We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great First Stay in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #16 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We picked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. This was a two-night stay before hopping on an Avalon River Cruise. We received what we considered a great rate via Booking.com. Check-in was a breeze and we were escorted up to our room with a bellman (Rudolf) who showed us the room and amenities.

The room was very nice but we found it to be a bit warmer than we probably would have ideally liked. In all fairness, we never asked them to check it out so can't really complain.

The lobby and public areas are absolutely beautiful. This is what I really would expect a European luxury hotel to be like.

Everyone was very friendly and helpful and most knew English well - a big plus for us. The location was great, in our opinion. Not in the middle of the action, but easy to get to it walking (only 20 minutes to the river) or by public transportation.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again if we return to Budapest.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rudeman_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Please let me start by letting you know how truly grateful I am for your thoughtful review of our hotel. I am most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest in the near future.
Warm regards,

Thomas M Fischer

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,583 - 2,589 of 7,302 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Beware, first of all, of the room price. Does the "headline" price include VAT (18%, I think) and city tax (4%, I think) ? If it doesn't then you may be in for an unpleasant surprise when you come to pay the bill. Also beware of extras - breakfast, drinks, laundry, extras on the TV, etc - they can be very expensive. So far as the hotel goes, just take the room, nothing else.

And beware of the 'Grand', 'Royal', 'Executive' trip. The place is huge and grandiose, true. It dates from a time when that sort of thing was in fashion. (Budapest's full of hotels of the same type.) But the taste's Hollywood rather than the Dorchester, and you're unlikely to meet a Grand Duchess coming down the stairs. The other people staying there are likely to be couples from Tampa, Florida, tour-groups and businessmen - quite decent, probably, but nothing to write home about.

Apart from that, it's comfortable, the staff speak English, and the position on a busy main street in Pest near the Octagon isn't bad for banks, shops, cafes and public transport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

I highly appreciate your honest feedback. We are very sorry that your stay in our house is not run to your satisfaction and that you are obviously not able to experience the first class hospitality, the Corinthia Hotel Budapest is known for.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Corinthia and better meeting your expectations in the future.
Best regards,

Thomas M Fischer

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Corinthia Hotel is a great place to stay in Budapest,
An incredible building, nice rooms, a great spa perfectly located, pleasant staff, high quality food, the bar, the restaurant...
Everything you need to enjoy Hungary.
P.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pheestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

I cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities, from about you may find further details on Corinthia.com/Budapest at Wellness section. We would be honored to welcome you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest in the near future.
Kindest regards,

Thomas M Fischer

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a city break in Budapest we stayed at the corinthia hotel and would like to recommended this hotel to anyone planning on a visit to Budapest. From the minute you walk into the hotel the decor is fabulous from the hallway to the bedrooms its just lovely and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were really good plenty of choice and the staff very pleasant and helpful. It was our first visit to this fascinating place and we will definitely be coming back

Room Tip: We stayed in 4128 which was nice and quiet not much of a veiw though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your generous feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Corinthia Hotel Budapest.I am really pleased to read that you had a great time here.I am glad that you enjoyed your room as well as our wonderful breakfast buffet. I appreciate your mentioning about the attentive service provided by our staff. We are enthusiastic about the prospect of welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards,

Thomas M Fischer

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A really lovely hotel in a great position in Budapest. We were able to walk to most of the sights and to some great restaurants. Our room was standard and more than acceptable. Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. We spontaneously said yes to having breakfast each morning but made the mistake of not checking the price and were taken aback at checkout to find it cost c. £22 each. Nice breakfast but our limit is between £10 - £15 for cereal and a bowl of fruit. Only other comment being that the Duvets were still quite thick for such a hot month. This not to detract from a lovely overall experience which was a welcome and cool refuge from the unbelievably hot streets of a very interesting and historical city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Many thanks for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am really pleased to read that you have a great stay with us.I appreciate your recognition of our staff who take great pride in providing first-class service to our valued guests.I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kindest regards,

Thomas M Fischer

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a beautiful five star hotel, we stayed one night as a special treat in a budget holiday and were really happy with the location, lovely room, polite and helpful staff, and gorgeous lobby area. We couldn't afford breakfast, but there is a lovely patisserie just next door. The only negative experience was the concierge desk, both members of staff I talked to were abrupt and dismissive, but all other members of staff were exceptionally friendly, courteous and responsive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am so glad that you were fascinated by the facilities of our beautiful building.This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests.Your constructive comments have been noted and will be addressed with the appropriate parties, as they assist us as we strive to provide the best possible service to our guests.I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest.
Yours faithfully,

Thomas M Fischer

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Definitely select the Executive Club package - it is well worth it. Beautiful hotel at half the cost of a similar hotel in Vienna. Beautiful lobby, great rooms, and helpful staff. walking distance to many sights, but excellent public transportation is also an option and the concierge desk gave helpful, excellent advice on how to use it. great suggestions on restaurants from fellow travelers sitting in the executive club. Clea, quiet, and comfortable room. Breakfast buffet was simply amazing - great food and an incredible variety - one of the best I've seen.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest.Thank you for your nice words about our hotel, staff and services.It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay and I appreciate that you mentioned the dedicated services of our concierge .I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Very truly yours,

Thomas M Fischer

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,869 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £113 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing