We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly faded glory but great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Ranked #102 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A good sized room with decent facilities without those expected of a 4star spa hotel. The staff were very helpful in a second language. Good location for walking and public transport. Good access to gellert baths and good breakfast selection and self service organisation.Slight problem with the noisy air conditioning. Overlooking the slightly shabby decor, this is a good hotel

Room Tip: A view of the Danube is a good idea but be prepared for noise from the tram traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulharnby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear paulharnby,

We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our Danubius Hotel Gellért and we thank you for taking the time for a feedback on TripAdvisor. We are really pleased that you had spent a great time here.

We do appreciate your kind comments like "the staff were very helpful...good location for walking and public transport....good breakfast selection”

Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the GELLÉRT.


Best regards,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,513 - 3,519 of 7,142 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

If you want a stark modern hotel, this is not for you. What this hotel is old grandure charm. Yes it does need some tender loving care but I have not stayed in a hotel that has stained glass on the stairways, lots of marble, loads of very ornate period features. Booked a room either over looking Danube or the hill. Upgraded to a river view with a balcony. Absolutely perfect! Room was large, very comfortable bed. Was not noisy at all as per previous comments. Reception staff, always helpful. Excellent breakfast, from usual continental to bacon and eggs. Coffee/tea plentiful, something to suit most tastes. Bathrobes in room to wander down to the thermal baths. Baths very relaxing, take advantage of using the free entry. Bar in reception, very nice and friendly barman. Bigger bar, well it would have been if the staff smiled and thats my only negative comment.
Overall great hotel, great location and would i stay there again. Most definatly yes!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Kaen M,
We would like to thank you for this very positive note about our Danubius Hotel Gellért. Thank you for having chosen our property for your Budapest vacation and for taking the time for this comment on TripAdvisor.
We do appreciate your review "this hotel is old world charm....room was large, very comfortable bed...reception staff always helpful...excellent breakfast...bathrobes in the room to wander down to the thermalbath"- thank you! It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you had an overall positive impression of the Gellért - "and would I stay there again, most definitely yes!" In case you have really made up your mind for a return visit kindly let me know your arrival details.
Kindest regards,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I read many reviews on trip advisor before selecting this hotel,my view,period hotel,beautiful features,some requiring repair,overall excellent service clean comfortable room overlooking the Danube,hotel arranged taxi to and from airport.the spa is well worth the visit,wallow in the hot pools or swim in the main pool and try the excellent sauna and steam room.for extra relaxation try the Thai massage 1st floor of the hotel but ask for the private room otherwise you are in a curtained area with others coming in and out and its not relaxing at all.
Overall thoroughly recommend the hotel if you have any issues they are quickly dealt with by a good management team.local to the hotel are a spar shop many cafes and shops across the bridge more shopping and an indoor market,great short break,try a river cruise too.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony with Danube view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Alan M,
We would like to thank you for this very positive note about our Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT. Thank you for having chosen our property for your Budapest vacation and for taking the time for this comment on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your kind feedback "overall excellent service, clean comfortable room overlooking the Danube....the spa is well worth a visit"- thank you.
A big thank you for sharing your positive experience with other travellers and we do hope to be able to welcome you back in the Gellért soon.
Sincerely,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our first visit to Budapest and we were very apprehensive after reading some of the reviews of the Gellert Hotel but upon arrival I can honestly say we were "blown away" by this beautiful hotel. From our first entrance to our departure four days later we had nothing but praise for the wonderful treatment that we received from ALL staff. A very charming male receptionist informed us that we had been upgraded to a superior room and it was WOW when we went in. Yes, some parts are a bit jaded but we felt it still seemed grand.. We loved the decor in the room and the view from the balcony over the Danube was simply superb. The corridors and staircases with the beautiful stained windows were very impressive. We had no complaints about the standard of cleanliness in the room, large bathroom with beautiful white fluffy towels and hot shower. Bathrobes are provided in your room if you wish to visit the renowned thermal spa and swimming pool, which we did and it was one of the highlights of our visit. Budapest is a beautiful city with many outstanding buildings and bridges and the receptionists were always willing to give advice on where to visit and how to get there with public transport right outside the hotel. The WiFi was excellent and free!!!! Selection of food at breakfast is excellent, all tastes catered for and we had no complaints at all. We decided to book for dinner in the restaurant the night before leaving and it was superb, food, drink and service first class and being serenaded by the Hungarian violinist was the icing on the cake, perfect ending to a wonderful visit. We will certainly be coming back

Room Tip: Rooms with Danube view are wonderful but it can be noisy with trams and other traffic outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Pat B,
We can not thank you enough for your very detailed and kind feedbeck about your recent stay on TripAdvisor. Thank you for having choosen our Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT for your vacation. We are really pleased that you had spent a great time here.
We do thank your kind comment "a very charming male receptionist informed us that we had been upgraded to a superior room..., and praise for the wonderful treatment that we received from ALL staff .. selection of food at breakfast is excellent" - thank you.
"We will certainly be coming back" please do so we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the GELLÉRT
Kindest regards,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

What can I say? I have just got back from a wonderful stay at the Gellert and am wanting to go back already. The rooms,service and the thermal baths are all great. For me, the highlight was the thermal baths. This was my 12th trip to Budapest but it was by far the best. The baths are connected to the hotel and this is very special. The dining options are great, the food is sublime and well cooked. The hotel bar is good and I now a fan of Hungarian Sparkling Wine. I hear that this hotel is set to be modernised. I hope this is not the case, the charm of the Gellert must not be lost. I am already planning my next stay. My room was a single room, but this was fine, it had a nice balcony and such a comfortable bed. The breakfast is very good and filling. Thanks to all the staff who made my stay so memorable

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SebRakThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear SebRakThai,

My sincerest thanks for your review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT. Thank you for having choosen our property. We are truly delighted to read that you had a great stay in the Gellért and in addition "the highlight was the thermal baths.".This kind of feedbacks give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. We thank you for the following "the dining options are great the food is subtime and well cooked... the hotel bar is good and I am now a fan of Hungarian Sparkling Wine".
In case you have really made up your mind for a return visit kindly let me know your arrival details, I herby promise to reserve the best room available or a complimentary upgrade.

Kindest regards,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed there in June 2014 (me and my wife) for a long weekend. The hotel has to be experienced - it really is one of the institutions in Budapest that one needs to experience at least once. It is however a bit worn down. Still, you get the feeling of grandeur. The best thing is that it is connected with the spa which is amazing. We received one free entry since we stayed at the hotel (the entry is in any case not very expensive). Sit back in the 40 degree Turkish bath and enjoy the various characters that come and go.

Room Tip: Our room faced the river. Whereas this gives a nice view, there is abit of noise from the passing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank arniea68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear arniea68,

We can not thank you enough for your very kind feedback on TipAdvisor about your recent "long weekend" stay in the Danubius Hotel GELLÉRT. I am really pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and "the feeling of grandeur". We do appreciate your following comments: "it is really one of the institutions in Budapest that one needs to experience at least once" - thank you!
Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you agaiin in the GELLÉRT

Kindest regards,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Gellert was a lovely experience. Yes it is old, it is in Hungary with the cool feeling of 1920 Budapest to it. The staff was lovely, the hotel is beautiful, but not in the modern way. The rooms are out of date, not fancy or modern, just rooms. The balcony view of the river with huge doors open for the sun and wind to come in, I loved it. The history of the hotel is so neat it is worth staying just to say that you stayed there. Will I go back YES, but if you are used to and want the modern untouched perfection of a new hotel, this is not the place for you. However, if you want to stroll down a staircase that makes you feel like a Queen, looking at stained glass that is stunning, it is 1920 all over again, please stay here, we cannot wait to go back. The food in the breakfast was more than enough with so much to choose that was all fab. In a heartbreaking turn of events on the airplane I had glasses break next to my feet so I had a cut in my foot causing me to miss out on the stunning baths.... so sad so I cannot review them. Gellert staff thank you and we hope to see you again sooner than later ~

Room Tip: If you are a city girl, room looking over the river where the trolley car noise is a welcome sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmeraldPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear EmeraldPoppy,

We are pleased that you have chosen to stay in our Danubius Hotel Gellért and we thank you for taking the time for a feedback on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate your comments like "The Gellért was a lovely experience...the staff was lovely...”.
We thank you and very kind of you. "Will I come back YES!” - we really hope to see you again.
Once again a "Grand Merci" for your kind review!

Kindest regards,
Mihaly Vasony
Guest Relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#45 of 336 in Budapest
4,555 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,570 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Address: Szent Gellert ter 2., Budapest 1114, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#46 Family Hotel in Budapest
#75 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £66 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau style Danubius Hotel Gellert first opened its doors in 1918, and has long been an iconic Budapest landmark that has even featured in Hollywood films. Its stately building, at the foot of the Gellert hill, also houses the world-famous Gellert Baths, which include an outdoor pool with the original wave-generating device installed in 1927. Over the years, some famous names have stayed at the Gellert – including American presidents and European royalty – and the hotel retains the elegant atmosphere of a bygone age. Guests can enjoy superb cuisine at the Panorama Restaurant or Gellert Brasserie, and take advantage of wellness treatments and medical programmes at the adjacent Gellert Baths. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect base for exploring, located next to one of Budapest’s most beautiful bridges and a short walk from Pest’s Great Market Hall and shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing