We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #20 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Wonderful hotel, great location.

Service could not be faulted. My room was terrific. It was so so so quiet too.

Breakfast was wonderful. The room was spacious, light and airy, and selection-wiseI really was spoiled for choice. The fresh fruit was particularly good, The staff were so attentive.

If I had to suggest a way to improve the hotel I would suggest trying to put some air conditioning in the gymnasium. Otherwise this was as close to perfection as I have encountered.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squarebear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. I am very pleased that you had such a great experience at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate you mentioning our breakfast selection, which can be booked in advacne online on Corinthia.com/Budapest. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,430
    1,177
    267
    102
    47
See reviews for
913
3,806
209
771
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,098)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel in June, 2013 for a conference. The location was perfect. The architecture was absolutely beautiful and made you feel as if you were stepped into the past. The hotel was very clean and spacious. The stairways in the entrance was breathtaking. My room was quite large and overlooked a courtyard where you could hear echos of the pianist playing in the lobby. I did not use the pool but I did visit it and the pool area was beautiful. The entire hotel was nicely laid out and it made my conference a lot easier to attend. The concierge was not as helpful as I am used to at other hotels. I had to make a lot of reservations and figure out the city on my own. I am not complaining but it seemed out of character for such a wonderful hotel. I would recommend this hotel to any vacationer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. Thank you for your recommendation. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

And over the last 40 years I've stayed in a lot around the world!

I've been staying at hotels in Budapest since the mid-seventies - The Inter-Continental (now Marriott), The Forum (now The Inter-Coninental), The Hilton and, latterly, The Four Seasons Gresham Palace and the Kempinski, but I would have to say that the Corinthia beats the lot, especially when measured against price.

I remember the Royal from before the renovation, so it's a particular pleasure to see it now - a magnificent job has been done with no cost spared.

The rooms, the spa, the common parts, the Bock Wine bar are all absolutely first class and I stingily recommend the Exective Club upgrade, marvellous value for money and something that completes the stay.

All of the staff were wonderful, our room was street facing, which I would prefer to facing the atrium but that would be a minor quibble as would be some tram noise during the night.

Yes, the area around the hotel is not the nicest in Budpest but you can simply take a taxi or jump on a tram to get you o the V district or the increasingly exclusive Andrassy ut.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarwoodEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Please let me start by letting you know how truly grateful I am for your thoughtful review of our hotel. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a lovely hotel! The rooms were beautiful, bathroom was spacious, staff were very helpful. The SPA was really nice, and well the whole ambiance and feel to this hotel was incredible. I've stayed at 'Lions Gate' hotel in Budapest as well, and it wasn't until i stayed there that i really appreciated the Corinthia! Possibly the best hotel I've stayed at!

Don't think twice. Stay here!!

Room Tip: The executive upgrade is worth it! The rooms are MASSIVE, and the 'nibbles' provided was eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services met your first class expectations. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. Thank you for highlighting the Royal Spa. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bratislava
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed with my familiy for 3nights. I was on a confference. The rooms are not bad, however, little bit used. See the attached picture. Our room was facing a courtyard, which is bit noisy and dark. The bell boy was great. Other employees not nice at all. The receptionist Zsolt did not allow a free later ckeck out, although we explained that our baby was sleepping during lunch. We paid full price per room 180e, so such a small exception I would consider normal. The same for the SPA. Kids are allowed only between 11 and 15. This is way to short. The catering was nothing special. For that price I will definitely not come back. I will rather return to LeMeridien.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank turista_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time and thought to share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that your stay in our house is not run to your satisfaction. I would like to sincerely apologize for the shortfall in the standard of service on this occasion.
I have since had an opportunity to review your concerns with our Front Office team. Apparently a complimentary extended use of the guest room until 1pm was offered, but unfortunately it was refused. Your wish to stay until 3 pm was not possible due to the extremely high occupancy of the hotel at the time. It was disappointing to learn that you had difficulties in use of our Royal Spa facilities. I would like to highlight that in order to maintain the relaxing ambience of our spa, children under the age of 16 are only allowed to use the Royal Spa between 11 am – 3 pm daily and must be accompanied by an adult. This information is also stated in all our published information channels and on all partner platforms. I am sorry if this was not visible to you at the time of booking. I trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future.
Kind regards
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Superb hotel, excellent location and services, amazing personnel. Impressive architecture and decorations. We also received a delicious chocolate cake and a bottle of champagne complimentary for my birthday. Totally unexpected and very well appreciated. Breakfast was amazing, lunch and dinner snacks, as well as evening drinks are all you need if what you're looking for is having a relaxing time in Budapest without exploring the city for restaurants. In other words, totally worth upgrading to the executive club. The royal SPA was indeedd royal, clean pool, perfect water and relaxing bathtubs. All in all, a great experience!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank monyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. We are constantly striving to provide the best service to our guests and I am delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest at Wellness section. We would be honored to welcome you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest in the near future.
Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Words are not enough to descrive the beauty, the elegance and high professionality offered by this hotel. The location is extraordinary and service great, one of the very best hotel ever visited...and I must admit, considering our bad experiences in Budapest, the part I appreciated most. Sad to say, I know, but that's a long story, which has absolutely nothing to do with the hotel :(
The rooms are big and furniture is good. the spa is very good too, with a big swimming pool, sauna and hammam. The hall is amazing and wifi is provided everywhere.
Very little something I did not like: 1) plugs were far from both sides of the bed ; 2) porn channels offers where among the first things you find displayed on television as you turn it on 3) no smoking rooms or areas.
Despite this, I would return to Budapest at least to stay again here! Applause!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuicyLanaBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I am disappointed to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Thank you for mentioning our spa services. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. I kindly inform you that you can opt non-smoking rooms via corinthia.com, what can be located on the 6th floor of our building. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,694 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing