We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pension Helios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pension Helios
Ranked #96 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed 3 night here. Nice hotel on the top of the hill with city view.
Good:
-nice neighbourhood , safe area
-quiet location, no street noise
-excellent reception
- tourist and money exchange advice
- daily maid service
- has fan and fridge
- clean
- Budapest card sold here


Improvement
-bad fridge noise, have to power off in the night. As it remains cool in the morning when I turn the power back on so it's fine with me.
-shower head was off the track, need repair
- only take cash payment, but they do offer 5% discount for the cash payment
-no AC, some nights are very hot here
- cleaning the checked out room starts early in the morning, I can hear the noise but not big deal.
-location bit far. about 30 minutes bus to the city, but the connection is easy.
- 5 minutes walking up from bus stop, without car and lots of luggage might be a concern.

Transport:
If u use Budapest card, for Buda meeting point(castle hill). Bus 8( 2 stop) > tram 59( from Marton aron ter 11 stops)> Bus 16( 5 stops) Meet outside tourist info .
For Pest meeting point: Bus 8-->bus 9 (2 stops from Astoria M) meet outside tourist info

It's value for money, paid less than €32 per night. Top customer service in my 2 months trip in the EU cities. Big help from Josh for valuable advice. Not sure about the star rate, but it's better than many so called 3 star hotels Ihave stayed in the last two months

Will recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor if u prefer city view, otherwise middle floor has the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    109
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
101
106
37
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

It is the greate plesuare to stay in Helios Hotel. Very nice people and place. Comfortable and quiet. Hotel personal are friendly. Comvinient location, very simple to get to downtown by bus. Very nice view from the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RanJournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for three nights and found it to be very nice. Room was clean and had a balcony where we could sit in the evening and enjoy the views. Warm water flow in the shower could have been better, now it was kind of brittish if you know what I mean.
The staff was very helpful with everything from supplying bus tickets to calling the local restaurant to ensure that they kept the kitchen open a bit longer for us. We could park our car inside their locked garden, probably not needed as the area seems very calm and nice, but better safe than sorry. The room rate was good but we found the breakfast price a little bit high, not expensive but still.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael_Kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

It is the third time I'm spending my vacantion on Budapest, staying at Helios Hotel.
I'm very pleased by the services and my kids love to play in the backyard, while we are preparing to go downtown, which is easy to do by car or even by bus.

I mostly appreciate that the hotel has free private parking, which can be a real problem in the center hotels...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel Pension Helios is in a gorgeous location in the Buda hills. (Is this really in the city?) Yet it is easy to get to by public transportation. Metro and tram gets you up the hill quickly. It is quiet and clean. There are oleanders and lavender in the surrounding garden and the balcony is wonderful for enjoying one's morning coffee or evening rose. The staff was very friendly, but it was when I had a problem with my bike that the staff went way beyond the call of duty. I asked the concierge to check the train for the next leg of my travels. It turned out I was unable to take my bike on the train due to work on the tracks. The concierge checked all kinds of alternative routes, but none worked. Finally, he offered to keep my bike for me until I returned to Budapest. Problem solved! Getting immediate help from such an unexpected situation when you are traveling away from home is the kind of thing that stays with you. Staying at the Helios Panzio was a great experience for me and I will recommend it to anyone going to Budapest. Thanks.

Room Tip: My room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived for one night and found a great room which we are sure to return to in the future.
As the place is quite high over the city, the air was plesent even on a very hot day.
We had a room with balcony and enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: To enjoy this hotel recommended to come by car, as it is quite far from the center at a high point o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hava111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great place with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable.The neighbourhood is quiet. Property has a beatuiful garden and private parking. We will visit that place again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seweryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Chesscom
#98 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#44 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#114 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Korall
#138 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Budai Hotel
#150 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#110 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Helios

Property: Hotel Pension Helios
Address: Liderc utca 5/a, Budapest 1121, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Budapest
#20 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#37 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#52 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Helios 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run hotel in Budapest. Located in a green area of the City only 15 min. by local night and day bus from the City center. Helios Hotel Pension offers in Budapest newly furnished room studios and apartment.We offer free Internet access, enclosed parking place and hungarian buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pension Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing