We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #20 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, perfect location”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Corinthia. The view from the entrance is incredible and better than we could have imagined. Our room was clean and of a good size. The bathroom is lined with marble and exceeded expectation. The only let down was there was no coffee machine as described when we booked so we had to fumble with a kettle for some instant coffee (sharing 1 sachet between two as one was missing). A bottle of free mineral water would also have been welcomed rather than paying over £3. Also the window looked into the hotel so we couldn't see outside which would have been nice. Spa was excellent although water was a bit cold in the pool for swimming but nice for a quick dip. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Overall an excellent hotel and good value for money. There is a nearby metro and the tram stops outside but most places are within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurus100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. I kindly inform you that we will equipped all of our Suites and Royal Residences with Nespresso coffee machines, for further details of room amenities please visit our website, the Corinthia.com/budaepst Rooms section. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,428
    1,177
    267
    102
    47
See reviews for
913
3,804
209
771
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,098)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our first trip to Budapest. We requested a car at the train station and was greeted trainside by a representative from the hotel. We had a speedy check in and excellent service from the concierge. We had a spectacular room and everyone at the hotel did their absolute best to ensure our stay was comfortable and fun. We look forward to returning to Budapest soon and staying at the Corinthia. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous. If you don't like hearing the buses which run 24 hours ask for a si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

An incredibly grand hotel that has been beautifully restored. The staircase at the entrance is worth a visit by itself! There's also a notice board showing all the famous people that have stayed there. I was overjoyed to be staying somewhere that both Josephine Baker and Motörhead had been. The stories those rooms could tell!
Rooms are very nice and the breakfast is well catered. Make time for the pool that is a modern replica of some of the more famous, fading outdoor ones across the city. It's areal joy to swim and admire the ornate architecture around you.
There are restaurants in the Corinthia, however the scale of the place means that it's hard to get a 'personal touch'. I found it hard to ensure Gluten Free both at the hotel and many parts of the city, despite having a translation card outlining dietary requirements. That said, this is the best city hotel that I have ever stayed in and we got a great deal, so check the prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluepatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I would first like to thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. Thank you for highlighting our history board, from wich additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed there 4 days on a business trip, and everything was first class. Service, rooms, dining (great breakfast), and took great care of us during our conference. Had some free time and the concierge set me up with a great tour of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. I will pass your kind comments to our Concierge. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Beautiful hotel, in a great location with really helpful and hardworking staff! I couldn't find anything to complain about (a small tip: do not exchange your money at the airport - change it in town)!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate your mentioning about the attentive service provided by our staff. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon. Warm regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our first time in Budapest and we loved it, but I must add that staying at the Corinthia just made our trip unforgettable! The staff were very friendly and helpful and we were allocated an absolutely beautiful room - it was very spacious and comfortable which was perfect to relax in after our full-on days of sightseeing! The location was perfect, we thoroughly enjoyed using the spa and the breakfast selection was just sublime.

Corinthia Budapest: thank you so much for such a memorable and luxurious stay and we will definitely be staying at your hotel on our next trip to Budapest!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities. Thank you for pointing out our Royal Spa, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Yours faithfully,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Absolutely gorgeous hotel wonderfully restored and modernised,clearly at great expense.
Centrally located and with an elegant exterior, but it is the interior that is arresting and memorable with marble everywhere,soaring brightly illuminated lobby and dining area.Both are roofed with glass to great effect.
The average modern 5 star hotel seems dark,dingy and anonymous by comparison.
Rooms excellent -both spacious and well appointed.Good bathrooms,comfortable beds,wi fi also.
The pool/spa is also elegant and lovely.
Staff friendly,helpful and courteous.
Food also very satisfactory.
This is a truly special hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views of the splendid interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbuckley43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am so glad that you were fascinated by the facilities of our beautiful building. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,693 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing