We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing hotel, so luxurious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #17 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing hotel, so luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights over easter and it was by far the nicest hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The staff also added to the lovely atmosphere of the hotel, not snooty or one rude member of staff. Everyone was so helpful and friendly.
The room was beautiful, clean and came back to find an easter cake had been put into our room! So adorable.
The spa is also one of the nicest spas I have ever been to and the treatments are done to a very high standard.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and honestly believe that anyone giving bad reviews on this hotel are complete drama queens or just had an unfortunate experience which happens from time to time.
Lovely experience, will be back!

Thank you to everyone at the Corinthia in Budapest

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowy805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. Let me thank you again for your all-embracing positive comment and for recommending us to the traveling community. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,272
    1,135
    259
    98
    40
See reviews for
885
3,692
203
730
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,063)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is an expensive hotel with a lot of history.

Plusses: Clean, lots of staff to help (athough somewhat impersonal in their dealings with you - as you perhaps may expect in this class of hotel). It has a great, though smallish, pool finished in a lovely 'Roman' luxurious style with pillars and helpful staff to allocate towels, etc. It was quite crowded and we couldn't find a lounger to put our stuff on. Nice atmosphere in the evenings with live music playing in the bar area.

Minuses: The hotel's computer was down when we came to check out, so they asked for my credit card, whipped it away to a back office to photo-copy it, then returned it to me. (My card company advise me never to hand it over to anyone). The room was nothing special - OK but the shaver socket didn't work (on reporting this I was told it only works on 120v - not true, doesn't work, full stop. Attitude?) Bathroom scales provided (digital), but they did'nt work) Several tea bag types in the room (Earl Grey, etc) but no normal English Breakfast tea. No milks. Phoned room service for these things but it took about 40 minutes!
The worst minus point is it's location. It's not really central. (about 30 minutes walk from the river). On a street with heavy traffic with a badly maintained pavement with ongoing repair works - hazardous! Near Starbucks and a Strip Club! Says it all really!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 224James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and the fabolous Royal Spa.
First of all please accept my apologies for the technical issues upon your check-in; unfortunately this was related to a major server breakdown at the provider center and not related to our hotel only. I was sorry to learn that the guest room facilities did not meet your expectations on this occasion and some of the services were not up to our high standards. Our shaver sockets operate on 220V, I am sorry if this was not explained to you properly. Your comments are valuable for us and highlight the areas where we need to focus on in order to gain an excellent guest experience.
I was disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with our hotel's location. For you kind information I would like to highlight that Corinthia Hotel Budapest is the closest 5 star hotel to the Opera House, to the stunning Andrassy Avenue, the Heroes' Square and the City Park. We are also close to the shops and restaurants in the city and we are just a short walk to the city centre and the Danube river. The area - where the Hotel located - is at the heart of the city and very safe.
We are truly sorry for the shortfall in our standards you have experienced and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Corinthia Budapest and better meeting your expectations in the future.
Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I travel around a lot being a cabin crew. I have stayed here for a week on a business and vacation trip and had the use of the excucutive lounge. The staff of this hotel speak perfect english and service is definately a five star rating. Will return if i need to visit Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. Thank you for pointing out our Executive Club facilities, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest.
I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest.
Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We managed to get a really good deal on this Hotel ,so check out the online sites.It is ideally located in central Pest just above the trendy "Old Jewish Quarter" with its numerous Ruin Bars . The Hotel is just beautiful and lives up to all expectations .Our room was extremely spacious and extremely comfortable, however be warned the bottles of water which are left out are not complimentary ! Extremely friendly and polite staff complete the perfection that is The Corinthia Hotel ,Budapest

Room Tip: The executive upgrade is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest.
Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I have to agree with others: it is almost impossible to get a room without disadvantages. Either you overlook the internal atriums with their noise or you overlook the busy main street with just as much noise. In our case we had wanted an outside window but, because we had the Executive package, that meant we had to have a double when we prefer singles (my husband snores!). Anyway, we couldn't open the window as the traffic was much too heavy to risk the pollution. I think the right room for us might be there somewhere but no-one knew them well enough to suggest better compromises.

Although others suggest the Executive package and praise it highly for the 24 hour snacks and alcoholic drinks, the snacks are all rather unhealthy sugary pastries and carbohydrate-laden canapes and as we don't drink much we didn't get any useful advantage from it. A drinker with a large appetite would love it!

We were persuaded to have our first morning breakfast in the Executive Club as the ground floor was heaving with breakfasters from a big conference. We should have waited: the breakfast in the Executive Club was minimal choices and served lukewarm. We went to the main breakfast next day and it was fabulous so much choice and high quality.

It seems all the 5 star hotels in Budapest are on main roads (even the ones overlooking the Danube which also has busy highways on each side between hotel and river) so I am not sure any of them would have been any better for us.

We didn't use the spa, the room was big, the mattrass was good, the bathroom top notch, staff were efficient and helpful so we did enjoy our stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LovelyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
I appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with all the readers. I am delighted to note that you were satisfied with our staff. Thank you for the useful comments about our rooms and breakfast, so we can improve our services. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and this was our third hotel we stayed in Budapest.
We choose this hotel because of the Royal spa which has a big and stylish swimming pool, 2 x jacuzzi, Sauna and steam room. We really liked it after a long day walking around the city. It felt really relax and it opens until 10pm, which is an added a bonus.

The hotel itself is a pure luxury 5 *, specially with the marble bathroom which has both bath and a separate shower cubicle. It looked exactly the same as another newly opened hotel we visited recently in Macau. Sometimes we feel a little lack of character.

I'm glad the breakfast was included in my hotel package, as it cost about 27 EURO per person per day, which can add up to 50% extra of a double room rate. When we went to have breakfast at about 9am, it was really busy and packed, which we need to wait for about 10 mins to be seated. The buffet breakfast has huge choices, with lots of different variety of bread, cake, hot food, cold food, live cooking kitchen, and also 3 different kind of boiled egg. (well cooked, 70% & 50% cooked) Also, for a pure luxury, try 3 different kind of sparkling wine which was included with your breakfast.

It's a shame that we didn't know in advance, they have a 'behind the scence' tour to see the hotel kitchen and other parts of the hotel every Tue & Thurs around 10:30am(?!) (Not sure whether you'll need to pay extra) Also guest get free entry to the Orfeum Club which has some live performance.

In general, we enjoyed our stay in Corinthia, it's a typical, modern 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities. Thank you for pointing out our 'Behind the scenes tour', from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest inspire me offers. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed few days at Corinthia Hotel and we don't find it satisfactory. First of all the hotel was very crowded, full of russian-speaking tourists who behaved very loudly starting from the breakfast and ending late at night in the hotel bar. The swimming pools and saunas were always full. There was always a line waiting at the reception and concierge desk.
At the check in the receptionist wasn't very nice, not even polite, but I must admit it was the only person like that..
The room was rather 4* standard (there is no coffee machne or bidet in the bathroom), but the main problem was that the room has no view, or rather a view for the internal patio so you never get any fresh air. The rooms are really hot because of that, so you have to sleep with air conditioning on. We didn't want to do that so we opened a window to the patio. On the patio there is a hotel restaurant where the breakfast is served. So until 3 o clock in the morning we had to listen to drunk people in the bar, but the worst started at about 6 a.m. when the hotel staff started to prepare the tables for breakfast they were laughing, talking, yelling - didn't even seem to think about their guests sleeping (or rather trying to sleep) above them. At 7 a.m. when hotel guests started their breakfast our "sleep" was officially over - we smell all the bacon, coffee and scrambled eggs. We felt rather like living above a fast food bar than staying in a five star hotel.
Plus the bed was extremely uncomfortable. In the mornings we were too tired for a sightseeing.So we finally got some sleep when we were back home.

Room Tip: Beware of the standard rooms with the windows opened only to the patio - no fresh air and a lot of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your comments sent via Tripadvisor, concerning your stay at our Hotel. I was sorry to learn that the standard of the room allocated to you did not meet your expectations on this occasion and your stay was disturbed by the noise from restaurant and other guests. For your comfort in the future, please be advised that hotel staff are available around the clock to assist guests with any issues that may arise; and this instance may have been able to offer you an alternative room to ensure you a more comfortable stay. Our customers can choose from various locations and different views, from Atrium to street view and more. We have, of course, taken up your particular comments with the staff involved to rectify any shortcomings. I was also disappointed to read your comments regarding our room amenities. I would like to kindly inform you that all our guest rooms are equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and as an investment to our even greater guest comfort we are currently placing Nespresso machines into our Executive rooms.
We appreciate your constructive comments, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,544 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#21 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia and TravelUp so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing