We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweetness...with a dask of disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #20 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Sweetness...with a dask of disappointment”
Reviewed 29 March 2008

We stayed at the Corinithia for four nights. The property is lovely, and while if looking at a map, you may think you are too far from the sights of Buda (castle, fortifications etc...) you would be wrong. My advice would be to get (provided your stay is long enough) the three days public transport pass, and take the time to figure out how to utilize it properly. We went all over the city while we were there at a very low cost, plus it is a much better taste of Budapest life to get around that way (only exceeded by walking).

The hotel is lovely and while I am not sure this is standard (we stayed over Easter weekend) there was a lovely quartet playing in the hotel bar every night and they were above average musicians. This warranted a slowly sipped nightcap each evening. Wonderful!

My dislikes? Being charged roughly 5£ for a bucket of ice (which I got around by buying ice and bringing in). In addition, we never tried the hotels dining facilities outside of breakfast, which was lovely, because the pricing was plain silly compared to all but the most highly reviewed restaurants.

Don't mistake the review! I'd go back in a heartbeat. But management should consider the vast array of alternatives which avail themselves to Budapest tourists. The room was worth the money, the drinks were worth it only due to the quality of the musicians, dinner wasn't on the cards at all.

To end on a positive note, the spa area is also very nice, and not, heavily utilized. If you enjoy a morning sauna, steam, or workout, you'll be quite pleased. In addition, the pool area is simply beautiful.

Best travels.....

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — the silly pricing on many items
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TimFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,434
    1,180
    268
    103
    48
See reviews for
914
3,811
209
773
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,099)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Stayed at Corinthia over easter, from the moment we got out of the taxi into the hotel we were made to feel special, the hotel looked amazing and was amazing, unlike most of the reviews we were and did not pay to be upgraded but don't let that put you off as our room was still beautiful with large comfy bed and bathroom as good as anywhere we have stayed in europe. The breakfast was of a good standard, clean,hot and plentiful. We arrived quite late in the evening and found a great little restaurant within 1min of hotel called Magdalene Merlo it has both smoking and non-smoking areas, also a good coffee house just to left of hotel called cafe Mozart, the only bad points i could say about the hotel was the rooms were very warm even with the air-con on and you would not benefit from opening window as it opened onto a foyer still within the hotel,but thats it nothing else bad to say, try the spa baths downstairs we found it a great place to relax after walking. A few points i will make are if you are returning to airport around tea-time allow plenty of time for taxi to get you there as it can take over an hour in rush hour, if you are planning to go to the opera as we did purchase your tickets before you go or you could end up dissapointed for the bigger performances swan lake carmen etc, we used the underground on andrassy strret but please validate your ticket when you buy one or expect a on the spot fine, i would also recomend that if you are coming for a stag or hen night you would be better booking through a firm that deals with them as we found pubs quite far apart, went to terror museum found that interesting with some good displays, as for the rest of Budapest we did'nt find it all that inspiring as there is alot of tacky gift shops and people asking you to exchange money from pounds to Huf, but give it a try as everybody sees things different , finally we found Budapest safe to walk at night and most of areas well lit.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — hot rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neillo336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

this is one of the best hotels i have stayed in, the swimming pool and spa treatment rooms are amazing! not too far from downtown, 15 mins walk! staff are very friendly and always keen to help. food and drinks at the hotel arent too expensive.
breakfast buffet choice is never ending, good range of fruits and bucks fizz also available!
would stay there again, brill!

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — lack of veg food
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mazter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal and had a wonderful stay! The hotel is simply beautiful and the staff are attentive to your every wish!
We particularly enjoyed the spa facilities, which we used every evening after returning from a busy time in bustling Budapest!
The only negative points we could find were the location- although the transport system is so efficient in Budapest that this wasn't much of an issue- and also the air conditioning, which didn't work very well, meaning we were very warm in the room during the night. These minor factors didn't affect our stay, however.
We would definitely stay at the hotel in the future, however, we would save up first as the food and drink are expensive compared to other establishments in Budapest!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank sar2036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

We recently stayed in the Corinthia Hotel in Budapest.

Firstly, on arriving in the airport we took the advice of fellow travellers here and avoided the taxi drivers who approached us asking if we needed a taxi. There is a taxi rank just outside arrivals (you can ask at information) and they give a set price to the hotel.

On coming into the city, you could be a bit put iff by the graffiti and the very brisk taxi drivers but the hotel makes up for it.

We arrived at the hotel in the evening and really, the lobby is absolutely amazing.

Location: Great location, just across the road from the tram stop that will bring you anywhere you want to go really. Excellent transport system. We were never waiting more than two mins for a tram.

On checking in, there was no sign of us getting an upgrade (!) so we asked to be upgraded one room up. However, the woman on reception said she would upgrade us to the executive suite since she had no non-smoking rooms available, for the same price.

The room itself was very large - we had a sitting room, two bathrooms and the bedroom . There were also good sized wardrobes. The room was impressive though slightly musty in smell and a little worn. I wouldn't be rushing to stay in the same room again, It was fine - just not the amazing standards that I would have expected.

Because we stayed in an exclusive suite, we had free breakfast and free nibbles for lunch and dinner is we wanted.

Breakfast: Make sure that you have your breakfast in the eating room downstairs and not in the 'Mezz' upstairs that is reserved for executive members. The breakfast is great - they have everything from fresh omlettes, frys, toast, cereal. Really anything you can think of.

Lunch: Can's really be called lunch after a long day of walking around! There was toast, salad and fruitwith free tea, coffee, champagne etc.

Dinner: Don't expect to fill up on you free dinner. These are just a mix of fruit and mainly pastries and seafood canopies.


Eating: I would definitely recommend eating the hotel's restaraunt. The food was amazing and works out at about 80 - 100 euro for two people. the service is immpecable.

Room Service: Extremely quick room service. Good food, nicely served.

The city: We stayed for 4 days and this was enough. We weren't mad about the city and there are definitey better places in Europe for culture.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sassIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

We stayed at the Corinthia Grand from 9-12 March 2008. A magnificent hotel - the decor is beautiful with marble everywhere including the bathrooms and even the lifts! It certainly lives up to its reputation - the service was outstanding. The Executive Room upgrade is well worth it. We were swept into the Executive Reception and it was all the way up from there.
Breakfast in the Brasserie was amazing with chefs to cook your breakfast in front of you.

Trams run past the door, however, it is easy to get around on foot. A must is the Market Hall - the displays of fruit, vegetables and meats were incredible.

We want to go back sooner rather than later - the best hotel at which we have ever stayed.

  • Liked — The pure luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We stayed in the Corinthia Grand for 4 nights in February and had a wonderful experience. We paid extra to upgrade to an executive room which gave us access to the lounge where food and drink were served almost all day and night. The staff looked after us very well throughout our stay and were extremely helpful and attentive. Our room was very big and very clean. This hotel fully deserves its 5 star status as I could not fault it in the slightest and would definitely return to Budapest even just to stay here. Other hotels should learn from it. I would encourage guests to go for a massage in the hotel spa, it too was out of this world!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Not being able to stay longer
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank proudfoot43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,706 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing