We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in great neighbourhood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #17 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great neighbourhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in standard room around £75 per night plus taxes. Kingsize bed, lovely room and bathroom. Great service. Wonderful spa facilities. You are then 5-10 minute walk from many of the ruin bars.Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duckysausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for your high rating. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Cordially,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,270
    1,134
    259
    98
    40
See reviews for
885
3,692
203
728
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,063)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This Hotel was pure heaven. If you go during the off-season, the prices are affordable but the treatment is five stars. The rooms are elegant and very large. Everything is spotless and lovely. The amenities are excellent and the internet works flawlessly. The location is wonderful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful with everything.They recommended fabulous local eateries and the best spas to visit outside the hotel. They were right about everything. If you really want to treat yourself to some wonderful old world luxury and charm, this is the place to go. The hotel price includes free access to its wonderful spa which is really the perfect way to end a great day of sightseeing in the City. I highly recommend this fabulous hotel. I hope to go back..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sneilkSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities. There are some additional information on corinthia.com/budapest about our new partnership with the Espa. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

You are reading this because you want to see what others have said. - Well like my views or not, here is my totally honest opinion of my stay. No apologies fro being straight and direct.

Firstly I cannot believe all the negative comments about this hotel - You were either in the wrong place or you are the typical type of moaners that love to complain Over 3400 reviews and only just over 60 didn`t like it.

We arrived at the hotel from the airport direct bus to the Metro and then on the underground. A smartly uniformed Concierge with a smile opened the door for us and was immediately relieved of our tiresome luggage (and no tip expected) we walked to reception and again was greeted with a big smile. After checking our booking, we were told that were booked into an executive suite and we have a private receptionist waiting for us on the next floor. We were immediately offered coffee or an alcoholic drink or soft drink whilst we booked in. We were given a general rundown of the hotel and was told that when we required to use the Swimming Pool, Sauna, Steam of leisure facilities, we had a private lift on our floor that took us direct to the area. So were allowed to wear the complimentary white bath robes and slippers, instead of changing at the spa.

We were shown to our rooms and I was in awe at the space, cleanliness and decor. We overlooked the indoor Atrium, which I was glad, as I didn`t want a room overlooking a busy street and night traffic, albeit the windows were practically sound proof. I was impressed with our kingsized bed - because I have never seen a bed this size but with 2 duvets..so there was no excuse for my wife `pitching all the covers` - We could toss and turn all night, and keep our own covers..lol..!! The mini bar was well stocked - complimentary water (one still & fizzy). Free bathrobes and slippers, a room safe and very clean, airy and the beds were very comfortable with pillows that you sink into.

We were bed and breakfast - Any type of omelette was made to order - full buffet type all you can eat, eggs, bacon, sausages you know the score.. Or for the weight watchers and fit peeps, as much fruit, yogurt, juices, brown rolls etc as you wanted. There is of course fruit juices, cereal, muesli, toast etc.

Swim,Sauna, Steam Room - Putting on my robe and slippers, pressed the button and the door opened to the Spa reception. Another smile - de-robed and into the pool. a bit to cool for my liking , but as the saying goes "alright once you get in". The steam room and sauna were my idea of heaven. At the end of the walkway was a very large bowl of crushed ice. Purely pick up a scoop in each hand and rub it all over - what an experience - never seen that before but so exhilarating. Did the same routine of Swim, Sauna,Steam and ice everyday and loved it..!!

Executive Floor - No... I wasn`t given a free upgrade - I bought and paid for the executive treatment - My wife and I needed a break and had had our fair share of bad news and stress this year - So - I decided to pay to be looked after and we certainly was. We used the Executive lounge everyday - free coffee, canapes, champagne, alcohol and little pastries, cakes, soups finger buffet snacks and hot soup on the go all day - all free. - Well we did indirectly pay for it.

I could not fault this hotel, I could not fault the staff or the facilities it offered. I commend all that this hotel in Budapest stands for.

If you go to Budapest - stay here ..........Oh yes I forgot - We always aks the usual thing..HOW MUCH..??? - To be treated like royalty and be made to feel special. ?? three nights at £120 per night..per room. That s £360. !!!! Now being Brits, we love to have a break down and look to see if you are getting a bargain or being ripped off - I looked at menus and prices and if you wasn`t resident at the hotel this is what you`d pay. Read On

Breakfast for 2 x 3 days = £60
Use of Leisure for 2 x 3 days > £100
Exec Bar Bill per night for 2 > £100
Free Canapes, snacks, cakes
tea coffee, for 2 x 3 days £40

So that equates to approximately £300 if you were to pop in and use their facilities. So the bottom line is- you are getting your Executive suite room in a 4/5 star hotel for about £20 per night - Yes - I know that some will think £360 is a bit steep - but this is not Butlins or Maplins. It is a high class hotel that looks after its customers. Totally recommend them..Well done Corinthia of Budapest - Will definitely see you soon.

Terry

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thee-Daddy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My boyfriend and I had a great experience at this hotel.

I emailed the hotel beforehand for directions from the airport and the concierge provided a list of suggestions from going by metro, taxi, shuttle or limousine. We went with the driver service so when we landed from our flight our driver was already waiting for us. He was friendly and helpful and the Mercedes was nice, spotless, and comfortable. Definitely worth the extra money for door to door service in style.

When we arrived at the hotel the excellent service continued from the doorman, to the front desk, bell boy, cleaners, conceirge and spa staff. The hotel is immaculate and it seemed everyone was proud to be working there. We were very impressed. Our rooms were clean, spacious, quiet, and comfortable. It is also a great location as we walked to most places including across the river to Buda castle and to Heroes square, and took the tram a couple of times. There are lots of great restaurants nearby.

Minor nuisances were the lack of air conditioning and that you had to call the front desk for a bucket of ice. And the bed could be softer. The spa was lovely. There's a separate elevator entrance so you can walk with your bathrobe and slippers from your room. Only wish the whirlpools were hotter. But even with my minor complaints, overall it was a fantastic stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keynotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I am glad to note that your stay was great here. Let me thank you again for your all-embracing positive comment and for recommending us to the traveling community. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

juste to let you know we stay at corinthia hotel in budapest for my wife special birthday

we had a very good stay the hotel the spa ext his very good nothing was a probleme

.The buffet for breakfast his amazine ext

the bottle of sparkling and the cake made my wife feel so special for her birthday .

the bocks bistro next door the food was very good also

i will definitly recomanded this hotel to my friends if they go to budapest

thank you again

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bertrandc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights as a group of ladies and found it really fantastic.
Recently refurbished with taste, beautiful vast lobby and majestic staircase… a real grand hotel.
The service couldn't have been better and the staff was attentive and couldn't do more for you.
The breakfast setting and buffet was wonderful.
Loved the bathroom :) and the spa!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviaswitzerland_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. Thank you for highlighting the buffet breakfast, which is bookable online in advance on corinthia.com/budapest. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel - classic but modern decor with very comfortable rooms. The hotel is a ten minute walk from shops and restaurants and has its own bars, restaurants and a nice spa to relax in. The hotel has been visited by famous actors, singers and politicians all of whom made a great choice.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GilliHDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for highlighting the connection with movie stars and our hotel. The newest episode is our special 'Grand Budapest Hotel' package which is available on the corinthia.com/budapest inspire me section. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,543 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing