We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Ranked #16 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great hotel conveniently located a 2 minute walk from great restaurants and the House of Terror Museum. Centrally located between Heroes Square and the Danube. Staff was attentive and kind. But oh the pool! The spa features are what sold me. How could you stay here and not go in that beautiful pool? Overall, the hotel was beautiful, the rooms were comfortable, and I had a great stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

My sincerest thanks for your review of the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. I am delighted to note that you were satisfied with our staff. Thank you for pointing out our spa facilities, from about you may find further details on Corinthia.com/Budapest at Wellness section. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,655 - 2,661 of 7,457 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, wonderful facilities, lovely attentive staff. The Executive Club is a must as you can have drinks and snacks all day. Also, you can have your breakfast there instead of the main breakfast area but without any queues.

The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, good air-conditioning. The restaurants are lovely and charming, have very good food both at Bock and the Terrace Restaurant.

The pool is also beautiful and large, you can actually swim properly. :-)

We would stay here every time we come to Budapest from now on. Do not worry about the location, it is about a 5 minutes taxi ride ( 5 pounds ) to the buzzy busy centre but you could also take the tram form right outside the hotel ( for 1 pound) and see some sights along the way. Highly recommended, this classy hotel offers an amazing value for the price!

Room Tip: Executive Room. You have a much larger room and access to the Executive Club where you can eat and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mcall64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

I was delighted to read your generous remarks about our Hotel. I am so glad that you were fascinated by the facilities of our beautiful building. It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay and I appreciate that you mentioned Executive Club services, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/Budapest. I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

An absolutely superb hotel, Exceptionally clean, total luxury, friendly helpful staff. If you book with Expedia - the best value I have had in a long time.£300 for 4 nights.
Ideally placed for the main part of the city. Some great restaurants in easy walking distance and only a 20/25 min walk to the river with some nice bars to pop into for a cool beer.
If this is the standard of the other hotels in the Corinthia chain I will probably not bother looking at other hotels if they are available
The city on a whole is a really nice place to visit , So much cheaper than Paris, and although I know they are there somewhere I didn't see one pickpocket/thief whereas in Paris they are everywhere.
If you fancy a great city break with good places to visit, nice food and change for another holiday later , then visit Budapest - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Let me thank you for your all-embracing positive comment and for recommending us to the traveling community. I was delighted to see that you had a great hotel experience here. I appreciate you mentioning our convenient location, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/budapest Destination section. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Corinthia Hotel Budapest in the near future.
Cordially,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

When we booked this hotel for 2 nights in June on Expedia at a half price rate we thought we might get a bad room. Not so! We were given a marvellous and really large room, it was wonderfully quiet, had tea, coffee and hot chocolate, a large bathroom, comfy bed, slippers and a robe. We were rapt and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone - if this was a cheap room imagine what the expensive rooms are like.

We were located right opposite the small separate lift to the spa, pool etc. I had scoffed at people writing that you just put on your robe and slippers and head on down in the lift, thinking it would be embarrassing. But that is exactly what you do, what everyone does. The free spa/pool are wonderful and well worth a try so take your bathers.

We found the hotel really well located in the heart of Budapest. It is very close to the Museum of Terror (well worth a look) and stop no 2 of the tourist bus so you can get on early and beat the crowds who get on down by the river.

There is a Spar grocery store 2 minutes away which had great sandwiches if you fancy a snack, water etc etc and between the hotel and stop no 2 of the tourist bus there are lots of restaurants, we ate at 2 and the food was great.

The doorman at the hotel was wonderful, really friendly and helpful in getting us a taxi which wouldn't rip us off - beware taxis in Budapest, you have to be really careful not to overpay.

All in all a wonderful stay at a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sujatojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you very much for your positive and very detailed review. I am very pleased that you had such a great experience at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. This kind of reviews give us always a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. I appreciate you mentioning our convenient location, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/budapest Destination section. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in Budapest soon.
Very truly yours,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had previously stayed nearer the Danube when in Budapest. We enjoyed the location of the Corinthia. We had transit passes so we would take a tram either 1 or 2 stops to the metro which connected to all of Budapest. We had dinner all 3 nights within a 10 block distance of the hotel. Walking to the restaurants took us through some of the neighborhoods in Budapest which are changing - there are different names including Ruin Pubs for this district.

The hotel itself was very good and we would recommend it. However, there were a number of minor issues with the hotel which shouldn't stop anyone from staying there. The hotel also gets a lot of tour buses from river cruises and other packaged trips which negatively affects the ambiance.

Overall - we recommend this for a way to stay in a very nice hotel, see a new neighborhood and save a little money on this level of hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen the Corinthia Hotel Budapest for your stay.
I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel. I appreciate you mentioning our convenient location, from which additional information can be found on Corinthia.com/budapest Destination section. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future. Kind regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed 3 nights in this lovely hotel over the world cup season. Its a great 5 star hotel with all the bells and whistles - they even conduct hotel-tour (behind the scene), and that's how big and history it has.

I was able to reach the hotel from airport via subway (exit Oktogon Station - I loved all the stations ... it will deserve a write up itself for its character). Anyway, buy a 24hr (less than 15 euro) ticket - it will be worth it as you will need it for LOTs of travelling (bus/tram/train into the town, bath, EVERYWHERE, so its definitely worth it.

Anyway, it is a huge hotel so I recommend you take the one that is close to the SPA lift (yes they have a spa lift where you can go straight to the spa in your bath robes without walking through the lobby).

Food: I didn't try the breakfast because its just too expensive.... there are tonnes of food just outside the hotel so there is no problem.

Staffs: Well, I guess this is the part I found it a little short ... They do not have Mr. Gustove nor Zero Mustafa where they can anticipate a need before a need is needed. I'd like to see more "warmth" from the staffs if possible, rather than mechanical greetings; to be fair, I didn't meet any rude staffs nor any unpleasant experience.. just that for the magnificence of the place, you'd be expecting something similar from its service.

Spa: The pool, a few saunas and a few steam bath was great ... and it is non-finnish (so you get to keep your clothes on), special mention is its Jacuzzi .... strong jets were best remedy for a long day of walking (especially if you climbed Gillert hill or the castle).

Conclusion: I'd stay here again (only if they have the stay-3-nights-for-the-price-of-2), its cheap and really does feels like the Grand Budapest Hotel (less Mr. Gustave)

Room Tip: Ask for the room that is near the spa-lift so you walk less in this huge place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milokitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

I am truly delighted to know that you had a superb stay at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest. It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you highly valued our hotel and its facilities. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and found our spa to be a relaxing retreat during your visit. I do hope to welcoming you back to your next visit to Budapest.
Best regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in 2 rooms, my father and carer in a room for the disabled, and my sister and I in another room. A hiccup with our bedding, but it was soon sorted.

The staff were excellent, and the proximity was good too. The only thing I would complain about, and by the time you read this, it would have been fixed, is the pavement everywhere around was dug up. Not the hotel's fault, of course!

Breakfast was awesome, and the costs of everything seemed reasonable.

I loved it - it was a fantastic, palatial hotel and I want to return to!

Room Tip: This place is HUGE, so be mindful of distances with bags, or general walking from one place to anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank joobadoobaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasMFischer, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. I appreciate your recognition of our staff who take great pride in providing first-class service to our valued guests. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Corinthia in the future.
Kindest regards,
Thomas M Fischer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 336 in Budapest
1,210 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,945 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 336 in Budapest
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Budapest

Address: Erzsebet krt. 43-49., Budapest 1073, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Family Hotel in Budapest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £109 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First opened in 1896 as the Grand Hotel Royal; a hub for the elite of nineteenth century society, and painstakingly restored to its original glory some hundred years later, the Corinthia Budapest – located in the heart of the city - brings together classic hotel opulence with the finest five-star luxury of modern times. While the gracious frontage, marble floors, sweeping staircase and breathtaking, six-story Atrium preserved from the original building offer glorious hints of a bygone age, the levels of comfort and convenience are all reassuringly up to date.A particular feature is the hotel’s original Royal Spa centre, with 15-metre pool, now extensively refurbished by the current owners to reflect the very best in 21st-century spa luxury while retaining the grandeur of the past. Without doubt the finest hotel in Budapest. Built in classic French Renaissance style, the Grand Royal became a beacon of luxury in the days of Emperor Franz Joseph 1. Designed as a centrepiece of Hungary’s celebrations to mark its first thousand years, the hotel’s grand-style architecture and unrivaled guest facilities were seen as state-of the art for the times. Much of the building was destroyed in the 1956 Hungarian Revolution and despite re-opening in more modest form in the 1960’s, the Grand Royal remained a shadow of its former self until the 1990’s; when new owners Corinthia Hotels gave the green light for an extensive restoration project that would retain the best of the old, while sensitively adding the new. Once restored to its original splendour, the newly named Corinthia Hotel Budapest re-opened its doors, as a five-star luxury property, in 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Grand Budapest
Corinthia Grand Hotel Royal Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing