We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated hotel retaining some of its Architectural Elegance!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Budapest Centrum
Ranked #75 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel is located on a busy commercial street somewhat removed from the major tourist attractions of Budapest. It is, however, well served by several public transit options. As an older hotel, the lobby, restaurant, and internal central staircase retain some of the old, characteristic elegance typical of hotels of the past. The remainder of the hotel (rooms, bar area, business center, etc.) has been updated to current standards. Reception staff is helpful and friendly. We found the internet service to be good. The restaurant has an excellent breakfast buffet with almost any option you might desire. We dined in the bar one evening, and had a group dinner in the restaurant on another - in both cases the food was good. Rooms were comfortable, and had an updated bath. We were traveling as a part of a group, and did not select this hotel ourselves, but overall, were quite satisfied with the selection.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OTCarter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear OTCarter1,

We are delighted that you posted such a nice review on TripAdvisor! Thank you very much for your kind comments which have already been forwarded to the staff. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel and were satisfied with all the services we provided.

It is our hope that you will choose us during your next Europe trip, too.

We are looking forward to seeing you in Novotel Budapest Centrum again!

Yours Sincerely,
The Staff of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 768 of 1,933 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

A group of 18 of us stayed over a weekend. Overall we had a good stay there. We had a couple of issues by the rude night receptionist. He seemed to think it was my fault that my key card had stopped working and he made it known it was a chore to create a new one. The following evening I misplaced my card. The same rude receptionist started shouting at me that I did this *every* night and then continued shouting at me in Hungarian. This wasn't true but even if I did this every night I spent in the hotel I would expect hotel staff to act professionally. Very disappointed. Let the hotel down in a big way. Other members of our group also had issues with this guy. Very unprofessional!
The breakfast is poor in comparison to a UK hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g4lly1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear g4lly1973,

First of all thank you very much for your feedback on Novotel Budapest Centrum.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you had to experience but I can assure you the matter is being looked into.
Feel free to contact me or my colleagues directly on H3560-FO@accor.com to discuss this further.

Kind Regards,
The team of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on a main busy busy street. The people at the front desk and in the restaurant are helpful and efficient. The restaurant breakfast buffet is very nice with a wide selection of items from which to choose. However, the room is just okay. A little drab but has high ceilings to help make up for the blah feel. The bathroom also smelled of mildew. Overall I would say its so so for its class of hotel. -- we really enjoyed the xo bistro (about a 10 min walk). Excellent food. Had the duck w risotto, Mediterranean chicken, and two large local draft beers. The bill was 9200F (about $42). The front desk people recommend it- and it is definitely warranted.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LoveEurope6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear LoveEurope6,

I am greatly appreciative of your positive review of your stay on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wide selection of our buffet breakfast- your nice comments have been forwarded to the F&B Team.
Thank you again sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
The team of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a review of the cafe Palace in the Novotel Centrum in Budapest. We just finished one of the best dining experiences that we have had in a long time the food is well prepared, presented excellently, and very flavorful. Service is impeccable. There isla piano playing that tops off the evening. This is worth the trip if you are in Budapest.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 50Stater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear 50Stater,

We are delighted that you wrote such a warm and detailed review concerning your experience at our restaurant, Café Palace.
The satisfaction of our guests is extremely important to us therefore we have shared your comments with the dinner team. It is always a pleasure to know that our efforts have been appreciated.

Thank you very much for emphasizing the services and the food as well; Hopefully we have a chance to serve you again in the not so distant future.

We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again!

Yours sincerely,

The Team of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great hotel, clean, comfortable, great service, nice breakfast, close to transportation,
I would not stay there again only because across the street there is a bus stop, there are so many buses the area is black from the soot of the buses, you can hardly breathe, because of the buses its a very very dirty area with less than stellar people.
The hotel itself is great but the area is less than desirable

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Jeager,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at Novotel Budapest Centrum.

We are glad that in general you enjoyed your stay with us – we have forwarded your very kind comments to the staff. Happy to read that you enjoyed the wide selection of the breakfast in our restaurant, Café Palace. Its interior design has a unique style – Art Nouveau - which is related with modernity in services.

Furthermore, please accept our sincerest apologies because of the noise which was caused by the bus. Next time do not hesitate to let us know your preferences and we will happily assign a room for you at the inner-courtyard upon availability.
We very much appreciate your feedback and it is our hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the hotel again.

Kind regards,

Team of Novotel Budapest Centrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Good hotel close to the Jewish quarter and its 'ruinpubs'. We asked for a quiet room, and got one, which we really appreciated. The downside was that unfortunately the room was a bit dark. It didn't really matter, though, because it was large, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank FormidableMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Marie-Claude G,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your stay at the Novotel Budapest Centrum. Happy to read that you could easily reach the main sights of Budapest. Hopefully you had a memorable holiday in Hungary. It is a pleasure to hear that the room met with your expectations.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you in Novotel Budapest Centrum in the near future again!

Kind regards,
Team of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Budapestfor4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Danube
#64 of 336 in Budapest
1,800 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#62 of 336 in Budapest
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#45 of 336 in Budapest
4,558 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#49 of 336 in Budapest
1,030 reviews
NH Budapest City
#73 of 336 in Budapest
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Budapest Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest Centrum

Address: Rakoczi ut 43-45, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Budapest
#50 Business Hotel in Budapest
#53 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#61 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £54 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest Centrum is a 4 star hotel close to the business centres and major cultural attractions of Budapest. Business travellers will find WiFi internet and seven meeting rooms at their disposal. A beautiful place to stay on holiday in Budapest, the Novotel features a restaurant, bar, gym, jacuzzi and sauna, all in a charming, heritage protected building with modern additions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Budapest Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Centrum Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Centrum
Budapest Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing