We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel and ammenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #16 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed for three nights early November on a couple’s last minute booked trip.
On arrival we were met by the concierge, who showed us to a very efficient reception team.
Our room was on the third floor easy to find, and we were well impressed. Large bathroom with shower and bath, slippers and bathrobe, large double bed, TV and all other amenities including a sofa in the large room.
Room was spotless and a very comfortable night was had. Read some of the supposed negatives about the hotel, and cannot understand what people complain about. As with any hotel the prices if you use the facilities inside are expensive, but 2 minutes out the door there are bars, restaurants and a spar shop.
Breakfast was excellent, where we were shown to our seats, by efficient staff, with the breakfast having a very wide variety of food available both hot and cold.
The Spa was also fantastic, used it before we went out for the day and on return. Quieter in the mornings. A 15 metre pool, 2 Jacuzzi’s, steam room and 2 saunas. Also a variety of massage options available for an extra cost.
To summarise it was one of the best hotels we have stayed at, and quite a first impression with the big staircase in the main entrance and a string quartet playing.
Thanks to the staff that made our stay special as we were treated very well by all with a smile and a greeting from the staff

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanrphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Allanrphillips,
Thank you so much for leaving a very positive review about the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. We are glad to read that your stay was a special one and you were treated very well by all with a smile and a greeting from the staff. Thank you for the compliments about the breakfast selection and the Royal Spa.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back,

Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,217 - 4,223 of 7,449 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

After being ripped off by the tax from the train station - 20EUD for a short ride, I arrived at the Corinthia very tired and exhausted. I was greeted by a warm and smiling face - having booked an executive room I was checked in on the Executive Mezzanine level and offered a glass of champagne.

The room I had booked was beautiful and could not be faulted. Free wifi internet. The bed was just luxurious and two bathrooms was just a delight. The aircon worked perfectly as the weather was quite warm when I stayed.

I even tried the pool and spa and this was also just delightful. The staff in the pool & spa facilities were very helpful and showed me around the facilities.

The hotel is very close to all amenities - train stations; the old town and the tram stop is right out the front. The food was great - the Asian restaurant was just delicious, although I dont know why they closed on some weekday nights as I would have eaten there most nights if I could. The restaurant staff were very helpful.

The only setback was it felt like a old-persons hotel. There were large numbers of what I think were loud American tour groups there who must have been staying whilst on there river cruise. I normally book smaller boutique hotels and missed that intimacy and discrete nature that smaller boutique hotels offer - but overall, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Depeche M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Dear Depeche M,
Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed the facilities of our hotel especially the Executive level, the Rickshaw Restaurant and the Royal Spa. Thank you for mentioning our ideal location and friendly staff. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The Corinthia has an elegant European look with potential to be a very good hotel but has service issues with regard to dining. When we arrived in the evening we expected to have a light dinner at the hotel; however, the Bock Bistro was closed for an event and our options were the Chinese restaurant and the bar. We did not visit Budapest to dine on Chinese food so we decided to try the bar menu. We were directed to a non-smoking table that had a non-smoking sign. As soon as we sat down, a waitress came over and removed the sign and put an ashtray on the table. When we protested, she and another individual pushed the ashtray to the middle of the table to make the point that the table was now for smokers. This seemed extemely rude so we left the bar and the hotel and found a wonderful restaurant a little over a block from the hotel. That restaurant had a non-smoking section. We also noted that the breakfast at the hotel was over priced for Budapest so we ate at the local Starbucks each morning. During our four night stay, the Bistro at the hotel was open only one night. Needless to say we did not eat a single meal at the hotel. Although we got a very good rate at the hotel, the rooms were average at best and the heat could not be adjusted, so we had to open the window in order to sleep. On the positive side the concierge service seemed very good and helpful. Unfortunately this hotel has a ways to go to reach Four Seasons level service. At least the hotel was close to the Opera house.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norm5Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Norm5Seattle,
Thank you for your feedback received following your recent stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest.
We are very sorry that upon your arrival our Brasserie restaurant was closed and the Bock Bistro was unavailable due to a function. Our aim is to offer diversity for our guests, with various kitchen specialities through Bock, Brasserie and Ricksaw Restaurants. In such cases, when only the Rickshaw restaurant is open, we also serve international and Hungarian food to our guests upon request. I am sorry if this was not communicated to you during your stay. Let me take the opportunity to mention here that our Rickshaw restaurant is one of the best oriental restaurants in Budapest.
I was disappointed to learn that our waitress did not deliver the service what you have expected and please accept my apologies for the shortfall in our standards during this occasion. Your comments have been reviewed with the Food and Beverage Manager and corrective measures have been implemented to avoid a similar situation occurring in the future.
Thank you for your comments regarding the price of the buffet breakfast. We are continuously monitoring the prices within the five star hotels in the city and believe our prices to be competitive. I believe that it is very hard to compare the price of an extensive buffet breakfast with Starbucks.
Although we have to accept that mistakes do happen, it is equally important that we state how sorry we are for the inconvenience experienced on this occasion.

I thank you once again for your kind and constructive comments and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Just stayed at this hotel. Got a great deals so wan't expecting that much. Great surprise. Fantastic hotel. Elegant public rooms, great food and really stylish rooms. A great, central place to stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Dear BGJohn,
We are most pleased to hear that Corinthia Hotel Budapest have "exceeded" your expectations in terms of service and hotel facilities and you had an enjoyable and perfect trip. Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We very much look forward to welcoming you back,

Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in October of this year. You cannot fault the ambiance and furnishings which are of a high standard throughout. Our room was very well-appointed with a very clean luxurious bathroom.
I would recommend staying here for the comfort value but the location is not the best for a stay in Budapest as it is a way from the centre so be prepared for a good walk unless you take the bus or metro.
We stayed in an Executive suite which was fine but I would make the following points:
1. The room was uncomfortably warm. The aircon was inadequate and with no outside window the nights were very uncomfortable.
2. The supposed snacks and drinks which were meant to be available all day/evening did not happen. On several occasions we went to get a snack only to be greeted by empty plates and dishes. You got the impression that the staff could not be bothered to refill.
3.The hotel appears not to have a clear smoking/no smoking policy. We found that people were often smoking in the executive lounge close to the snacks and drinks[when they were available].

Apart from those reservations the hotel is pleasant but if I were to return to Budapest I would probably choose somewhere rather more central.

Room Tip: Ask for one with an outside window or aircon that works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyke8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Dear Pyke8,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel following your stay with us. We do apologise for the inconveniences. We have already revised the issues with heating system and the problem is already fixed. On the Executive floor we have breakfast, mid day and supper snacks. This service is not a round o'clock covered one so in the break periods it can be happened that snacks are not available for a short time (e.g between 11:00 and 12:00). We appreciate for your understanding and also we do hope that despite of these inconveniences you had a pleasant stay with us.

Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Corinthia fulfilled all our expectations and more. Service was attentive and helpful, our executive room was rather small but clean and stylish and the location of Corinthia couldn't be better! Near local attractions and many fine restaurants. It's easy to walk to the nearest metrostation at Andrassy, otherwise you can do as we did - walk. Budapest is walking-friendly.

Corinthia is a very impressive hotel with beautiful decor. Spa was great! It was the finest, cosiest and most impressive spa I have ever seen! Don't miss it! Breakfast in the hotel restaurant had it all, plenty of food! The executive level breakfast was not as great as the one in the hotel restaurant. Furthermore the executive leves personnel was a bit inattentive and avoiding, but wine and sparkling and the free snacks was more than fine!

Corinthia truly is a 5 star hotel. We have never stayed anywhere so marvelous! We warmly recommend it and are planning our next trip there already.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maijja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I was extremely happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in Budapest and you were satisfied with our services. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M. Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I loved the hotel though very large, staff made a real efforts to get to know you. Very old world elegant. Huge breakfasts. Our room would heat up, even with the heat off, but I opened the window . . .

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santjordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SzabolcsSz, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Dear Santjordi,
Thank you so much for leaving a very positive review about the Corinthia Hotel Budapest on TripAdvisor. We do our utmost to take care and indulge all of our Guests as for us every guest is very special. We are so glad you had a wonderful time at our hotel. We are welcoming you back in your next visit to Budapest.

Kindest regards,
Mr. Szabolcs Szabo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 335 in Budapest
1,205 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 335 in Budapest
4,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 335 in Budapest
4,939 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £110 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing