We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #17 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Absolutely gorgeous hotel wonderfully restored and modernised,clearly at great expense.
Centrally located and with an elegant exterior, but it is the interior that is arresting and memorable with marble everywhere,soaring brightly illuminated lobby and dining area.Both are roofed with glass to great effect.
The average modern 5 star hotel seems dark,dingy and anonymous by comparison.
Rooms excellent -both spacious and well appointed.Good bathrooms,comfortable beds,wi fi also.
The pool/spa is also elegant and lovely.
Staff friendly,helpful and courteous.
Food also very satisfactory.
This is a truly special hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views of the splendid interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbuckley43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am so glad that you were fascinated by the facilities of our beautiful building. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,281
    1,139
    259
    98
    41
See reviews for
885
3,699
205
734
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Undoubtedly one of the best hotels i've stayed at in Europe. The rooms are 5-star quality with plush furnishings. I found the service and staff to be professional and exceptionally attentive. The location itself is great. Wait till you check out the Spa - HEAVENLY! Couldn't fault it. This hotel is a winner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess_Coco888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
First of all I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. I am so glad that you were fascinated by the facilities of our beautiful building. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities., from which more information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. We are enthusiastic about the prospect of welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and stayed here for a conference. The breakfast (which was included in the room rate) was delicious and a very large selection of hot and cold items. Definitely worth adding to the room cost. Originally, we were given a standard room but we had requested non smoking and the room reeked of cigarette smoke. We were given a deluxe room without any hassle and the room was perfect for out trip. Use of the spa is included in the room rate and within the facilities are two hot tubs, one pool, relaxation chaises, two dry saunas and one steam room. Massages etc are available at extra charge. The metro is immediately in front of the hotel and the yellow line is only a 5 min walk away. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance and we walked to the Danube from the hotel in under 30 min.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank simchah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and found our spa to be a relaxing retreat during your visit. Thank you for pointing out our location, from which useful information an be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest at Destination section. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Travelled as a couple in June 2014 and stayed 3 nights at the Corinthia Budapest. Everything about our stay was perfect. The hotel has the "wow" factor when you arrive and continued to impress for the rest of our stay. We stayed in an Executive Double, which meant access to the complimentary drinks and snacks in the executive lounge - very nice touch. The room was really nice. I loved the indoor courtyard. The breakfast was vast and delicious, filled us up for the rest of the day. The swimming pool and spa facilities are lovely. The service in all areas was first class and I hope the management appreciate what a brilliant team they have - outstanding customer service. I hope to come back to Budapest again and I will definitely stay at the Corinthia. I came home feeling like I'd had a luxury weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlegypsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. I appreciate your recognition of our staff who take great pride in providing first-class service to our valued guests. I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
287 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for a couple nights before heading back home. Overall a great experience
Location -- In the heart of budapest. Most key sights are within a 20 minute walk. the octagon metro stop is a three minute walk. Location is great.
Rooms-Initial room was hot (broken A/C)? When I asked for new room, they upgraded me to a suite. this was great. Bathroom is large enough and is very modern. flat screens in the room. the bed i very comfortable. overall great room.
Customer service -- upgraded to suite...need i say more. Front desk was very helpful. All staff were fluent in english and very helpful.
Ambiance -- Upscale of course. Seems that many of the hotel guests were from the states or England. The bar was nice..
Food - Only ate breakfast at the hotel, but what a spread it was. Great options and Great food. Get the breakfast, you won't regret it.
To conclude, Great hotel in great location. Will stay here the next time I am in budapest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catchyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I would first like to thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. I appreciate your mentioning about the attentive service provided by our staff. I’m very pleased that you pointed out our location that we are very close to the most important touristic attractions. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest in the near future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Great place, great location, lovely staff! Enjoyed my stay! Right in the middle of the city, really loved the "körut". Bars & coffees everywhere, with pumping nightlife!
If I come back to Budapest, will defenetly choose this property again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with all the readers. I appreciate you mentioning our convenient location, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/budapest Destination section. We would be honored to welcome you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest in the near future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is beautiful, the location ideal ( tram line right outside the hotel takes you to Margaret Island and the biggest shopping mall in town) and the staff always goes the extra mile for you, let it be at reception, the concierge desk or the spa. The rooms are delightful, restaurants and bars slightly at the top end of the price range and you might want to pass on the mini bar but both food and drinks are excellent. We only had breakfast once at the hotel as we are not big eaters in the morning and also wanted to experience local cafes and bakeries, not cheap at the hotel either but choice beyond imagination, everything fresh and also to order. Don't forget to enjoy the spa as much as possible, the treatments are great esp Yoga. Enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: As the hotel is located on a busy street ( that's the disadvantage of a hotel in close proximity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevertravelhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
I cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities, from which more information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest website on Wellness section. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Cordially,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,548 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#22 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing