We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the 5 star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #15 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Slightly outside of the main tourist area. 20 minute walk past all the nice shops to the beautiful budapest. We have been to a lot of European cities and this rivals any of them for the stunning architecture. We hired bikes for the day and this is a great way to see the city. There are plenty of cycle paths, but the main roads are a bit hairy on a bike. Go down to the river at night time and watch the backlit bats flying above the parliament.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank FamilyofFourItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

I would like to thank you that you have honored Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your Budapest stay.I am glad to note that your stay was great here.I’m very pleased that you pointed out our convenient location. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Kind regards,

Thomas M Fischer

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,584 - 2,590 of 7,293 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We recently went to Budapest and stayed here. The staff was super friendly the rooms were large, clean very nice. I especially liked the location. It was walking distance to everything but just out of range that you did not get bombarded with tourist flyers when you stepped out the front door. The bars and food around the hotel were good and were filled with locals. We had other family stay at other high end hotels at the same time. Corinthia was best by far!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank I_love_seafood_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review.I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel.
I appreciate you mentioning our convenient location, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/budapest Destination section. It is also wonderful to hear that you loved this great city as much as we do, and we hope to welcome you back soon to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest.
Warm regards,

Thomas M Fischer

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

So many good things to say about this hotel. First, be sure to use their airport-to-hotel transfer. Made it so easy after a long trip to just have someone take over! Bell men were so friendly and helpful in flagging down taxis, giving directions, etc. it's worth the money to stay in the Executive club - delicious canapés, hot soup, wine, champagne, and liquor from 6:30a.m. to 10:00p.m. Free Wi-fi too! Rooms are large with high ceilings, extremely comfortable beds and, contrary to other reviews, the air-conditioning worked wonderfully (and we went in July!) We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and had champagne and strawberries waiting in our room. The concierge service was priceless. They arranged for us to renew our vows at a local church with only a four hour notice. Also arranged and delivered train tickets to Slovakia for us. Rickshaw restaurant delicious, and don't miss the breakfast buffet: fried eggs, omelettes made-to-order, fresh fruit, sausage, bacon, hash browns, assorted breads and pastries, broiled tomatoes and sautéed mushrooms. Swimming pool and jacuzzi so beautiful! Neighborhood at night is completely safe and we walked all over with no problems. Absolutely lovely experience!

Room Tip: Book the executive level and a room with a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HappyInHouston2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to note that you were satisfied with our staff. It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay and I appreciate that you mentioned Executive Club services, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel was definitely 5* it was immaculately clean and the staff could not have been any more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The atmosphere was relaxing the spa was really clean. It was my husbands birthday and they sent a cake up and champagne which was unexpected and a lovely surprise, I cannot say enough about how professional and friendly the staff are.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel if your visiting Budapest.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front overlooking the street which was busy but the double doors onto the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities. I am glad to read that you had a really great and memorable stay and birthday celebration with us. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed 10 nights at start of July, needed to be in Budapest for work, hotel is not your average business class hotel, is way above that, large rooms, comfortable bed, seating area in room, aircon, quiet, fold down service every night. Breakfast is not to be missed, sets you up for the day ahead. Staff could not be more helpfull, always pleasant, willing to serve you. Central location, tram stop outside if required, carpark to rear.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDSUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your recent stay. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us. Thank you very much for mentioning our buffet breakfast, which can be ordered in advance with a discount in case of more than 3 nights stay on corinthia.com/budapest. I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Well what can I say !!!! We stayed at the corinthia hotel for 3 nights with our friends from the 11th July for 3 nights. It was to celebrate our friends 70th birthday . Our rooms were available as soon ax we arrived although we went straight to the executive lounge as we were booked in executive rooms. The lounge includes complimentary drinks and snacks throught out the day. An amazing breakfast hot and cold even champagne at breakfast. It's worth paying e extra for these rooms. Water delivered to the rooms each night is included. As I am a travel agent in the uk I am very fussy and would not hesitate booking my clients here. We had champagne left in both rooms with a birthday cake which was delicious . The service is amazing and special thanks to Victoria at breakfast and Barbara both in the executive lounge who gave us fantastic service. Nothing is too much trouble for anybody at this hotel . Concierge is very good and they will book any restaurant reservations for you and trips. It's worth getting the hotel to do the airport transfer at a cost of 15000 forints one way approx £ 45.00 . All in all this hotel should be number one on tripadviser. If you get the big bus hop on hop off you get the river cruise included. Also per book a nice restaurant as we were unable to get in at the hotels bistro or zellers restaurant number one on tripadviser. The hotel is a about 15 minutes to the river but a lovely walk. Book this hotel you won't be disappointed trust me !!!!

Room Tip: Request a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank digirlcruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest.I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here.I am glad to read that you had a really great and memorable stay and birthday celebration with us. I will pass your kind comments to our team members. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest.
Yours faithfully,

Thomas M Fischer

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Fantastic hotel. We stayed in Exec room so had the benefit of the Exec Lounge with all it's snacks, drinks (incl beer, cocktails, coke etc). The staff are exceptional on the whole and as we evidenced work hard to sort even minor issues. Room and room service including cleaning was excellent. The hotel location is ideal for seeing the city and the advice of the concierge is excellent.
Breakfast was a special treat and we were very impressed by two staff in particular - a waitress called Szinthia and one of the ladies who had more of a management role called Imola. They worked exceptionally hard and we're very focused on their customers.
Our only criticism was the World Cup Brunch on the 13 July. The event seemed a bit disorganised. The afore mentioned ladies worked hard to make it happen however did not seem to be helped by a number of male colleagues in suits who mainly seemed to wander aimlessly or have group discussions.
However al in all it is a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the Atrium which is not the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay and I appreciate that you mentioned Executive Club services, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. Thank you for the useful comments about the World Cup brunch, so we can improve our services. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future.
Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,864 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £114 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing