We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more from a hotel so highly spoken of...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #20 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expected more from a hotel so highly spoken of...”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My review is purely based on the fact that my partner and I had much higher expectations from a hotel of this caliber. Our excitement started from the moment we got the reservation sorted (3 month prior to checking in) that was a very smooth transaction over the phone with their friend staff. Upon arrival we were amazed by the aesthetic values and of both interior and exterior as the building is truly beautiful as whole. I got a bit disappointed after I walked into the room as it looked nothing outstanding and it did not have the 'wow factor' to it whatsoever. It was a superior midrange double room that looked only standard compared to what I have seen at other 5* hotels. No personalized greeting or welcome drink in the room, no free mineral water that is the least I expect from a price I payed for the room not to mention that we did not even get our luggage delivered to our room. The hight of our stay was when we visited the fitness room that was almost an insult:) There are 440 rooms in the hotel and the size of the fitness area is about 5x4 meters or 16x13 feet so it would have been better if they did not have a fitness room at all. The other thing I did not like was the staff greeted and started talking to us in English. Why??? What country are you in???
On the positive side the spa area is beautiful and the jacuzzi in there is heavenly. I highly recommend the Bock bistro next door where the food is gorgeous and the selection of wine is top class. If you are there try the wine called Kadarka.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Your constructive comments have been noted and will be addressed with the appropriate parties, as they assist us as we strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,432
    1,178
    267
    102
    48
See reviews for
913
3,807
209
772
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,098)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wetherby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My friend &I stayed 4 nights and everything was superb hotel room linen toileteries. The staff were polite and so helpfull. Was worth upgrading to executive no complaints and was just a great visit to a beautiful city

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnieWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay and I appreciate that you mentioned the dedicated services of our concierge and executive club staff. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel for 3 nights in May with my girlfriend (both 26). The facilities, staff and location of the hotel was excellent, thoroughly impressed. The rooms were very spacious and very well crafted, especially nice bathrooms. The hotel itself has a grand aura right from the lobby.

Spa facilities are included, which is located below ground with saunas, steam rooms, hot tubs and a swimming pool. All very good.

We only ate once at the hotel, enjoying their buffet style breakfast, which is semi famous. My girlfriend really enjoyed the breakfast, however, for what we paid I was a little underwhelmed.

All in all a great stay! I have recommended it to my parents and hopefully they will visit soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. We are constantly striving to provide the best service to our guests and I am delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It could be just the bad luck, but my experience with this hotel is mixed. The facade is amazing! And from the moment you step in, as if you are in a royal palace. Decoration is wonderful, especially the ballroom. The hotel staff has designer uniforms. The rooms are spacious. Getting to the rooms is like going through the labyrinth for the first few times until you learn your way. :) There is a cabaret show that you should see. It is a must. Hotel facilities are amazing. The only reason I do not rate it excellent is due to two reasons. Bathroom was not too clean on both days I stayed there. Black hair all over the bathroom. Another reason is the check in procedure. They asked for the deposit that was total cost of the room plus 100€ As insurance in case you take something from the minibar. Additionally, the receptionist on the day of the check out, charged different sum of the money to me and my friends although the rooms were exactly the same. The receptionist first wanted to charge me the price for two people although I was alone in the room. Even after my intervention she insisted being right. After I said that it was not the price I booked searching for the booking confirmation in my purse, she said that I was right. Again, it could have been an honest mistake, but make sure you have enough money for a deposit and check the bill before you leave the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinaMSarajevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I would first like to thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. Thank you for your honest feedback. Thank you for your constructive suggestions regarding the room, I will personally bring this to the attention of the appropriate parties. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A classy hotel with some great original features from when part of it was a theatre. Staff very friendly, food good, bed comfortable, location good. Fine exterior and three different buildings on either side of the original have been welded into one superstructure. Facilities generally good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Please let me start by letting you know how truly grateful I am for your thoughtful review of our hotel. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for highlighting our Grand Ballroom1s history, from which interesting information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest in the near future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

excellent location. the hotel is clean and the rooms are big and comfortable. the breakfast is excellent. the pool, spa, jacuzzi & sauna are fine. I enjoyed my stay and highly recommend it. the staff is nice and helpful

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Schottdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am very glad that you emphasized our services provided by our staff. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities, from about you may find further details on Corinthia.com/Budapest at Wellness section. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel soon. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My company were working on a conference being hosted in the Corinthia ballroom. My crew and I enjoyed the Corinthia and it's facilities over 3 days.
Rooms were clean, contemporary in decor and spacious. Bedding was excellent. My only criticism was the LCD tvs were a little small for such spacious rooms. The hotel is very big and it felt like quite a walk between lifts and rooms. There are many lifts so I suggest having a good look around to get your bearings. Once you know your best route to things it doesn't seem such a vast building.
I was seeking a location to film some interviews and was given a tour of the hotel by the manager. He was a real gent and gave me some history of the hotel while we explored.
Pool and gym facilities were superb, the swimming pool in particular. One of our cameramen often found himself the only person in the pool and was really taken with the grandeur of it.
Food was excellent. As always the breakfast buffet is what most people want to know about. The selection was superb with all sorts of continental options through to hot typical "fry up" fare but with a continental twist. My only comment would be that the pancakes were not made to order. This makes no sense to me. It's such a quick and easy thing to do and makes a huge difference to the quality. The pre made pancakes that were kept on a hot plate were dry and disappointing.
The hotel is brilliantly located within the city although sadly we didn't get much of a chance to explore.

Would definitely return when next in Pest.

Room Tip: Rooms either look out onto the internal atriums or to open air. Personally I want to be able to open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am so glad that you were fascinated by the facilities of our beautiful building. It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay and I appreciate that you mentioned the hotel tour, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,698 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#18 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing