We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #17 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Lobby reception dining areas beautiful, room was very nice, bathroom with actual separate shower a bonus as husband has some impaired mobility. Bed was disappointment, expected much more re matress, doonas. Overall beautiful hotel would stay again, good location. My husband wasnt happy with aircon not cool enough.

Room Tip: No idea our room was on 4th floor far away from lifts, overlooking another building nothing special
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Please let me start by letting you know how truly grateful I am for your thoughtful review of our hotel. Thank you for your honest feedback. Thank you for the useful comments, so we can improve our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our Hotel in the not too distant future. Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,281
    1,139
    259
    98
    41
See reviews for
885
3,699
205
734
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights.

Pros:
1. The hotel staff were helpful at all times
2. The room (superior King - inside facing) was great. We stayed at the 5th floor and it was quiet at all times
3. The hotel lobby is magnificent
4. Wireless access was good at all times
5. Room service were responsive and very helpful
6. Great location in Budapest
7. The hotel manager and staff went out if his way to take good care of us
8. Breakfast is good
9. The spa (free for hotel guests) was exceptional

Cons:
There is absolutely nothing I can say to falt this hotel. This is one of the best hotels to stay in when visiting Budapest.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 1travelor101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
143 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during a conference and it well exceeded my expectations. As a property it is lovely - It is grand without being over the top. I would say it has "grace" for lack of a better word. We had an executive room at a very reasonable rate (not through the conference) - it was very comfortable, clean, with all the accessories one expects. The biggest "thumbs up" for us, where amenities are concerned, was the wifi - excellent all round the building. The staff were great - couldn't fault any of them. They were not understaffed which is something you do come across some times when there are events in a hotel. Breakfast - very comprehensive - good scrambled eggs. Location wise - well this is a subjective matter - I have to say that I do prefer the river properties as I like the view over the Danube - but it is not too far by foot from the river and the town centre and for our needs, it was perfect as the conference was in the hotel. Super few days!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retro46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with all the readers. I appreciate you mentioning our convenient location, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/budapest Destination section. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Warm regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for few days:
- it has a very spacious room with a big sofa, big king bed and big toilet with a large separate walk in shower
- Bedding and toiletries are of a high quality and it is very quite
- The breakfast was very generous and a large variety of everything you are looking for.
- Staff are really friendly, warm and helpful
- Spa facilities and the staff there are great
- Good local restaurant Brock where u can have good local food and wine. Always busy.
- Location is central with few minutes walk from all main attractions.
- My request is to add an electrical socket next to bed table, a bidet in the toilet (at least a water hose), and breakfast to be served till 11.
- Will always be my choice when in Budapest

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZeeF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. We are constantly striving to provide the best service to our guests and I am delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My review is purely based on the fact that my partner and I had much higher expectations from a hotel of this caliber. Our excitement started from the moment we got the reservation sorted (3 month prior to checking in) that was a very smooth transaction over the phone with their friend staff. Upon arrival we were amazed by the aesthetic values and of both interior and exterior as the building is truly beautiful as whole. I got a bit disappointed after I walked into the room as it looked nothing outstanding and it did not have the 'wow factor' to it whatsoever. It was a superior midrange double room that looked only standard compared to what I have seen at other 5* hotels. No personalized greeting or welcome drink in the room, no free mineral water that is the least I expect from a price I payed for the room not to mention that we did not even get our luggage delivered to our room. The hight of our stay was when we visited the fitness room that was almost an insult:) There are 440 rooms in the hotel and the size of the fitness area is about 5x4 meters or 16x13 feet so it would have been better if they did not have a fitness room at all. The other thing I did not like was the staff greeted and started talking to us in English. Why??? What country are you in???
On the positive side the spa area is beautiful and the jacuzzi in there is heavenly. I highly recommend the Bock bistro next door where the food is gorgeous and the selection of wine is top class. If you are there try the wine called Kadarka.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Your constructive comments have been noted and will be addressed with the appropriate parties, as they assist us as we strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wetherby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My friend &I stayed 4 nights and everything was superb hotel room linen toileteries. The staff were polite and so helpfull. Was worth upgrading to executive no complaints and was just a great visit to a beautiful city

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnieWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay and I appreciate that you mentioned the dedicated services of our concierge and executive club staff. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel for 3 nights in May with my girlfriend (both 26). The facilities, staff and location of the hotel was excellent, thoroughly impressed. The rooms were very spacious and very well crafted, especially nice bathrooms. The hotel itself has a grand aura right from the lobby.

Spa facilities are included, which is located below ground with saunas, steam rooms, hot tubs and a swimming pool. All very good.

We only ate once at the hotel, enjoying their buffet style breakfast, which is semi famous. My girlfriend really enjoyed the breakfast, however, for what we paid I was a little underwhelmed.

All in all a great stay! I have recommended it to my parents and hopefully they will visit soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest. We are constantly striving to provide the best service to our guests and I am delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#22 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Property: Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#4 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel and Prestigia so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing