We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing luxury at this beautifully appointed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #16 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was the most relaxing and luxurious hotel we have ever stayed in, with fantastic value for money. From the moment the doorman opened the door to welcome us to the Grand Corinthia, we were enveloped in a hotel exuding luxury, but not in the least bit pompous. The staff could not do enough for us but were not intrusive. The whole atmosphere was one of rest and relaxation in impeccable surroundings.
Evokes all the grandeur of the old Grand Budapest Hotel, but with all you could want in a modern hotel. You will not be disappointed if you chose the Corinthia Hotel

Room Tip: Obviously the suites and rooms to the front of the hotel would be a money no object choice, but our...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ishbel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased that you had such a great experience at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate your recognition of our staff who take great pride in providing first-class service to our valued guests. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Sincerely,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,231)
There are newer reviews for Corinthia Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,633 - 2,639 of 7,231 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Corinthia in Budapest in May 2014 for a week. We had booked an executive room. I am a frequent business travel and a demanding customer who spend on average more that six month per year in luxury hotel around the world. By curiosity we checked on location other room for similar budget or slightly higher in similar hotel downtown Budapest. We can then positively affirm that the Corinthia offered us the best price performance ratio and benchmark first out of the panel we audited. The breakfast buffet is very good, the service impeccable, I was afraid that the location would be an issue, it is not. Conveniently located near the Oktagon subway station, in front of a tram stop and with taxi available at the entrance all the time, moving in Budapest was easy during our stay. I highly recommend the executive room at the Corinthia (The free snacks and refreshment that comes with this room are a really nice bonus). The AC did not make any noise. The bed and the quality of the furniture was luxurious, clean and comfortable. Only downside, we had no view, but this did not bothered us at all as we spend most of our time outside visiting Budapest. Regardless of cost, my opinion is that the Corinthia is the best hotel in Budapest. For a budget of around 150 GBP/night I can say that it offered us the best quality/price ratio at the time and clearly outperformed its competitor.

Room Tip: Executive room come with free buffet snacks.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

I would first like to thank you for your detailed review of our hotel.
It is always wonderful to receive such a positive review, especially from such a frequent traveler like yourself. We are constantly striving to provide the best service to our guests and I am delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. I appreciate you mentioning our executive lounge, a wonderful feature of our hotel, as well as our convenient location. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest in the near future.
Warm regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just browsing through our pics and realised we hadn't added anything about Budapest! - went there November last - the hotel was tip top - location very good - although there were quite a few homeless people sleeping on the streets around the area where we were - food was average and often seemed to come with an inexplicable piece of MINT !! Great sightseeing and bus was best way to get around x

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyholidays444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I highly appreciate your honest feedback. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

What a beautifull hotel in the center of budapest.
Really a good experience.
Good spa and swimming pool and spa, Good restaurants in the hotel. We love this hotel. Advice: if you can choose an executive room to have access to the small executive club

1  Thank franchil703
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for pointing out our Executive Club facilities. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Warm regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is definitely a Corinthia Hotel. Is has the style and character you expect from them and most importantly the friendly and warm service those familiar with the brand will know so well.

The hotel itself is a beautiful building with period decoration interspersed with modern touches. The lobby is quite simply stunning, The beautiful stair case, lounges and court yards wont be quick forgotten. Although the lobby is grand, indeed vast it is not in the least impersonal

We arranged our transfer through the hotel and I would definitely recommend you do the same. Beautiful car waiting for us with complimentary water and papers. We then checked in at the executive lounge with complimentary champagne.

The rooms are spacious and well kept with everything you could need. The TV channels are a little limited but in the scheme of things its not very important. Housekeeping were efficient and visited twice a day.

The executive lounge is to be recommended. Complimentary tea, coffee, soft drinks, wine, champagne, cider, beer and nibbles. Also a selection of magazines and papers are available, internet access and a wide screen TV. The lounge is comfortable and rarely gets busy.

We ate in the restaurant and the Royal Bar as well as ordering room service. Out of the three we felt the Royal Bar came out on top. The restaurant was great for breakfast (wide selection on offer) but we felt it lacked atmosphere in the evening. The menu was also a little limited. The service was excellent however. The Royal Bar provided a nice menu, excellent service, a piano plaery and an excellent vantage point next to the lobby if you enjoy a spot of people watching!

The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from the river. However its a pleasant walk through the main shopping area. We ventured out during the day and night and found the Hungarian people to be friendly and most welcoming. Your money will also go a long way... think Spain before the Euro!

To conclude I would recommend both The Corinthia Hotel Budapest and Budapest itself! Visit now!

Room Tip: If possible book a room that allows you access to the Executive lounge! You will more than get your...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities. Thank you for highlighting the Le Bar. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

In general, we tend to try new places when we travel, but we didn't spend enough time in Budapest the first time and always wanted to return to the Corinthia. It's still well located, although the surrounding neighborhood might have gone down just a bit and the staff is still incredibly attentive and professional, but the hotel itself seemed just a bit "tired." The first room they gave us had a malfunctioning toilet. Maintenance immediately sent someone to fix it, but although he fiddled with the flush for a few minutes and pronounced it to be in fine working order, in fact the problem persisted. We called maintenance again and they said they'd send the man back, but we were not interested in this solution, so we requested a different room. They obliged and we were quite happy with the new room.

The wallpaper in the hallway outside our door was peeling off.

The bedrooms are lovely and the bathrooms are quite large, but can anyone explain why the facial tissue box is hanging on the wall next to the toilet instead of by the sink?

We had had great memories of the spa, but it simply was not as good this time. Perhaps they are saving money on electricity, but the water temperature in the swimming pool was not as warm as it previously was, which makes it a bit uncomfortable for relaxation.

All in all, it was a positive experience, but it is true that you can never recapture the feelings you had in the past. We're still not done with Budapest, but next time we'll try a different hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zilana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your continuous loyalty to us. I am very sorry that your stay in our house was not to your satisfaction and you did not find the guest room and corridors satisfactory when you were staying at our hotel. I kindly inform you that we are continuously investing in our product and during this year we are refurbishing many of our guest rooms, suites and the corridors as well. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Corinthia Budapest with better meeting your expectations.
Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Before you unpack your things, make sure you check to see that the air conditioning is working in your room. I had read in previous reviews that this was a problem other people had had so I thought I was being very smart to ask for a room with windows that would open to the outside as opposed to a room opening onto the inner atrium. We were delighted when we received an upgrade and got a two room suite on the second floor (room 2202) with a little balcony overlooking the street and two windows that opened to the outside! Unfortunately, after we'd unpacked and settled in, we discovered we had no air conditioning. When it got very hot at night, we tried sleeping with the windows open, but the street noise was so loud that we had to close them. We reported the problem three times over the course of our stay, and the engineer tried to fix it. The service in this hotel is excellent, and I'm sure they would have moved us to another room, but we weren't in the mood to repack, and we kept hoping that the problem could be fixed.

In spite of our air conditioning issues, this hotel because it has a lot going for it. We opted for an Executive room with access to the Mezzanine freebies---a very good deal---and we loved the free wifi and pool privileges. Our suite was high ceilinged and spotless, and the bathrooms were nicely renovated. The furniture and carpeting were circa 1980s but we'll preserved.

One other tip I could pass along would be to contact the hotel concierge before you arrive and have him make you a reservation at the Bock Bistro next door. I hear it's very good, but we couldn't get in. It was fully booked while we were here. However, we had an excellent meal at the Atrium Restaurant in the hotel. I intend to review it.

Room Tip: There are some rooms in the back of the hotel that overlook a garden that have windows opening to th...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panda3403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

I value your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. It was disappointing to learn that the standard of the room we booked you in to did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We are really sorry to learn about the temperature problems in the guestroom you occupied. Thank you for highlighting our service and the Brasserie&Atrium Restaurant. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
3,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £119 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing