We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, staff, service, accommodation all hard to beat anywhere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #17 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location, staff, service, accommodation all hard to beat anywhere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 5 nights. The room was excellent. The service from the Staff was impeccable. The hotel location was fabulous. We went for the Executive Room which also included access to the Executive Lounge. This provided food and drink all day from 6.30 am until 10 pm. We used this facility every day at some point. There was also a Spa Treatment Facility attached to the hotel which I used and had the best Hot Stones Massage ever. The pool attached with sauna, steam rooms and jacuzzi. This facility is lovely to chill out at the end of the day. I could not fault this hotel on anything. The breakfast has everything including champagne. We'll worth staying here if you are traveling to Budapest.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the atrium are open to noise from the piano bar. Maybe better to choose further ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kings33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. Thank you for highlighting the Executive Club and the Royal Spa. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,275
    1,135
    259
    98
    40
See reviews for
885
3,693
203
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,063)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here for two nights for a short city break to Budapest with a friend. The hotel is very appealing particularly the lobby which is everything I'd expect from a five star hotel; marble, ostentatious spaciousness and glamorous minimalism. I stayed on the second floor and the corridor outside my room was decidedly less than glamorous. The decor was fine but it was a weird layout. Lots of supporting pillars in the middle of corridors. Having said all that it was a very reasonable hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahA250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. Thank you for your kind words. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful hotel. The food was excellent and the choice amazing. The Executive lounge, which served snacks and drinks free to those in Executive rooms, was an unexpected bonus. The staff were attentive,knowledgeable and most spoke excellent English. The room was spacious and the bed awesome! The spa though often busy had a good size pool and wonderful steam room. There is an intimate nightclub adjacent to the hotel which is free for guests. We saw a brilliant band in there, (Julie Fabien)which really topped off our stay.

Room Tip: Executive room, every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenwrightphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. Let me thank you again for your all-embracing positive comment and for recommending us to the traveling community. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

one of the main reasons we wanted to stay at this hotel was because of the photos of the pool, which make the pool look very large. the pool is not particularly large. it is also somewhat cold so it's nice for a dip after a long day but we didn't linger long. the spa facilities are very good. my husband and i both got massages, which were excellent. they were expensive considering we were in budapest but reasonable by american standards. schedule in advance if you want a particular time,

we never got room service during our stay because even by american standards it was very expensive. just not worth spending $22 for a chicken dish when you can go next door and pay a third the price. we never upgraded to the executive room because we didn't spend much of the day in the hotel and our tour came with a lot of meals and left early so we couldn't do a breakfast buffet. we never ate in any of the hotel restaurants as there are so many places nearby, we'd usually go out to explore.

the hotel is not in the center of the city center, which is fine. it's easy to walk to and the main area and i felt safe at night as there were lots of people around enjoying the bars and restaurants in the area. i liked the location and there were several good restaurants nearby. i really recommend checking out the cakes at the attached coffee shop -- too many to try. the cake i tried was incredible and my friends raved about the chocolates we brought home.

this is a lovely hotel. our room was beautiful and i have no complaints about the staff. they have a car service that you can book at the front desk. it's likely to be cheaper than one you'd book on your own. request your car in advance and you won't have to wait. they also provide guides through the concierge, though we found our guide through tripadvisor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Warm regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We usually don't frequent hotels as elegant as this but we're glad we did. It's well situated on the main thoroughfare and minutes from the opera house. A wonderful spa and pool accessible by a separate elevator awaits you on the ground floor. Just make use of the complimentary bathrobe and slippers to make your way down there. Perfect to soothe your aching bones after a long day's sight-seeing. The inner courtyard serves breakfast but we skipped it since the buffet was priced at 39 euros and you can easily get 2 cappuccinos and 2 pastries at any of the sweet shops just outside the hotel for one tenth of the cost. Food is relatively inexpensive in Budapest (as compared to Vienna). The rooms themselves are very comfortable with modern updates. I wish there were more English channels to select from other than just 24 hour news channels. If you're looking for something to do, I highly recommend the free walking tours each morning at 10:30 in the main square. Also check out some of the "ruin" bars in the Jewish quarter.

Room Tip: Make use of the pool and hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacific_fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for your high rating. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here for a 4 night break as a birthday treat. The hotel is well appointed and a great base for exploring the city.
Worth looking for a deal that includes breakfast in the rate, lots of choice and even accommodated gluten free etc..

Would recommend the hotel to anyone, service was really good and we found the staff very helpful. Our only issue was the price of drinks in the hotel, but with such a good choice of bars nearby that wasn't a problem!

Nearly forgot the pool and spa are well worth a visit!

Room Tip: We liked the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for sharing your experience. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Budapest is a spectacular city, a combination of Vienna, Prague and Paris, and the Corinthia is the place to stay. It lives up to this magical city in every way, elegant, beautiful, personable, pleasant. The details are impeccable, from the wake-up call from a real person, to the toiletries, to the fixtures, to the respectful and knowledgeable concierge, to the quiet and spacious rooms with tasteful decorations. And the location and price can't be beat. Treat yourself to this place, the city and the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil and Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for your kind words. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,547 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing