We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #19 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

we choose this hotel as we were looking fr something special for our honeymoon and we were so glad we did.

We we arrived at went to check-in where we were shown to the executive lounge. We were greeted there with a lovely glass of bubbles and were told there was a surprise for us in store. As it was our honeymoon we were upgraded to the Deluxe Suite. Check-in we were shown around the executive lounge and then to our room where a bottle of bubbly and some strawberries were waiting for us. A very nice touch by an excellent hotel.

Throughout our stay we used the royal spa which is beautiful. We had a lovely couples Swedish massage which was excellent. One of the best I have ever had.

All the staff that we came across were extremely friendly and helpful and would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

We will defiantly be returning soon.

Thank you to all the staff who made our honeymoon so special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tree1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

I am glad to read that you had a really great and memorable honeymoon celebration at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with all the readers. Thank you for pointing out the Executive Lounge, from which more information is available on Corinthia.com/Budapest. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon. Warm regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,190 - 3,196 of 7,622 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

What a wonder this hotel is. Amazing facade and entrance. The staff are polite and professional. Every inch of this hotel is beautiful and amazing. The walk to our room was a spectacle itself. Once in our comfortable and well appointed room, we opened our windows onto the atrium to be serenaded by violins playing below. What magic. Located in a great part of the city, close to transport, sights and some great eateries. The pool area downstairs is a must. Bring your swimmers and indulge.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fridgenald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am so glad that you were fascinated by the facilities of our building. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest website wellness part. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel was an amazing surprise for us. Elegant exterior and lobby, nicely appointed rooms and first class service from beginning to end. We extended our stay! It is central and within walking distance to amazing restaurants, the Opera House, St. Stephan's Basilica and the market, Vaci Street, the Holocaust Memorial Centre and the Metro stations (underground train). We were able to walk everywhere from this location. We only required a rental car to areas outside of the city limits. I would highly recommend this hotel and stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pshn4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for highlighting our location, from which our kind readers might find additional tips on Corinthia.com/Budapest Destination section. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Cordially,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The old Royal hotel maintains a regal feel! Perhaps because we came off-season, we got a good rate on a lovely standard king room. Of course, once at the hotel, other costs trend high. The breakfast buffet is lavish but at 29 Euro per person, it's pricey--again, excellent food but can one person eat $40 worth of breakfast? But the on-site food is excellent, including at the Brasserie and Rickshaw. The next-door Bock Bistro is simply stellar. Many other restaurants are nearby too (and are more affordable). The hotel is lavish in decor, the room was large and lovely and very clean (though the carpeting is showing some years of wear). The room was also nicely soundproof! The location is also nearly perfect: a tram stop is right across the street, the Oktogan area is just a couple blocks away, and one can walk to the Danube in a fairly short time. Our experience was nicely deluxe!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am glad to note that your stay was great here. Thank you for the useful comments andmentioning our location, from which further information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My family spent a long weekend (end October) in the Corinthia and could not fault the experience. My children loved the swimming pool area. Fabulous breakfast, particularly when sitting in the atrium area. Staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_nal_D230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us.
Thank you for the kind words about our breakfast service, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest in the Dinings and bars section.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future.
Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Absolutely outstanding in every way. Spotlessly clean, attentive staff, fabulous breakfast, particularly sitting in the conservatory. EVERY member of that hotel treated us with respect and kindness. Thank you, we truly enjoyed your excellent hospitality. Located in "Buda" the urban part of the city, meant there were plenty of trams and taxis to take you over the River Danube to "Pest" the more scenic side! We spent a wonderful couple of hours walking around the historic buildings on top of the hill, admiring the views. An excellent spot for photographers, and for drinking coffee or vodka!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueinHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I am glad to note that your stay was great at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Thank you for mentioning the location.
I would like to recommend for our kind readers to visit Corinthia.com/Budapest site destination section for further information about local sights, tips and what to dos.
Thank you very much again for your comment and I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel is a reconstruction of the original, but you would never know. They have done a great job in creating this hotel. The service is first class, the rooms are a very reasonable size and very clean. I can't say anything wrong about this hotel. The only other hotel I would have considered in the Gresham. If you are a runner then the Gresham is right on the danube so you have a running trail right out your door. In the case of the Corinthian it is very central to most all sight. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sakology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience and pointing out our location and the leisure facilities. I might recommend as well for our kind readers to visit the corinthia.com/budapest website for further leisure options around our hotel. Once again thank you for your kind words. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £124 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing