We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and value in the heart of Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #20 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Sønderborg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality and value in the heart of Europe”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This was my first visit to Hungary so my husband and I decided to base ourselves in Budapest for a week in order to travel within the city but also to travel within this scenic country.

We stayed in the Royal apartments, which are truly fit for purpose- well designed and very functinal for a family, travelling with our 9 and 13 year old children.

The staff in the hotel are polite and friendly.
The spa was wonderful and I would like to recommend the therapist Fanni who was very professional.


My sole dissapointment was the Rickshaw restaurant. The food was terrrible and totally over- priced. Service was however very good.

I will most certainly return and highly recommendmthis hotel and this beautiful country which is very family friendly.

Room Tip: The Royal apartments are fantastic if travelling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. Thank you for the compliments about the Royal Residences apartments. Your comments are valuable to us so that we can continue to improve our service in the Rickshaw Restaurant. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future in Budapest.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,432
    1,178
    267
    102
    48
See reviews for
913
3,807
209
772
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,098)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Hotel is located in the "peste" side of the city, 2 blocks from the Octagon (where you could walk on the Andrassy street or take the subway to other areas of the city) and very close to the Opera house and many restaurants. The room was very spacious, with a great bathroom and a separate working area. The only downside was the lighting, which was very soft, making the room a little dark. Spa area was great, with a beautful pool and 2 jacuzzis that allowed us to relax after a long day walking at the city. Breakfast had a great selection of items, and was served in a beautful pateo. Woul definitely recommend this hotels for anyone visiting Budapest!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolina-SP-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. Thank you for your very useful review. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atwater, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Very nice hotel. The rooms were comfortable and the lobby is very beautiful. Location is great, it is in walking distance to the Opera House or St, Stephen's Basilica, If you're up for a longer walk, the Parliament, the Gresham Palace, and the Chain Bridge are also in walking distance. The concierge was very nice and helpful. This hotel isn't exactly kid-friendly,which is understandable as it is a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. Thank you for your high rating. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My family and I stayed at the Corinthia Hotel for six nights and were impressed by the great facilities offered. The Executive Lounge was very cozy and had excellent food at almost every part of the day, with cakes and drinks in the evenings. The hotel was very nice with beautiful ballrooms on one side of a couple floors and beautiful spacious lobby that gave the image of luxury. The room was also very nice and spacious, though the tvs had not been modernized. The location was great and within walking distance of many sights, such as Heroes' Square. The people at the Concierge desk were very nice and willing to help in any way, such as booking events, and in our case, extending our stay one night. The spa was very nice, though the small time frame when children were allowed (11 AM - 3:00 PM) was a little disappointing and did not allow us to take advantage of the pool and sauna as we were sightseeing at that time with our son. The Patisserie was also fantastic with its great desserts. We had an excellent stay.

Room Tip: I recommend executive rooms for more great amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for your kind commentsl. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon.
Kindest regards,
Mr. Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the apartment with my family - excellent.
Quiet, clean, up to date and great service.
Spa is exceptional, though I'd recommend they consider expanding the family opening hours beyond 11-15.
Budapest is at your doorstep - great place.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am
very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Residences apartments. Thank you for your recommendation
I am very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

this gotel was fantastic the staff were incredible and i would recommend anyone booking do the executive rooms as there is so much thrown in such as champagne and wine all day until 10pm. the thermal baths in the main park blew me away what a relaxing day. budapest is a really beautiful city

Room Tip: choose the executive rooms which we had on the third floor which was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uppitywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
I am really pleased to read your review. Thank you for your nice words about our hotel and the city. I do hope to welcoming you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My friends and I actually stayed in the hotel's apartments which were attached to the hotel by a glass corridor. The apartments were very spacious, modern and clean. The hotel was stunning and huge. We had a quick peek into their ballroom and I have not seen such a beautiful room with the period decoration and the large chandeliers. The spa was wonderful too with a good sized pool. We ate in the hotel's Chinese Restaturant called 'Rickshaw' which was very classy and tasty. All the hotel staff were polite and helpful and most spoke English.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
I am really pleased to read your review. Thank you for your nice words about our hotel and the Royal Residences apartments. We do hope to welcoming you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,698 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing