We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Budapest Centrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Budapest Centrum
Ranked #78 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here on a short break in mid March. Found the room pleasant and the bed comfortable. WiFi worked. Breakfast in the lovely restaurant was excellent with a superb selection of different food. The location is good. There is a metro station a few yards away but it is a relatively easy walk to the river, the main touristy street and the old covered market. In the other direction, Andrassy Avenue. We found a number of places to eat in the evenings only a short walk from the hotel, including the fabulous New York Cafe which is unmissable. Felt perfectly safe in the area at night. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anz8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear anz8080,

Thank you for your precious time taken to share your experience with us. We are glad to see that you were satisfied with our hotel and the services met with your expectations.
Your valuable feedback regarding our location is also highly appreciated.

Let me thank you for staying with us and it is a pleasure to hear that you would recommend us to the travel community!

I do hope that we may have the pleasure to welcome you again in Novotel Budapest Centrum.

Kind Regards,

Team of Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    763
    232
    48
    15
See reviews for
453
521
78
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiryat Yam, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Novotel Centrum Budapest for 8 nights.
The rooms were warm and welcoming; clean, organized and well improvised. We stayed oj a bed and
breakfast basis, which was rich, diverae and tasty!!!
I strongly recommend the Novotel Centrum in Budapest.

Helpful?
1 Thank DanSky84
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear DanSky84,

Happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and wrote such a nice review on TripAdvisor.
It is always a pleasure to know when our efforts are appreciated and remembered.
Your nice comments will be forwarded to the Team ; we are all pleased that you were satisfied with the room and the breakfast.
We very much appreciate your feedback and it is our hope that we will have the opportunity to accommodate you in the hotel again.

Kind regards,

Team of Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Average Hotel. Small rooms. The staff unfriendly. You can reach most of the important places by walk, but not less than in 30 min. You may find supermarkets and Restaurants around (neither of them very nice). After 8 PM is not recommended to walk around the area of the Hotel. The parking is a public one besides the Hotel. Depending on the value you are paying is good or bad choice. I would rather choice a Hotel closer to the Danubio and the historic center (much nicer area).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatiasC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear MatiasC27,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Budapest Centrum.

I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent stay in our hotel.
We have realized that our hotel did not meet your expectations; Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you had to experience.
Your feedback regarding the behavior of the staff and rooms have already forwarded to the management.

Thank you for calling our attention for your experiences; it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Team of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from our first city break to Budapest. The hotel was perfect for what we needed. Somewhere to sleep after days of exploring this fascinating city.
The breakfasts were excellent and really set us up for the day. Rooms are fine and although I've stayed in more exclusive resorts this was ideal for the 4 of us.
Budapest is a safe, clean and exciting city to look around with stunning views around every corner. We used the Hop on Hop off buses (red) and for 2 days we roamed the city jumping off at places that took our fancy.
Food was brilliant and plentiful. Street food to nice restaurants. We used Trip Advisor as our guide.
Check out The Trap for something a bit different!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnNorthamptonshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear JohnNorthamptonshire,

First and foremost let me thank you for your positive feedback about your recent stay.

Your kind words regarding the wide selection of the buffet breakfast and the location of ours are highly appreciated.
I am happy to read that you had overall a pleasant stay with us and you were satisfied with our services.
I would like to thank you again for having chosen our hotel and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in Budapest.

Kind Regards,

The team of Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel itself is nice and clean and the staff are helpful, even the rooms are really nice.

The bad:

Dodgy area, next to square full of drunks and homeless people, with queues for the soup kitchens.

Last week it was really warm in Budapest, the Air con is not switched on until the summer, so you think you have the cooler on when you are just blowing warm air, they do net tell you this until I asked reception. So you open the doors - If you can sleep through the wail of sirens all night and excessive car noise you will be ok.

Also they have these huge square pillows which have no firmness, they offer soft medium and hard and they are all soft.

I have never slept so bad in a hotel, lucky I was not paying for it as I was on business.

Overall avoid and head further down to the tourist area, I wouldn't want to take my family due to the rough area this hotel is located in.

Room Tip: Sorry no good tips for this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear James R,

Thank you for posting your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay.
We are very sorry to learn from your comment that our services and the location were not up to your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and let me ensure you that we take all guest remarks very seriously and we are doing every effort to improve our services.

Concerning the surrondings I would like to kindly inform you that together with the other hotels within this area we join to find the solution for this matter.

We really hope that despite of your disappointment, we have the opportunity to welcoming you again at our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
The team of Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Don't understand those who complain about Novotel Centrum. Excellent location (only 30 meters from metro station), nice and clean rooms, good breakfast. Booked executive room with free minibar and free access to executive lounge. Really enjoyed sauna, Jacuzzi and massage. If you want to spend nice week end in Budapest, Novotel Centrum would be an excellent choice. Just go ahead and book it!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive room. It give an opportunity to check out late (till 16:00) for free, plus oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaNar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear JaNar,

We are delighted to read you review concerning your stay at Novotel Budapest Centrum.

Your compliments regarding the cleanliness and the room have been forwarded to the staff. Receiving positive comments from satisfied clients is the greatest reward for us.

Thank you very much for highlighting the executive rooms of ours and the central location of the hotel; it is easy to reach the main sights in Budapest from the hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you in Novotel Budapest Centrum again!

Yours Sincerely,

Team of Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The best thing about the hotel is it's location. The room was clean but the bed was hard and I woke up with back pain every day. Though they switched out the pillows at our request it was still uncomfortable. The worst part is the lack of air conditioning. The first night we brought it up no one even addressed our concerns at all. The 2nd time we brought it up they said the unit was not on. For some reason I thought they said they would turn it on but what they said was they would unlock the window, which they did not. The third time we asked about it someone finally came up to open the windows, but on a main street with ambulances and noises going all times of the night it was not easy to sleep. The majority of the front staff was helpful but there was also a rude employee but my biggest complaint was the lack of reliability on the wake up call. Two out of three times they missed our wake up call even after we were assured twice by two different people we would get a wake up call for the airport. I rarely write reviews for hotels but I felt I had to share my disappointment in this one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loan724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Ioan724,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Budapest Centrum.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations in all aspects; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Our team stay at your disposal to discuss this unpleasant situation on H3560-FO@accor.com.

Thank you again for calling our attention for your experiences and it is our hope that despite your mixed feelings, we will have the opportunity to accomodate you again in our hotel in the not so distant future.


Kind Regards,
The team of Novotel Budapest Centrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Novotel Budapest Danube
#57 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#37 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#59 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
NH Budapest City
#70 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Budapest Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest Centrum

Property: Novotel Budapest Centrum
Address: Rakoczi ut 43-45, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Budapest
#53 Family Hotel in Budapest
#55 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#61 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest Centrum is a 4 star hotel close to the business centres and major cultural attractions of Budapest. Business travellers will find WiFi internet and seven meeting rooms at their disposal. A beautiful place to stay on holiday in Budapest, the Novotel features a restaurant, bar, gym, jacuzzi and sauna, all in a charming, heritage protected building with modern additions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Budapest Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Centrum Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Centrum
Budapest Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing