We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Ranked #102 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Gellert hotel in Budapest is a grand old building with few amenities. Even the "Superior" room has only a noisy portable airconditioner. Don't even think about booking an Economy room because it does not have airconditioning and the beds are awful. The beds in the Superior rooms are tolerable at best. Also, at check out, I gave them some cash (HUF's) to apply towards the bill and they didn't. I realized this once we got back home. We trust hotels in general but in this case I guess the clerk decided to keep the cash hoping that I wouldn't notice....and I didn't...until I checked my credit card statement when I got back home.
The positives: one trip to the in-house baths are included and the included buffet breakfasts are terrific.

Room Tip: Must choose a "Superior" room at the least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlecksteinMody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear GlecksteinMody,

Your comments are valuably for us, thank you for them. You are right, this is an old building. It was opened in 1918. It needs some money to be spent on, so it can return to its original glory. Until the great refurbishing takes place we are taking smaller steps to make you feel more comfortable. We are changing the mattresses and beds for example. Hope to welcome you in a refurbished hotel the next time you are in Budapest.

Lajos IMRE
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,306 - 3,312 of 6,758 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Excellent service, premises and location in one-of-a-kind atmosphere. Great front-desk assistence, breakfast buffet and cocktail bar. Gellert baths conviniently in same room floor and definitely worth their reputation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Alex O,

Thank you very much for your kind words on our Front Office, breakfast and coctail bar. We try to give the best possible service for our guests.

Best regards,
Lajos IMRE
Front Office Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Such a great old building which must have had a massive wow factor. It is now ageing with some grace. Great location and staff. Good varied breakfast. Beautiful hot spring baths next door with access from inside the hotel - so relaxing.




  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Diana W,

You have very kind words on our Danubius Hotel Gellért. Thank you very much for that. You are right, we are ageing a bit but the staff does its best to make your stay an enjoyable one. We actually have planes now to refurbish the hotel. Restored in its original form and charme, it will be the best in Hungary.

Lajos IMRE
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Gellert fulfills my expectations completely. Although they seem simple, they are not normally met elsewhere. Great Service starting from the door and reception. Combination with bath. No stress with earlyy check-In. calling and Fixing Airport shuttle. Finally free wifi in the room. Specific wish for room (411) always considered. Breakfast satistfactory. Overall service-oriented friendliness of staff. Only Little Thing: mattresses should be harder (French-style) and thus more comfortable for the back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Christian R,

It is always nice to hear complemantary words about our hotel. We try to keep the high standards of service in our truely „one off” property. Having free wifi is just one example of moving in the right direction. The reception and front office will always do its best to make your stay comfortable. We are working on changing the mattresses. Thank you again for your comments.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kindest regards,
Lajos IMRE
Front Office Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A Hotel with great history and hospitality, located at the most beautiful place, close to center and all important and interesting thing Budapest has to show. Since 1972 I´m guest at Gellert and always was the best. I like it very much.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SiegfriedJansel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear SiegfriedJansel,

May I say it is very satisfactory to read your kind words. Hope we can welcome you at the Danubius Hotel Gellert for a long-long time .

Lajos IMRE
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

It needs a romm,s change.
It could be one of the best hotels in Budapest, but it need to be reformed.
An excepcional location but some rooms looks like pensions.
Good breakfast, good termal baths,
Metro in front of hotel and many trams



  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JGA59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear JGA59,

Thank you for your comment. Yes we need an investment to refurbish the whole hotel. The plans are almost ready to go ahead with the project and after that we will then be definitaly the best hotel in Budapest.

Lajos IMRE
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The rooms are a bit outdated, but the charm of this hotel are the Gellert thermal baths. Conveniently the stay in hotel gives you one entry to the baths, so enjoy the full day there even when you can. Just a little note, when you do so, that you need to have a bank card or some cash with you, because in the therms' cafeterias they don't have a system where you could have drinks or food by paying for them on the exit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Vasony, Front Office Manager at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Hettel,

Your discription of the hotel is very flattering. I think you found the ambience of our almost 100 years old establisment. Being 100 years old means, we have a lot of history. We are sharing the building with the spa as we are two separate companies. Maybe in the not too distance future it will be possible to put your spa consumtion charges on your hotel bill as well.

Thank you very much for your comments.

Lajos IMRE
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 335 in Budapest
4,469 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 335 in Budapest
4,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 335 in Budapest
7,442 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,508 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Address: Szent Gellert ter 2., Budapest 1114, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#65 Family Hotel in Budapest
#74 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £57 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau style Danubius Hotel Gellert first opened its doors in 1918, and has long been an iconic Budapest landmark that has even featured in Hollywood films. Its stately building, at the foot of the Gellert hill, also houses the world-famous Gellert Baths, which include an outdoor pool with the original wave-generating device installed in 1927. Over the years, some famous names have stayed at the Gellert – including American presidents and European royalty – and the hotel retains the elegant atmosphere of a bygone age. Guests can enjoy superb cuisine at the Panorama Restaurant or Gellert Brasserie, and take advantage of wellness treatments and medical programmes at the adjacent Gellert Baths. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect base for exploring, located next to one of Budapest’s most beautiful bridges and a short walk from Pest’s Great Market Hall and shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing