We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, good breakfast, overall a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Budapest Centrum
Ranked #76 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Went there for a two days business trip. It is very conveniently located, a couple of blocks away from the famous New York bar and 15' away from very nice pedestrian area of Budapest, but overall I find the hotel a bit dated. Breakfast was nice though, with plenty of cold meat that people from Hungary love to eat in the morning.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Frenchfrog39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Frenchfrog39,

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Novotel Budapest Centrum.

Thank you very much for highlighting the central location of the hotel – hopefully you could easily reach many sights of the city and you had a memorable stay in Budapest.

Furthermore, it is a pleasure to know that you were satisfied with the breakfast and it was up to your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel again; check our website for the next offers!

Kind regards,

The Team of the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a European tour. There was a charming old world ambiance in the public areas. It,s a pity that the character of the hotel was not extended to the rooms, they were large and clean but without any character at all. Being on the main road the nights were rather noisy. The hot water seemed to be turned off at night so if you were having an early start to your day a shower was out of the question.
We were part of a coach tour and were given a seperate part of the dining room. The food was not great and barely warm enough. The pianist playing during in the meal was a nice touch though and the service was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank greatobealive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear greatobealive,

We appreciate for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback!
Thank you for emphasizing the unique interior design of our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read kind words from our guests.

Concerning the room design we would like to kindly inform you that the room, and the various services offered to customers, are determined by the international standards of the Novotel brand.

It is our hope that if you had any inconveniences than it has been solved during your stay.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,

The Team of Novotel Budapest Centrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Should stay somewhere else, and you just long for a greatly delicious lunch or dinner in a wonderful, art nouveau-style restaurant, Café Palace is a superb decision. The atmosphere is friendly, the staff is helpful without being pushy, the service is quick and perfect. And the food - though the menue is not 32 pages, the international and Hungarian cuisine is well represented. We try both, and the experience was simply fabulous. Should you book your table in advance, the friendly confirmation includes also a parking solution, what, in that part of the city is a true bliss. Congratulations!
Hope the chef does not mind one little advice, one single word: túrógombóc... Just for a change sometime. It is so delicios and so unique...
Otherwise: 5 points, no doubts about that.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Aagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Aagnus,

We are delighted that you were satisfied with our restaurant in every way. It is a pleasure to read that the service and the food also has met your expectations.

Thank you very much for emphasizing the unique interior design of our restaurant, Café Palace. We are very proud of the cultural heritage which is represented by the building.

We very much appreciate your compliments concerning the staff and it is our hope that we can welcome you in our hotel in the near future again.

Sincerely Yours,

Team of the Novotel Budapest Centrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Staff very helpfull and friendly. They provided everything I requested, no problems. Good room and facilities. Nice restaurant. Well located, very close to the metro station, bus and train. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
1  Thank MMBSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear MMBSB,

Happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and wrote such a nice review on TripAdvisor.
It is always a pleasure to know when our efforts are appreciated and remembered.

Your nice comments will be forwarded to the Team ; we are all pleased that you were satisfied with the staff and with your room as well.

We very much appreciate your feedback and it is our hope that we will have the oppurtunity to accommodate you in the hotel again.

Kind regards,

Team of the Novotel Budapest Centrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We chose this hotel partly because of its Pest location but particularly because of its historic grandness. It's certainly well situated a few yards from a Metro station and tram interchange. We were greeted by friendly staff and given keycards for our spacious double bedroom and bathroom...with bath as well as shower. It had teamaking facilities although the kettle must have had the world's shortest lead. Service throughout was generally good although a tip is to hide any spare tea and coffee making sachets as replenishment is frugal.
An extra word of warning is that whilst we had a room at the front of the hotel, because of the high June temperatures,on the first night, we kept the windows open. BIG mistake.....to say it sounded like we had a grandstand seat at LeMans would be an understatement together with the cacophony created by what must be the world's loudest Police and Ambulance sirens. In fairness, other nights were fine sleepwise when we closed the windows and relied on the aircon.
There is an atmospheric café style dining room but it's far from cheap so we relied on some excellent breakfast fodder which we brought to our room from the supermarket conveniently situated opposite.
incidentally a tip for the visitor is definitely to buy an £11 Travel Pass which covered all forms of public transport for three days...purchased at the nearby Metro station.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baltyingbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear baltyingbrummie,

Thank you for sharing your kind and detailed review with us on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to see that our hotel and the services met your expectations and you had overall a pleasant stay with us.
Concerning the noise from the main street, next time please let us know your preferences and we will happily assign an inner-courtyard room for you upon availability.

I would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The team of the Novotel Budapest Centrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel location is not supercentral but just a few metro or tramstops from most attractions. Nice spacious rooms, comfortable, clean and wellkept. Breakfast is fine, varied and overall good quality. Staff at breakfast can improve service, tables not so clean, always very busy but hard to get their attention.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VINCE24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear VINCE24,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your stay at the Novotel Budapest Centrum. Happy to read that you could easily reach the main sights of Budapest. Hopefully you had a memorable holiday in Hungary. It is a pleasure to hear that the room met with your expectations.

I am sorry to learn from your comment that you have experienced some problems in connection with the staff during the breakfast; Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences.

However we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you in the near future again!

Kind regards,

The team of the Novotel Budapest Centrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hotel is located just 2 mins walk from Blaha Lujza ter Metro 2 line station.
Staffs were very unfriendly and rude on two occasions.
Upon check-out at the reception desk, i was the only customer. I stood there like a fool looking at two of their female staffs chatting to each other without even looking at me.

Such a beautiful city, but the feeling i got from their local people wasn't welcoming at all.
Overall the hotel room and quality was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaximusTjoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUALITYCOORDINATOR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Budapest Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear MaximusTjoa,

First of all, thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor website.

I am really sorry to hear that our services have not met your expectation. Your feedback regarding the behavior of the staff have already shared with the team; Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate steps to prevent similar cases in the future.

Thank you again for calling our attention for your experiences and it is our hope that despite of your disappointment, we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Team of the Novotel Budapest Centrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Danube
#63 of 336 in Budapest
1,758 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#55 of 336 in Budapest
406 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#51 of 336 in Budapest
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#61 of 336 in Budapest
1,582 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
Novotel Budapest City Hotel
#93 of 336 in Budapest
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Budapest Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest Centrum

Address: Rakoczi ut 43-45, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Budapest
#50 Business Hotel in Budapest
#52 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#61 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £50 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest Centrum is a 4 star hotel close to the business centres and major cultural attractions of Budapest. Business travellers will find WiFi internet and seven meeting rooms at their disposal. A beautiful place to stay on holiday in Budapest, the Novotel features a restaurant, bar, gym, jacuzzi and sauna, all in a charming, heritage protected building with modern additions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Budapest Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Centrum Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Centrum
Budapest Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing