We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere between 4 and 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #16 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Overall the hotel is good. But some things do not allow me to rate it as 5 stars. 1. Rooms need renovation. I cannot say that they are terrible – no. Generally they are OK. But the carpet was dirty in many places, walls were nipped. 2.Some equipment is SPA zone did not work, not enough sunbeds for all the visitors. 3.The breakfast was definitely overpriced (29EUR p.p.). Just to know – café round the corner – 10 EUR, café in 3 min.walk – 5 EUR. New York Café – 20 EUR. Nevertheless the hotel is really nice. The service was perfect, location is very convenient (tram stop in the front, metro station – 3 min.walk, bunk – 15 min walk). SPA zone is not very big but enough to relax – 2 jacuzzi, 1 steam bath, 2 saunas, 15m pool. Very nice decorated. I liked my stay – good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexei_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. Thank you for the useful comments, so we can improve our services. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Cordially,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,050 - 3,056 of 7,386 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed as part of our Gate1 tour before boarding our Danube River cruise. Wonderful hotel, extremely comfortable. If you plan to enjoy your buffet breakfast in the lovely atrium you will have to get there early. Obviously these are the first tables to go! Comfortable walking distance to major sites especially Heroes Square and Vaci Street (major tourist area on the Pest side, good for shopping and restaurants). We were thrilled to be able to use the beautiful hotel spa for free.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel. Thank you for highlighting our location and the Royal Spa. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel on November 3 and 4 at the end of a cruise and were very impressed with the beautiful facility and central location. However, we arrived early in the morning--around 10:00-- and were told we could not check in until 2:00. This is understandable, but when my husband asked if we could possibly get to our room earlier (we were very tired), the desk clerk just very abruptly said "NO. Rooms won't be ready until 2:00!". Call me old-fashioned, but we have traveled a great deal and many, many hotels have made some small accommodation to make weary travelers more comfortable until check-in. We ended up wandering aimlessly in a city we were unfamiliar with for 4 hours and were exhausted when we were finally allowed to our rooms. Let me add that a couple we traveled with got into their room at 1:30; my husband asked the desk again at that point to check in and was told "You have to wait until 2:00". This might be a 5-star hotel but they have lost their mission of hospitality: to make EVERYONE comfortable and to feel welcomed--they failed utterly in that regard.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catlvr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I am so glad that you were fascinated by the facilities of our building. However we are truly sorry for the shortfall in our standards you have experienced. We expect our staff to handle all situations with the utmost courtesy, sympathy and helpfulness and we deeply regret the adverse impression you have gained on this occasion.I do hope that you will look upon this breakdown in service as a one off and not indicative of the customer care we wish to provide at all times. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Corinthia Budapest and better meeting your expectations in the future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This gem of a hotel is well located and surprisingly luxurious for the price. The pool/spa area was unexpectedly included in the cost of the room. Several restaurants in the hotel provide a variety of menus, prices and ambience. For the weary traveler, it was a joy to find everything we needed under one roof.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puepilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for sharing your experience. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed at the Cortinthia as part of a conference team who were hosting an event at the hotel.

The hotel is stunning, and offers guests that 'wow' factor as soon as they arrive, with its stunnig reception and foyer area. The rooms are nicely furnished, and and just what you would expect from a hotel of this standard. The food is also excellent, and even catering from 250 delegates the hotel did not struggle. The Spa is good, and again the feedback from our delegates was that it was well worth the visit.

Generally the staff were also very good , they have the ability to make you feel like a real VIP, a skill lots of hotels this size struggle with.

I have stayed at a number of Corinthia hotels around the world, and this did not let the brand down. Its not cheap by Budapest standards, but worth the little extra.

If your looking for a conference hotel in Budapest, its one of the best, and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor or at the back of the hotel, as the tram can keep light sleepers awak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattDrewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. Let me thank you again for your all-embracing positive comment and for recommending us to the traveling community. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Location is central and 2 minutes away from lots of bars and restaurants, the deluxe room was huge, breakfast fantastic, friendly staff and if you're staying here you must use the spa. We will stay here again and could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilentVik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the spa- really beautiful swimming pool area and we had a great time here. The hotel itself was very beautiful with lovely rooms which were clean and well presented and a good size. We have recommended it to a friend who is staying this winter!
The breakfast was nice with quite a lot of choice.
The staff were average not particularly special but not bad.
Found it quite easy to navigate around and seemed well placed to go to attractions.
I would not book with Travel Republic again as found them very unhelpful when our flight was cancelled but would go to this hotel again if visiting Budapest- personally I found it too cold in December and was not overwhelmed by the Christmas markets so would like to try it in summer sometime.
Overall lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities. I am very glad that you emphasized our services provided by our staff. Thank you for your recommendation. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,910 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £116 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Splitty, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing