot for our son and this was in the room ready, my son had a good night’s sleep so must have been a good cot.

We had food in the Hummus Bar on the first day this was very good and a good price. We had breakfast on one of the mornings and was disappointed with this. Most of the hot food was cold and not worth the €10 each, the pastries for breakfast were nice and that was about it. As we were in a rush we did not have time to tell the reception desk, we informed them when we check out and they say they would have a talk to the chef.

I was a little disappointed to find out that no coffee or tea was supplied in the room, I like to have a coffee when getting ready in the morning. We had a kettle and 2 mugs in the room, so when I asked at reception, I was told this is not supplied as guests don’t want this. I was told I have to pay for this at the bar or bring my own. I have never stayed at a hotel before were coffee and tea was not supplied.

Would we stay at this hotel again! YES we would, we would not have breakfast and would see that I take coffee, sugar and get milk from the shop over the road.

Room Tip: Take your own Coffee and Tea as this is not Supplied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andras K, Front Office Manager at Leonardo Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Adrian H,

Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal:guest satisfaction.
We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Budapest stay memorable and enjoyable.
Your opinion is important and has a big vale for us, I will forward them to the right department to search for possibilities of supply the demands.

We hope we can welcome you again in Leonardo Hotels!
Best Regards

Andras Kiss I Front Office Manager
Leonardo Hotel Budapest | Tompa u. 30-34 | 1094 Budapest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#131 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Ibis Styles Budapest City
#42 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#115 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Danubius Hotel Arena
#127 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Budapest

Property: Leonardo Hotel Budapest
Address: Tompa utca 30-34., Budapest 1094, Hungary (Formerly Ramada Budapest)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Budapest offers 182 comfortable and modern rooms to make a perfect holiday experience. Connecting rooms are perfect for families. The hotel provides 4 rooms to physically challenged guests. The Comfort Room with 20 sqm features cozy interior facilities such as air conditioning, free W-LAN, flat-TV, safe, fridge, desk, telephone, and in-room heating. The bathroom is equipped with shower or bathtub, toilet and hairdryer. Superior Room Additionally to the amenities of the Comfort Room, the elegant Superior Room with 28 sqm provides a comfortable sitting area with sofa bed and arm chair to ensure a comfortable stay. The bathroom is equipped in addition to shower, toilet and hairdryer as well with a bidet. Junior Suite The spacious Junior Suite with 40 sqm is the perfect place to settle back. In addition to all amenities of the Comfort Room the living area invites to relax with sofa bed and cozy armchairs. The generous bathroom offers shower, toilet, hairdryer and bidet. Deluxe Suite In addition to the amenities of the Junior Suite, the luxurious Deluxe Suite offers a separate living area. Spacious rooms and modern interior maximize the feel-at-home atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Budapest
Budapest Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing