We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wunderfull stay in a fantastic room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Ranked #96 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
s'Gravenhage
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“We had a wunderfull stay in a fantastic room!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just a three day stay this time. Thanks to the hotel manager we got a fantastic double room with a stunning view from the balcony, overlooking the Danube, the Liberty Bridge an Gellért Hill. The hotel is almost a hundred years old which is visible in some areas, but it is beautiful and charming. The staff was very friendly and helpful, as always. Breakfast is included in your stay and very luxurious. Really elaborate, it's fresh and well displayed. I loved every time I stayed in the Gellért, and I will go back for more!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna630_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Anna630_5,

We do thank you that you have chosen to stay in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT several times. It was a pleasure for me to offer the best available room for you and we are grateful for your very kind comments after every stay on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind feedback like "the hotel is almost a hundred years old,...but it is beautiful and charming...the staff was very friendly and helpful ".You wrote: I will go back for more,- you are welcome just let me be informed about your arrival,so I could assign a nice room again.
Sincerely and my kindest regards,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,598
    2,534
    1,156
    448
    224
See reviews for
942
2,053
870
853
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a historical hotel with its own charm. We liked it because we were prepared for some snags due to the age of the place. The staff was helpful however the spa staff was rather grumpy both in the early mornings and later in the day The floors of the spa are not so clean looking! With all that aside the Baths are gorgeous and a must!
Our room faced the Danube with a very pleasant view. Unfortunetaly it was noisy with the trolley sounds which go late at night. We could not sleep with the window open.
Also, our bathroom had a slight smell of sewage fumes. Our next visit in Budapest, we may want to try a newer hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marielle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Marielle_11

Many thanks for your friendly review on TripAdvisor about your recent vacaton in our hotel. Yes we agree there are many trams and trolleys even during the late night hours. Some guests say: "very good and efficient public transportation" I suggest, during your next trip ask for a room vith a hillside view, they are more silent and even cooler. "the floors of the spa are not so clean" they are mostly from 1918.
Thank you for praising our staff :"the staff was helpful "

Kindest regards,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We walked to this beautiful bath from the city center. 15 minutes across the green bridge. The recepsion staff is very helpful, 3 young ladies guided us to the entrance of the Spa. They do not give us towels, so we got towels from the hotel. Very well organized staff, they did their best for us - massage reservation is necessary, all masseuse were busy. The hotel offered o combo: bath and lunch package for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Daer Lasse M,

Many thanks for your kind feedback on Tripadvisor, We were happy to read how much you have enjoyed the Thermal Bath. We appreciate your kind remarks like "very well organized staff,... the hotel offered a combo:bath and lunch package for a reasonable price."
We do hope that the next time we will be able to host you in the Gellért hotel too.

Best regards,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well this hotel is a fading madame. She has seen better days. While perfectly located on the Danube walking distance from downtown and the market, she has certainly seen better days. The rooms are dated. The carpets irregular and worn. The rooms have some strange orientations. One I was in was more like the Oval Office than a conventional hotel room.
It does have a large spa attached to the hotel which would certainly be a draw for certain people.
But for me it was simply tired.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tytaany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Tytaany,

We totally agree with your comments "fading madame...she has seen better days". However there is a special atmosphere what like most of the guests. Despite your comment we do thank you for having chosen our hotel for your vacation and for taking your time for a short feedback on Tripadvisor. Yes the hotel will have to close for a total refurbishment we do have the plans ready for this - but this had to be postponed because of the financial crisis, and at present we do not have the information when this refurbishment will start. The sooner the better!

Kindest regards,
Mihály Vásony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is an old hotel so equipment etc. not perfect but added to the charm. A great location with a lovely view of the Danube. We had a balcony room and it was romantic. We loved the spa and there was also an outdoor pool with wave machine (fun!). It was so convenient to be able to go there from our room in a bathrobe over swimming gear.
Staff in the hotel were friendly and the breakfast had a lot of choice. The bar was good and the beer lovely and cool as Budapest was really hot.
The bistro restaurant had good food and was good value. We did not go to the posh restaurant upstairs or the coffee shop with delicious-looking cakes.
The final bill was less than expected. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita3695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear anita3695,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment on TripAdvisor about your recent vacation in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT. We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our hotel.Your opinion on the hotel and on our services is really interesting for the management - thank you! We are pleased that generally you had a good experience that "it was so convenient to be able to go /to the spa / from our room in a bathrobe ....the bistro restaurant had good food and was good value " - many thanks.
"I would stay here again " please do return we will be more than happy to welcome you in the GELLÉRT hotel again..

Kindest regards,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
*
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has had better days but the staff were fantastic , helpful and friendly!!!

It is attached to the famous Gellert baths which you should go to - but pack flip flops because the tile floors don't look that great.

Still an interesting experience and the hop in/ hop off bus stops out front...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cguu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Cguu,

We do thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor about your recent vacation in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT, and we are happy that you have chosen to stay with us. We appreciate your kind praise " the staff were fantastic "
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon in the Gellért hotel!

Kindest regards,

Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carno, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good food, good service, could really do with a wash and brush up, but, saying that we had a good stay for two day, lovely city. The spa is worth a visit, free with your nights stay, breakfast is buffet style, which was excellent

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanyllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Tanyllyn,

We do thank you for your short comment on TripAdvisor about your vacation in the Danubius hotel GELLÉRT.
We appreciate your kind feedback "good food,good service ...we had a good stay for two day,l ovely city "
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,283 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,406 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Property: Danubius Hotel Gellert
Address: Szent Gellert ter 2., Budapest 1114, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#65 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau style Danubius Hotel Gellert first opened its doors in 1918, and has long been an iconic Budapest landmark that has even featured in Hollywood films. Its stately building, at the foot of the Gellert hill, also houses the world-famous Gellert Baths, which include an outdoor pool with the original wave-generating device installed in 1927. Over the years, some famous names have stayed at the Gellert – including American presidents and European royalty – and the hotel retains the elegant atmosphere of a bygone age. Guests can enjoy superb cuisine at the Panorama Restaurant or Gellert Brasserie, and take advantage of wellness treatments and medical programmes at the adjacent Gellert Baths. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect base for exploring, located next to one of Budapest’s most beautiful bridges and a short walk from Pest’s Great Market Hall and shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing