We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You cannot upgrade a twin room - biased towards couples” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danubius Hotel Gellert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Ranked #99 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You cannot upgrade a twin room - biased towards couples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

I have stayed in this hotel on two occasions now and due to go back Nov 11th 2010 for 4 nights. Last time I stayed I would say the hotel would have benefited from some financial love and care. Many reviewers have commented on the unfriendlyness and rudeness of the spa staff. This is 100% accurate but the hotel staff are all brilliant, as are the reservations staff.

The hotel is huge and hugely old fashioned but the building is steeped in history and I would hate for all hotels to be chic and boutique. This is neither chic or boutique, it's UNIQUE and that is often better, much better.

Today I asked for my room that I have booked for Nov 11th to be upgraded as I wanted to suprise my friend. I ended up being the one who was suprised as twin rooms are not upgradeable - only doubles can be upgraded. As a single girl who likes tro travel frequently with friends, I am absolutely fed up to the back teeth with hotels who only have basic twin rooms but luscious doubles. I have lost count of how many times I have asked different hotels if their suites are availble for twin occupancy instead of double and they never are. U N A C C E P T A B L E.

I am looking forward to staying in this hotel again and advise others to take the poor reviews with a pinch of salt. Refurbishing a hotel of this size would cost many, many millions and its just fine the way it is. Whilst I love staying in chic hotels as much as the next person, unique beats chic at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,399
    2,226
    1,001
    398
    206
See reviews for
804
1,844
775
722
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We ended up staying at the Gellert due to our prebooked accomodation not being up to standard. Thank goodness for Peter at the Gellert who found 3 rooms for us at such short notice. The staff were fantastic and breakfast top notch. Also the natural spa is great and is complimentary in your nightly rate.
The rooms are a great size with balconies, however there is no airconditioning and you do hear traffic - mainly trams.
This however should not be a deterrent from staying at the Hotel. We loved it...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FGJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ninove, Belgium
Level Contributor
161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

It's the first time that I thought...Next time I have to believe the complainers on Tripadvisor.
Honestly...this hotel is absolutely not a 4-star hotel !
From the outside...it's a 4 star...from the inside, its a 2-star !

The reception: no complains. They were friendly and very helpful ! English is not a problem.
The rooms: we had 2 standard rooms.
The first room for the kids: we came in that room and it was like entering a sauna. Looking for airco ....no airco...only a kind of cooler ...but it was nearly warm air that came out.
We found 5 spiders (big ones) in that room. We killed them and closed the windows.
Also the 2nd room, sauna temperatures, no airco. This room was situated at the street-side...and it was quite noisy when you wanted to sleep with an open window.
In this room....no spiders.
For the rest...both rooms were clean, no further complaints.

The breakfast: not bad.
The brasserie: food was really good.
The pools: very nice !

So we were - for the first time- really disappointed in a 4-star hotel.
I'm sure there are much better hotels in Budapest !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyCau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

The final leg of our Summer 2010 trip was to have been 4 nights at the Gellert. We arrived overnight on the sleeper from Krakow and were pleasantly surprised to hear that our room was ready (once the telephone had been fixed). We debated whether we should look elsewhere given the mix of terrible to good reviews on Trip Advisor but on balance decided to book as we wanted to experience the baths.

We dropped of the bags, freshened up and went out to explore. On our return my wife and children went off to the baths whilst I had a few moments to catch up on missed sleep. However, I spent the next hour geting very wound up about the appalling state of the room. We booked a deluxe suite (it was allegedly the third best room in the hotel) so we could all be together. The room is described as being refurbished and with air conditioning. Where do I start?

The door to the room looks like it is from a prison and the corridor was very unwelcoming.

The beds for the children must have seen service in the Cold War. No springs in the middle to attach the wires to the frame meant that their backsides touched the floor. I spent the night on the settee so one of the children could share the bed.

The carpets were dirty and stained throughout.

There was no double glazing to the front of the room so the traffic (and nearby building site) noise was intrusive.

The air conditioning was a "portable" unit with a hole in the window - it was noisy, ineffective and useless as its small amount of energy blasted straight at a piece of furniture.

The room was like your eccentric great uncle's house - dowdy, dated and dirty. The table was very dusty and the furniture looked like it was from a film set from a bygone age. Wallpaper was peeling off the walls and the decorative quality was like my first attempt at the age of 16.

The bathroom was gross and the ageing shower could only be used held in your hand, otherwise it shot out water horizontally.

The front desk lacks any female staff - we suffered as others have done from a very abrasive gentleman who had no welcoming or redeeming features.

We had to ban our children from the balcony as the railings were in our opinion too low and they were really rusty.

We wanted a memorable experience for the final part of the holiday and this was making us miserable. So we took decisive action and arranged 3 nights at the Intercontinental and checked out next morning. For 5 Euros more we booked two interconnecting rooms with a marvellous breakfast, proper beds and all mod cons in a better location, close to the best sights.

The breakfast was awful - the orange juice was a sherbet mix and the turreens of stew and other weird concoctions beggered belief. There was a small pedal bin on the table for your (and others) rubbish - this was gross and they expect you to pay a 500 HUF service charge for this.

We had booked a meal at the Panorama Restaurant at the hotel. The food and service was good but the gypsy band are a nuisance. We gave them a tip and this just encouraged them to be more persistent. This culminated in us having a CD of their music thrust upon us at the staggering cost of 5,000 HUF - way above street price - and the cheeky band leader put this on our bill, which after some discussion with the staff we manged to get removed and the CD returned to the band.

The family enjoyed the baths (once they negotiated the by now infamous route from the hotel to the baths) but you are only in the baths an hour and have to go back to the room for the rest of the time. So if you want to experience the baths I suggest you pay the day rate and look elsewhere for 21st century luxury.

When we left the duty manager said he understood why we were leaving and he was genuinely saddened that the lack of investment was undermining the hotels ability to compete. Dannubius needs to invest and soon, otherwise this place will get worse. You have been warned - avoid.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quinnkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

If you want all the mod cons and impersonal "could be anywhere" atmosphere of a modern hotel then don't come here. If you want somewhere with individuality, class and style, then visit. It's a gen from a former age that oozes class.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

What an amazing hotel, you really are in a different country here and you do get a feel for old Budapest - much better than the bog standard branded hotels you can get. We loved the old world ambience and the facilities of the themal baths. The hotel offered great value and atmosphere and we enjoyed being in the city but being able to sun bathe by the outdoor pool too. Breakfast was good and we were able to take it on the balcony. Our room was OK but way TOO HOT in July - sleeping was difficult, a fan would be a great asset in the summer, but I guess the room is fine other times of the year. The location of the hotel is fantastic just a short walk across the bridge to the main street and right on the Danube. Glorious sights especially at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

We arrived in Budapest in the middle of a heatwave at the end of June 2010 so the outddor pools proved to be an absolute blessing. As we got home hot and sticky after a day's sightseeing it was a pleasure to cool down in them. There's a large poll with waves which is good fun and the small one with the warm water is nice for relaxing.
I fully agree with the previous comments about the hotel itself. The rooms are a bit dated but the place oozes character. Breakfast was lovely and I found the staff very helpful and friendly.
If I come to Budapest in the summer again I will definitely stay here because of the pools. In winter it might be worth trying another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PracticallyPerfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#37 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,109 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Gellert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Property: Danubius Hotel Gellert
Address: Szent Gellert Ter 1, Budapest 1111, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#65 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau style Danubius Hotel Gellert first opened its doors in 1918, and has long been an iconic Budapest landmark that has even featured in Hollywood films. Its stately building, at the foot of the Gellert hill, also houses the world-famous Gellert Baths, which include an outdoor pool with the original wave-generating device installed in 1927. Over the years, some famous names have stayed at the Gellert – including American presidents and European royalty – and the hotel retains the elegant atmosphere of a bygone age. Guests can enjoy superb cuisine at the Panorama Restaurant or Gellert Brasserie, and take advantage of wellness treatments and medical programmes at the adjacent Gellert Baths. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect base for exploring, located next to one of Budapest’s most beautiful bridges and a short walk from Pest’s Great Market Hall and shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing