We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a hotel in a gorgeous city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #17 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel in a gorgeous city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in this absolutely beautiful hotel. It was a real pleasure I must say. This building is full of history, and I cannot fault the excellent staff. We decided to upgrade to the executive package as for 35 Euros as opposed to 29 Euros for the breakfast, you get so much more -my only gripe is that we were told that the package would include cocktails, when in fact it doesn't. You can however drink champagne, wine and spirits with mixers. The snacks are changed regularly, and I thought they were pretty good. The breakfast was excellent. I would also recommend Bocks Bistro where our lovely waiter recommended catfish liver-sounds horrendous but was in fact delicious. In Budapest, we visited and would recommend the Szevnezy baths-a must see, and also the Hungarian State Opera is an experience not to be missed. So much to see, and then to return to our stunning hotel. I definitely intend to return, and I would strongly recommend this hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ElaineCashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for your positive and very detailed review. I appreciate you mentioning our executive lounge, a wonderful feature of our hotel, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,281
    1,139
    259
    98
    41
See reviews for
885
3,699
205
734
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed two nights before a River cruise. Stayed in a quiet, comfortable, and clean 4th floor room with attractive decor. The picturesque lobby included a grande staircase and beautiful light from the glass atrium. Service was prompt and courteous.

Excellent location to see the sights of Budapest. Easy walking and easy access to public transportation.

Only downside was the breakfast option was too expensive.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Please let me start by letting you know how truly grateful I am for your thoughtful review of our hotel. Although it was a short visit before a river cruise, I am glad that you enjoyed your room as well as our wonderful breakfast buffet. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest in the near future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just spent three nights in the Corinthia. The building is stunning and has been cleverly linked. We checked in and as we had travelled by train from Prague, decided we would refresh ourselves by going to the spa for a swim. We went down to the spa to be told that we had to go down in the robes and slippers provided in the room. Nowhere in the hotel handbook, nor indeed when we checked in, were we told this. We explained in any case to the spa staff that there was only one robe in our room. We were told to go back to our room and housekeeping would bring another robe for us. 40 minutes and a trip to the concierge later and we had a robe. Not acceptable. We had to physically go to the concierge as the phone was not working - that took well into the next day to be fixed. Also within the room- which was a good size and well appointed - there were three faulty power sockets. We gave up complaining at that point.
We went down to try and eat atBock Bistro to be told by the staff there that it was not part of the hotel. I was ready to go hungry but we ended up eating at the brasserie and had a lovely meal served by two very attentive and helpful young waiters.
Breakfast was good but two days when we want to a 'set'' table we had to ask for napkins and this morning when my husband was asked if he would like coffee he had to point out that there were no cups on the table.
This is not what we would expect from a five star hotel and we certainly will not be staying here again should we visit Budapest again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AilsaPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. Your comments are valuable for us and highlight the areas where we need to focus on in order to gain an excellent guest experience. I was sorry to learn that your stay on this occasion fell short of your expectations. I would like to sincerely apologize for the shortfall in the standard of service on this occasion. I was disappointed to learn that you had to wait long time for the spa bathrobes and standard of your room equipment fell below expectations. I can assure you that your comments have been reviewed with the team and expected service behaviour has been reinforced. I do hope that you will look upon this glitch in service as a one-off and not indicative of the high standards of customer care we strive to provide at all times. I trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future.
Kind regards
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I was placed in this hotel on a recent business trip. I Stayed for three nights and I was fortunate enough to find a little down time and visit their spar. I loved everything about this hotel, it is well located, the staff as all lovely, the food was excellent, the spar is superb. I simply could not fault it. I would highly recommend anyone who is visiting Budapest to seriously consider this Hotel. I intend to go back in the near future on a leisure trip and will stay in this hotel without question. Perfect!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We are constantly striving to provide the best service to our guests and I am delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. Thank you for your kind words. We would be honored to welcome you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest in the near future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Corinthia is a beautiful hotel with a definite wow factor. We chose an Executive room following the comments from other reviewers, and we were not disappointed. Our flight was delayed and we arrived in the early hours of the morning. We were checked in immediately by a very friendly front of house member of staff and given a room upgrade overlooking the stunning atrium. The room was extremely comfortable, stylish, very spacious and so quiet! Breakfast next morning in the Executive lounge had everything you could want to start the day, and the staff were extremely courteous and hard working. The setting was perfect - on the mezzanine floor overlooking the entrance of the hotel, with a member of staff on hand to book excursions, sort out any problems and check-in/out. The Corinthia is perfectly situated to explore Budapest and we were really impressed with the city. After a long day's sightseeing it was good to relax in the hotel's luxurious pool area and then pop back to the Executive lounge for afternoon tea or a pre-dinner drink. Nothing disappointed with this hotel. It had everything we expected from a 5 star hotel - and more!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Netters57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. Thank you for highlighting the breakfast selection and ou location. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We took a Standard Room on the 6th room 6118. It was quiet and had a beautiful view of the city.
The room was of a highly polished standard , as was the bathroom. We both slept like a log in the comfortable bed, and there was a good coffee and tea maker. Two good size wardrobes and a iron and iron board if needed. Easy to use safe in your room.
Room size was good enough for most , if not a little oversized for the European standard. Breakfast is quite expensive at £25 each if you haven't got this included in your package , but go hungry and you find it could be the only meal you need before dinner. 2 glasses of Bucks Fizz and 3 courses later and you feel you have had value for money. If you are going for just a piece of toast and a coffee ,don't waste your money with this feast of treats.
Location feels more like Soho than Park Lane. But don't let that put you off, it's a great base to comeback to from all the walking you would expect to do if you want to explore a city by foot.
Their pool is a their showcase and it doesn't disappoint , sauna, steam room, jacuzzi , and waterbeds . Towels and robes are handed to you at the spa reception and there are Changing areas and lockers , so you don't need to wander down the bedroom corridors in your bathrobe. Unlike some hotels this is included in the price of the hotel and the only services you pay are the treatments. For me the Spa gave the hotel it's 5star quality.
From the roadside it looks a little understated but you do get the wow factor when you enter the foyer, and the lounge bar is very pleasant .Checkout the Ballroom before you leave , you just might have found your venue for your wedding reception or a New Years Ball.
A splendid 3 night stay and thank you to all the efficient staff there that looked after us.
A finally note about this city. It's large and not compact , you will walk miles and miles wherever your hotel location, if you wish to make the most of your trip to Budapest.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2010cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am very pleased that you had such a great experience at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Warm regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had a great four days at this hotel, really couldn't fault it. Service was fabulous, especially in the executive lounge. Our room was lovely and the hotel building is very impressive. We had one evening meal in the hotel which we really enjoyed, we also used the spa and had a treatment, the spa was impressive and clean and the service from the therapists was excellent. Would return here without doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blondie728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest Wellness section.
I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#22 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing